Mountain Hardwear Jovian Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. A lightweight, waterproof shell for speedy ascents, Mountain Hardwear's Jovian Dry.Q Elite jacket is a three-layer design with harness-friendly chest pockets and a helmet-compatible hood.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Reviewed by csaskier from Norcal on Tuesday, April 01, 2014
    Solid shell with good readability. Flexible fabric but not as flexible/stretchy as I would like but overall a good purchase.
  • Reviewed by Firek from Maryland on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    I'm 6' 160 lbs and mostly torso: I need a large pack to get the right distance between hips and shoulders. I ordered a medium size. The overall length is just right for a jacket (this is not a parka). The jacket ends 1-2" above my groin. The sleeve length is perfect, not too short at all. Usually those are my two main issues with medium jackets.

    The overall fit is trim, which is what I was looking for. I'm a fairly trim person, 38-40 size jackets with a 30 inch waist. In dress shirts I wear a slim or extra slim 15-34. This won't be bunching up under a hip belt or my harness. It fits very well over medium weight layers (base + windstopper fleece) with one caveat: those need to fit well too. I tried it on over an old and loved "too large" camp fleece and it was "ok" but definitely bunched up the fleece in the spots where it was too big. This was most noticeable in the underarms where the pit-zips are. It was also noticeable in the chest/stomach area where my large fleece bunched up as well.

    With my arms raised, the jacket rises a little, but never over my belt line. The only time I was able to expose skin was touching my toes, where the back of the jacket rose just above my belt line.

    Bottom line: the sizing info on the MH website is spot on for this jacket in a medium (39-41 chest, 34 sleeve). If you've got a boxy build or a bit of a belly, consider sizing up.
  • Reviewed by Bin hu from Dallas on Friday, December 13, 2013
    This jacket is well designed and made of excellent material. I love it, but somehow, it should be suit for thin person with the same height!
  • Reviewed by Backcountry fun from Colorado on Wednesday, October 09, 2013
    We ordered several of these, a large for my husband and a small for me. I normally take a woman's small or medium, and the men's small was too trim in the hips for layering underneath. Same with the large for my husband. He has another similar Mountain Hardwear jacket that stayed dry in 9.5 hours of steady rain so wanted to get a few more of MH jackets, but this isn't it. Also, the chest pocket may be harness-friendly but the hand pockets are too low to use if you're wearing a pack. In addition, sleeves were barely long enough. The quality looked good and we know from experience that this jacket will keep you dry but the details that we needed just weren't there.
  • Reviewed by Mategarza from Monterrey, Mexico on Wednesday, April 17, 2013
    This was a great purchase used it for skiing, first time with dry q and I wasn't disapointed. MH runs a size small if your M you should get L but its almost with all their products. Never got wet, it let me breathe, didn' t use many layers even though we were -4 F. The color is great for being located by your friends and it looks cool. I would recomend this to anyoune.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoor Enthusiast from Davis, CA on Thursday, February 21, 2013
    This is a great jacket. It's light so you can pack it easily and it is both wind and rain proof.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kayaker from Bismarck, ND on Sunday, December 02, 2012
    Plan to use this jacket for kayak touring. The price beats a dry top if a person doesn't need or plan on kayak rolling.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HCRiceBoy21 from Sparta, NJ on Sunday, February 26, 2012
    This jacket appears to be awsome. I haven't used it yet, that's why I only gave it 4 stars. However it appears to have the usual Mountain Hardwear quality. I can't wait to test out the DryQ membarane. I promised myself that when I had to buy a new shell jacket it would have the eVent membrane (Mountain Hardwear uses the same waterproof breathable membrane but uses differnt backer fabrics and glues and gave it there own name) Hopefully it serves me well.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Mountaineering
    • Pros: Compact, Light
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Middle Aged Backpacker from Cincinnati, OH on Wednesday, February 22, 2012
    This is very well built jacket, and I hated to return it, but it runs too trim. With the right length and sleeves, the body was too snug for anything more than a baselayer shirt. I could not wear it with even a light fleece pullover. Now I'm not the trimmest of guys anymore, but I am 5'7" and only 145 lbs, so I am far from overweight.
    • Best Uses: Light mountaineering
    • Cons: Runs extremely trim
    • Pros: Excellent construction, Great Hood Design
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jump the frogger from albany, ny on Thursday, January 19, 2012
    This is a bomber jacket at a great price ([$], on sale. A large was too small for me (I'm 6', 170 lbs) and I sent it back for an XL. The waterproofness is MH's own version of Gore-Tex, which is supposed to be good. The other thing I didn't like about this is the main zipper is very stiff. It's not a deal-breaker, and I'm hoping it'll ease up with time. Otherwise it seems bombproof.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.