Mountain Hardwear Jovian Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. A lightweight, waterproof shell for speedy ascents, Mountain Hardwear's Jovian Dry.Q Elite jacket is a three-layer design with harness-friendly chest pockets and a helmet-compatible hood.

Average Rating based on 15 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JBski603 from New Hampshire on Sunday, December 21, 2014
    Great jacket, both warm and dry, always a plus. I have big shoulders and had to return my large for an extra large, so if you have broad shoulders go one size up or you won't be able to lift your arms above your head. Happy skiing!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jsak012002@yahoo climber from Seattle on Monday, September 01, 2014
    Took this jacket climbing up mount rainier and this jacket performed awesome! Best jacket I have ever climbed in!
  • Reviewed by Auburngrad from Southeast Tennessee on Wednesday, June 04, 2014
    I got this jacket to replace my old Marmot Stretch Armstrong, that was around 12 or 13 years old. I hope I can get that kind of life out of this jacket. It seems very well made, and MH is a great brand that will stand behind their products. I love the fit of this jacket, as it does not carry to much extra bulk. I could wear one of my more fitted windstopper fleeces, or a vest under it, and would stay warm and dry in the colder months. I actually picked up the MH Trinity also, so that I would have a warmer soft shell for winter, and the hard shell for the other 3 seasons. I do plan on wearing it during the winter on exceptionally wet days.

    I found the sizing to work well, especially being a warmer season, and hard shell. I ordered a large, and haven't thought about uping to an XL. I like the trimmer fit, as there is not fabric flapping about. Now, I do understand the reviews, as I never use to buy MH, as it was always a larger fit. This is closer to what Marmot and Arcteryx were known for in slimmer fit. I feel my vest and newer fleeces with trim fits will fit this. The sleeves are long enough, and shoulders work through the range of motions. I think the pockets are fine with packs, and with Mountain Smith Lumbar packs. I am 6'3", and 185 pounds, and shirt size is 17" with 35" sleeves.

    Ask away if there are any specific questions you have.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pearson from Colorado on Friday, May 16, 2014
    It's great.
  • Reviewed by Nii from china on Friday, May 09, 2014
    very impressed! this is my first hard shell with Dry.Q Elite, it is a great product so far I bought another Mountain Hardwear Trinity resently .
    one more thing, size is smaller than other products
  • Reviewed by csaskier from Norcal on Tuesday, April 01, 2014
    Solid shell with good readability. Flexible fabric but not as flexible/stretchy as I would like but overall a good purchase.
  • Reviewed by Firek from Maryland on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    I'm 6' 160 lbs and mostly torso: I need a large pack to get the right distance between hips and shoulders. I ordered a medium size. The overall length is just right for a jacket (this is not a parka). The jacket ends 1-2" above my groin. The sleeve length is perfect, not too short at all. Usually those are my two main issues with medium jackets.

    The overall fit is trim, which is what I was looking for. I'm a fairly trim person, 38-40 size jackets with a 30 inch waist. In dress shirts I wear a slim or extra slim 15-34. This won't be bunching up under a hip belt or my harness. It fits very well over medium weight layers (base + windstopper fleece) with one caveat: those need to fit well too. I tried it on over an old and loved "too large" camp fleece and it was "ok" but definitely bunched up the fleece in the spots where it was too big. This was most noticeable in the underarms where the pit-zips are. It was also noticeable in the chest/stomach area where my large fleece bunched up as well.

    With my arms raised, the jacket rises a little, but never over my belt line. The only time I was able to expose skin was touching my toes, where the back of the jacket rose just above my belt line.

    Bottom line: the sizing info on the MH website is spot on for this jacket in a medium (39-41 chest, 34 sleeve). If you've got a boxy build or a bit of a belly, consider sizing up.
  • Reviewed by Bin hu from Dallas on Friday, December 13, 2013
    This jacket is well designed and made of excellent material. I love it, but somehow, it should be suit for thin person with the same height!
  • Reviewed by Novice paddler from Colorado on Wednesday, October 09, 2013
    We ordered several of these, a large for my husband and a small for me. I normally take a woman's small or medium, and the men's small was too trim in the hips for layering underneath. Same with the large for my husband. He has another similar Mountain Hardwear jacket that stayed dry in 9.5 hours of steady rain so wanted to get a few more of MH jackets, but this isn't it. Also, the chest pocket may be harness-friendly but the hand pockets are too low to use if you're wearing a pack. In addition, sleeves were barely long enough. The quality looked good and we know from experience that this jacket will keep you dry but the details that we needed just weren't there.
  • Reviewed by Mategarza from Monterrey, Mexico on Wednesday, April 17, 2013
    This was a great purchase used it for skiing, first time with dry q and I wasn't disapointed. MH runs a size small if your M you should get L but its almost with all their products. Never got wet, it let me breathe, didn' t use many layers even though we were -4 F. The color is great for being located by your friends and it looks cool. I would recomend this to anyoune.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.