Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Illusion Pants - Waterproof (For Women)

Closeouts. Mountain Hardwear Illusion pants offer waterproof breathable protection from wintery weather, while reinforced seat and knees sustain the rigors for mountaineering and four-season adventures.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews 4.100000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by easy from wyoming on Friday, December 31, 2010
    good product xl seems a little small though in hip area
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sally from utah on Monday, December 6, 2010
    These pants fit great. I disagreee with previous commnets of the waist being too small- I ordered an XS, I typically wear a 0-2 pant. These pants are a perfect fit, and the adjustable waist offers a lot of "wiggle room". They do not appear to be see-through at all.
    • Best Uses: Snowboarding/Skiing
    • Cons: Not Enough Pockets
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Stylish, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Moneypenny from Park City, UT on Tuesday, March 10, 2009
    I really like these pants. They're lightweight, yet warm. I only have 2 minor complaints: unlike most Mountain Hardwear gear these don't have a loop on the waistband to hang them up. Secondly, the ankle cuff is pretty tight - if you have boot heaters on your ski boots you really have to work to get the cuffs zipped/snapped closed.
    • Best Uses: Hiking, Snowboarding/Skiing
    • Cons: Ankle cuff very tight, No waistband loop to hang
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels too big
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JDGin from Oregon on Monday, February 2, 2009
    These pants were very well made. The white seems a little bit less opaque than I would like (need to wear light thermals under them). And they are a shell, with no insulation, so therms are a must in most conditions. But quality is typical of Mountain Hardwear -- very good. And fit was very good. With the exception of the inseam. They seemed 1 inch longer than they were supposed to be, which was just a bit too long for me. So I'm going to return them. I got the regular length. Needed the short, evidently, and they don't have it in stock. It's great that they come in different lengths thought. If it hadn't been for that issue, they would have been keepers.
    • Best Uses: Downhill, Snowboarding/Skiing
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels too long
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ski enthusiast from Angola, IN on Wednesday, January 28, 2009
    We had to return these pants because they could not be used for skiing or snowboarding since they were not imsulated for warmth. We did not like the super high tight waist design, yet loose through the hips and thighs. This very strange design would not have felt comfortable with long underwear beneath the waist. My daughter and I are the same clothing size and neither of us liked the way the pant fit and were disappointed with the lack of insulation.
    • Cons: Not Enough Pockets or Features, Poor Sizing
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Waist: Feels too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by catgrrrrl from palo alto, ca on Tuesday, January 20, 2009
    Wow- these are cute and very well-made. Lots of features. Easy to adjust the waist with velcro tabs and two side zippers to get in. The material is a little on the heavy side for sports that thrive on lots of movement (like skate-skiing) but I will love them for everything else in the cold. and believe it or not, they seem flattering on!
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Cross Country, Downhill, Snowboarding/Skiing
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by stacyakwoman from Wenatchee, WA on Monday, January 5, 2009
    Good waterproof over pants. The full length zippers are nice. Have used them for skiing a few times now worked great. My husband has a similar pair from Mountain Hardwear for about 3 years now and they are still in great shape.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Cross Country, Downhill, Snowboarding/Skiing
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ski bunny from Sonora, CA on Thursday, November 20, 2008
    I was amazed at how well these pants fit. They feel comfortable and yet loose in the knees and booty.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Downhill
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lv2clmb from Bellingham,WA on Monday, November 10, 2008
    Mountain Hardwear makes great gear and I want my daughter to have gear that will last her until she wears them out. She needed snowboarding pants, so I looked through a ton of options on STP. I also bought her a pair of Icebreaker long johns for the under layer. She should be one hot chick on the slopes this winter!
    • Best Uses: Snowboarding
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
  • Reviewed by short skiier from Auburn,CA on Friday, September 26, 2008
    I bought this pant & Recon Pant also by Mountain Hardwear. Nice pant but doesn't seem any shorter than "regular" Recon Pant. Also no gusset in crotch.

    Stiffer & probably more sturdy material than Recon Pant but I prefer the softer fabric of Recon Pant.

    Would have to wear fleece pants or under layer under both pants so I prefer the lighter weight of Recon Pant.

    Recon Pant fits me better. I'm 4'10" & usually wear size 6-8 pant size. Tried Short Medium to allow room for fleece pant underneath but feels too big and longer than Recon Pant regular length.
    • Best Uses: Cross Country, Downhill
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels too long
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Sort by: