Mountain Hardwear Hammerhead 3 Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. A rugged backcountry performer, the Mountain Hardwear Hammerhead 3 tent pummels the elements thanks a fully taped and welded watertight construction and helps boost sleeping comfort with a large mesh area that provides maximum ventilation.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bird from Bend oregon on Friday, February 22, 2013
    The size and weight are minimal. Easy to set up; More interior room then expected. This will be great on the banks of a river. It will be well used this summer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Al the Camper from Salt lake City on Tuesday, April 03, 2012
    Great for river trip, easy to set and take down in a hurry. Plenty of roon to sit up and move around. I'm 6'2".
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Environmentalist
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by QuanTim Turner from Marietta Ohio on Tuesday, March 13, 2012
    As with most reviews I've read about this tent, the weight is the only really "con," but even at that it's still a very minimal "con." I knew buying it that it would be a little bit bulky, and we were okay with that. You won't find an easier tent to set up. It's easy in the dark, with little to no help. The room is perfect for 2 adults around 6' tall. I think a third might be a little cramped, unless the three people were pretty slim. For the price, especially, I don't think there's a better tent out there, for my money.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Boltman from West Virginia on Friday, March 02, 2012
    Love the tent. It's so easy to set up my 9 year old did 1/2 the work. The left & right side access doors are great. The little details were designed very well. Plenty of head room. Great for my 2 sons and I.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Cons: Storage bag too big
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hgernhardtjr from Parkersburg, WV on Monday, February 20, 2012
    Since it is the middle of winter, we have not used the tent outside (it set up quickly inside, though, and is of quality lightweight build) so cannot speak as to its ability to withstand winds or rain out in the elements. However, based on our personal knowledge and experience with similar tents over the past 50 years, this one should do very nicely. Nonetheless, I will seal the floor seams as I have done with all my tents before first use, and will use the matching footprint and rectangular gear loft with it. Bottom line: I like this tent, it was very easy to set up, and should do well for the three of us this summer.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Putt from Zion National Park on Monday, May 02, 2011
    Spacious, 3 man tents are perfect for 2 and even better for 1. I like the room, set-up was easy, though the instruction card just had diagrams not written instructions. The wind was moderate on my first use and the tent seemed quite steady with the 6 stakes (I use my own bigger spikes for stakes). High ceiling makes for easy sit-up in tent. Good product!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mr. Mike from LaPorte, Tx on Monday, May 02, 2011
    As a Boyscout leader, I back pack a lot. Usually 5 to 10 miles a day. With Sierra trading post, I'm able to find both light weight and comfortable gear while saving money. This tent is just one of many purchases I've made with this in mind. I will and have recommended this site to all my friends in the scout community.
    About the Hammerhead 3. It's rommy (I'm 6'4" tall),light weight and easy to set up. My 10 year old son erected it the first tim in under 10 minuites. I plan to get him one just like it soon.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Exceptionally light, Lightweight, Roomy easy set up, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lisa from upstate NY on Wednesday, April 27, 2011
    We bought this tent based on past reviews and price. We wanted a comfortable tent for 2 people and a dog on car camping trips and are more than happy with our purchase. The tent is roomy but not ridiculously large. It's really easy to put up and take down. The huge, but adjustable window that spans from the front floor to overhead is amazing. Unfortunately, it rained on our most recent 3 day camping adventure so we weren't able to sleep with a view of the stars. The tent handled the rain flawlessly. The vestibules are great. I highly recommend this product for car camping. As others have noted, it would work for backpacking too but it may be more tent then you would need for that - I plan to use it for car camping and carry in a small, two person tent when backpacking.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Setup, Fly Works Well, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Reviewed by Kreg from Boone, NC on Friday, April 22, 2011
    The last time I used this tent we got 4" of rain overnight with wind gusts to 40mph. Not a drop of moisture inside. NOT ONE.
    I am used to the big box store tents so this is a giant leap in tent quality for me. STP had a great dealflyer going and I am glad I went for it.
    WEIGHT-
    Relative to the big box store tents this thing is a total light weight, but compared to a mega-dollar tent this thing is a pork chop.
    RAIN FLY-
    It does its job very well but it is a rather tight fit to get inside. You cannot get into the vestibule before you get into the tent so both doors have to be open and it is an awkward reach.
    POLES-
    The poles are light weight and color coded but bend easily. When they are put together they do a great job but you can bend them too easy where they stay bent in that position. I have not experienced any failures because of it though.
    VERSATILITY-
    This thing can be zipped all the way up for a good four season tent or opened all the way with the stars shining thru the giant mesh panels. When it is cold and raining, (I have used it in the rain when the overnight temp was 37degs F) you can crack the upper vent and stay warm yet condensation free.
    RE-PACKING-
    The bag is generously sized so it isn't too difficult to get the tent back into it's bag. Not as fancy as some but adequate.
    I plan on making or buying a footprint because the floor seems thin.
    Overall I would pay more for this tent than I did but I would not pay full-retail. That's why I shop STP. I paid about $50 more for this than the equivalent big box store tent and it is WAAYYYYY better. Totally worth it.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Car Camping
    • Cons: Poor Fly Design
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Setup, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by canoe poler from Brunswick, ME on Tuesday, April 19, 2011
    I purchased this tent for an upcoming canoe trip to the Liard River in the Yukon. I've had other Mountain Hardwear tents and like most of their features but they are often time consuming to set up and have a "fussy fly" that needs adjustments to make them watertight. I live in Maine and set up the Hammerhead 3 upon receipt just to check ease of set up. It went up very fast and without much thought. There was not a lot of fussing with adjustments to get good fly coverage. Because we were expecting a heavy rain and wind storm I decided to leave the tent up. To my great pleasure, the tent withstood 30 to 35 mph wind gusts and a very heavy downpour without any trace of water inside. I need this type of performance in north country river canoe trips and was excited to see how well the Hammerhead 3 performed. The other great feature about the Hammerhead 3 is that all screening can be covered with a cloth cover, adding extra warmth. This is a real plus for north country early and late season canoe trips. This feature does add some weight but on river trips the weight is not a factor. Finally, the 3 person tent is perfect for 2 people on an extended canoe trip as there is plenty of room in the tent for lay over days caused by heavy winds, etc.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping, Wilderness canoeing
    • Cons: NONE
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Setup, Fly Works Well, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.