Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Hunker Down Parka - 650 Fill Power (For Women)

Closeouts. Your backcountry exertions just became infinitely more enjoyable thanks to Mountain Hardwear's Hunker down parka. Stuffed with 650 fill power goose down, reinforced with abrasion-resistant sleeves and equipped with a detachable hood, this versatile, ripstop layer is essential to any cold-weather outings.

Average Rating based on 27 reviews 4.370370 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Reviewed by Happy marshmallow from NYC on Sunday, February 9, 2014
    I don't know how I survived northeast winter without this jacket. I used to wear three peacoats on rotation trying to layer layer layer. Now that I have this parka, I can wear spring/fall outfits and throw on this parka on top. Because I work at a hospital, it is perfect for me since I can still wear "normal" clothes instead of sweating in sweaters and layers. I even get hot when I wear this indoors. Walking around in 30s weather, I keep the zippers open sometimes.
    I am a size 6-8, 5'8 and a small is perfect. The hips are a bit tight- and I have straight hips!
  • Reviewed by Outdoor girl but still like style from CA on Monday, January 27, 2014
    I ordered XS and it is a perfect, close fit on my 5'2" 108 lb frame.I can still wear a substantial fleece underneath it though. I got it for its heavier fill (warmer than a down sweater type jacket) and longer length. So far, I am happy with it but I have not tested it in temps below 35 degrees F. Have also not tested it in wet conditions. I plan to use it for travel to colder climates, hiking, adventure travel, and casual wear. The cut is straight up and down but the back is tapered to show some shape from waist to butt. If you're looking for a jacket with a nipped in waist, this is not it.
  • Reviewed by Tiner from Minnesota on Friday, November 22, 2013
    So far, I am liking this jacket but it seems to be molting quite a bit so I am somewhat skeptical of how long it is going to last. I'm also waiting to see how it will handle the Minnesota winter- which is just getting started. So far, it has been keeping me warm. The fit is good and I like the length. It just covers my bum (but at 5'1'' I'm a shorty; I was expecting it to be a bit longer actually).
  • Reviewed by Mary from Sacramento on Thursday, November 21, 2013
    Other people review this jacket's warmth, weight and style, so I will discuss the size.

    I usually wear a Small, but STP only had an XS in this jacket and it looked so good in the reviews that I decided to take a chance. My measurements are bust 32", waist 26", hips 34" and I'm 115 lbs and 5' 2". I thought this might only be too tight in the hips since it's so long (and other XS's I've tried on a almost to tight there), but it fits perfectly and I have plenty of room for layers. I'm so glad I decided to get this one. I would have been swimming in the Small.

    Two things I noticed: I bought the single color version (in lagoon) which does not have a removable hood. It is affixed to the jacket and now I can see that in the photos. It's fine though. I just prefer the hood to be removable.

    Also, the down was completely bunched up in a couple places, leaving other places void of insulation, but it just needed to be rearranged (by a dextrous person) and fluffed. I pulled and fluffed for about five minutes and now it's just fine. This happens with all down items that aren't baffled.
  • Reviewed by sparkplug from Illinois on Thursday, October 10, 2013
    Nice jacket, good pockets inside the coat. Could use a waist cinch and runs a little big.
  • Reviewed by sparkplug from Illinois on Thursday, October 10, 2013
    Fits true to size, very nice looking coat! Waist-cinch is nice and cuffs seem warm. Looking forward to chilly winter evening strolls!
  • Reviewed by ParkaGirl from Alaska on Thursday, September 26, 2013
    Looks quality. Warm. Long enough. I haven't worn it outside yet because it's not cold enough, but I'm excited. Good hood. I think this will be a good winter coat for interior Alaska. I've never had a down coat before. Great price. I got the purple - I really like it. Doesn't look cheap.
  • Reviewed by Jen S from North Carolina on Wednesday, March 20, 2013
    I bought this jacket in anticipation of moving to a much colder environment. Currently I live in NC and this coat keeps me very warm but it isn't all that cold here. The fit is great, the down is very lofty and I love how the hood can cinch down tight and keep the cold out (or hopefully anyway)). I'm very happy with my purchase. I hope it continues to exceed my expectations next winter.
  • Reviewed by Maeg from Detroit, MI on Wednesday, January 23, 2013
    I was a bit worried about the reviews that said this coat was the best fit for someone tall and lean. I am neither, but I bought my size in Bramble. Although it's fairly snug in the hips, I can still zip it with no problem. I LOVE it. I get so many compliments on it, even though I didn't buy it for looks (just for warmth). Believe me, it is so warm! It's amazing what a warm coat can do for your enjoyment of winter!
  • Reviewed by DogCentric from Upstate NY on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
    Bought this parka for my first winter in upstate NY. I am outside a lot with dogs and used it today when it was gusting 20mph with a windchill of -10 degrees and I was toasty warm. Didn't feel drafty or chilled at all - The drawcords are in the right places to really customize the fit and lock in the warmth. There are two materials used on the exterior and both feel pretty durable - that I am not paranoid about dog tearing holes easily in the jacket if they jump up on me. A lot of down jackets use material that feel too delicate. Thisis not the case here. The only 2 things I wish this parka had would be a drawcord at the neck and inner cuffs at the sleeve openings (a fav feature in my other coats) instead of the the velcro wrist straps.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cold Easily from Prescott Valley, AZ on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
    On the plus side, I can wear sweaters under this and am warm in 0 F temps. I wish there was a tall option like there is for pants because the sleeves are too short for me. Also, it can get too hot. These two factors make it 4 stars instead of 5. The jacket does, however, cover my waist (although I had hoped it would cover my bottom as it does for others). If I go a size up, I think it would be too bulky. Drafts would not be a problem from being a little loose because there are great drawstrings on the hood and waist.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by graten from Korea on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    light, warm and good price.
    but sometimes feathers go out from the jacket.
    anyway Ok.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Purplelady from Takoma Park, MD on Sunday, December 30, 2012
    I tend to wear low rise pants, and this keeps my midsection nice and warm as the back dips down below my waist. I wear it when I play with my horse out in a windy field in the winter and it keeps me warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Golden from Providence, RI on Monday, December 17, 2012
    Great great jacket. decided to trade it out for something lighter weight though. gosh I wish i could afford both.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rnmom23 from Cincinnati on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
    Love this but it is a little too slim in the cut for this style of jacket. I have narrow hips but feel it needs about one more inch for a more comfortable fit. Go up a size if you want to wear anything bulkier than a t-shirt and jeans under it. Love the plum color. Rated it down because of fit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gayle from East Aurora, NY on Monday, November 26, 2012
    Haven't warn it outside yet, but like the fit and color. Quick shipping and I am excited to wear it mountaineering this summer and skiing before that. Thanks!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Longtime buyer from Altoona pa on Monday, November 19, 2012
    Winter college jacket
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Photo 1 from Anchorage, AK on Saturday, November 17, 2012
    Being a professional photographer in Alaska, this coat is perfect for being out in the weather and staying comfortable without looking like I'm wearing a sleeping bag.
  • Reviewed by Trulyb from Asheville, NC on Monday, November 12, 2012
    I really wanted to like this jacket, as it seemed very well made, warm, with durable patches over the shoulders to wear well under a pack. But the parka is just way too long for my 5'3" body, and since it was still pretty narrow in a M, I didn't feel that sizing down to a S would work. So it was long and narrow, but the size ratings don't reflect this very well. (I wear S or M depending on the fit, usually trying to get a fit loose enough for layering. This is a very long narrow fit, and would likely be too tight in the S, even without layers.) I think I'll try the jacket version, which shows a shorter length, and hope for the best. Good for the tall and very slim?
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Extreme Conditions, Hiking and Camping, Skiing/Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Too Long In Torso
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels too big
    • Pros: Comfortable, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anng from North Smithfield, R.I. on Thursday, November 1, 2012
    The color of this parker is very nice. I bought the clue one.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Extreme Conditions, Hiking and Camping, Skiing/Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Not Waterproof
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AP from Wisconsin on Monday, October 8, 2012
    I've been on the look out for a practical, yet stylish down coat and I think I've found it! I haven't had a chance to use it in super cold weather, but the fit is great and it's super comfortable. I'm on the small side (5'2", 110) and this is the perfect size. It's not too puffy and it falls just below my butt. I tried other coats and it looked like I was swimming in them.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Terri from Denver, CO on Thursday, April 5, 2012
    I'm almost 5'10' and slim. The coat is for outdoor wear in Colorado winters. It is nice and warm, but a bit long and snug even for me. I'm keeping it since it does what I need and I don't have to worry about the sleeves or body being skimpy. I would recommend it to someone who is quite tall and very slim.
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by K2 from Livingston, MT on Tuesday, March 13, 2012
    So far, so good. It's warm and light and long enough to cover my butt.
    I'm not a huge fan of velcro, so the wrist straps are a little annoying.
    But the collar, drawcords and hood seem well designed.
    I've yet to put it to the true wind and snow test. And it's too early to comment on durability. Time will tell.
    I'm counting on Mountain Hardwear.
    • Best Uses: Don't know yet
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Long winter dog walks, Winter Sports, Work at high altitude
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Space from Seoul, Korea on Wednesday, February 29, 2012
    I bought this one again since I had bought another HunkerParka for man.
    I gave to my mother. And she satisfied about this parka.
    i am glad to hear that.
    I have plane to buy same one for my frined again.
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Durable, Good material, Warm, Windproof
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tagsmom from Connecticut on Monday, February 27, 2012
    This is the warmest and lightest jacket I have ever warn.
    • Best Uses: Walking the dog
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Durable, Good material, Warm, Water Resistant, Windproof
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hazel the Nurse from Aurora CO on Sunday, February 12, 2012
    It's long enough to cover everything.
    • Pros: Color is vibrant, Fits my hips, Right amount of warmth
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joy the Climber from Palm Springs, CA on Wednesday, February 8, 2012
    Perfect for keeping the belayer warm and in between climbs!!!
    • Best Uses: Perfect for climbing
    • Pros: Comfortable, Pretty, Soft, Warm
  • Sort by: