Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Jalapeno Mittens - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Spice up your day in the mountains with the warmth and weather protection of Mountain Hardwear's Jalapeno mittens. The durable Taslan nylon shell features OutDry® waterproof breathable technology, and the full-coverage gauntlet keeps backcountry powder from getting in.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews 4.375000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RIDGERUNNER from Knoxville,TN on Tuesday, March 17, 2015
    Great pair of extreme cold gloves. True to Size. Very well Made. Can feel the warmth, as soon as you put them on.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by climbtoski from Colorado on Friday, January 2, 2015
    When i first opened the box my first thought was "these gloves are really big." Like something for a trip to the Artic.With temps predicted to be -10 the next day i wore them for a 10 mile ski tour.I quickly forgot about the size of these when i realized how toasty warm these gloves are.May not be the case riding a chairlift since you wouldn't be working nearly as hard.I had to remove gloves to get anything out of my pack or adjust a zipper.This was pretty much expected though. Not a big deal.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Garrett from Baraboo, WI on Wednesday, December 24, 2014
    Fantastic and warm. You can feel the heat almost immediately when you put your hands inside. 4 stars because they are a bit awkward and you don't have very much articulation to do a whole lot with them on, but if warmth is the goal, these will do it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by R Bressler from Catskills of NY on Tuesday, December 23, 2014
    Perhaps it is unfair to criticize these VERY warm mittens for their bulk and lack of dexterity. These are definitely not something that I wear everyday but when the temperature drops and my hands begin to get really cold they are my "go to" handwear. I cannot see myself hiking in temperatures that would allow my hands to get cold wearing these toasty mittens.
  • Reviewed by dimako from upstate, ny on Sunday, January 19, 2014
    Very warm- but no dexterity. High quality, nice materials.
    I wanted these for wearing when skiing on very cold days but I can't do much with them on. Difficult to hold ski poles and the straps wouldn't fit over them. Went back.
    Also, the size is bigger than expected
  • Reviewed by Montana Momma from Montana on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    I got these mitts for my teenage son for skiing. His hands have been very toasty so far, and we have had some pretty cold days. They are also very nice looking. My only complaint it that they don't have a draw string to cinch down the cuffs to prevent the powder from getting in. The little tags that are hanging are ornamental, which is a bit odd. Overall, they are very good mitts and it was hard to beat the excellent price from STP.
  • Reviewed by flyfisher from Big Sky, MT on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    The first day I wore these mitts it was -25F near Big Sky, MT. These mitts are warm! They fit well but with limited dexterity. They are a great value and do what they are supposed to do- keep your hands warm in extreme temps.
  • Reviewed by George the wildlife photograper from Colorado on Thursday, December 5, 2013
    I cannot speak for the longevity of these mittens as I have only had them for a few weeks, but I can see and feel that the quality of construction is top notch. I just tested these on a walk on what is one of our coldest days here in northern Colorado (may be a normal day for Montana or places like it). It was -6 F outside and my hands and fingers were nice and warm. I am 6'5" and have a 6'11" wingspan so heat normally dissipates quickly from my extremities, but not with these mittens on. The mittens create a pocket of air around the hand and fingers and it felt like my hand and fingers were indoors. They are thick, so there is not much dexterity with them, but I was able to hold on to a laptop bag and to grasp items. I couldn't pick up a dime with them, but then again, if I could, I am sure they would not keep my hands warm. I am very pleased and plan on keeping these for a lifetime.
  • Sort by: