Mountain Hardwear Kelvinator Down Jacket - 650 Fill Power (For Men)

Closeouts. Mountain Hardwear's Kelvinator down jacket has 650 fill power goose down insulation that seals in heat when you're playing in the mountains or hanging out at camp, and packs down small and light when you're on the trail.

Average Rating based on 68 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 7 »
  • 11-20 of 68 reviews
  • Reviewed by Helenite from Helena, Montana on Monday, November 04, 2013
    This is a high quality packable down jacket. It hasn't been cold enough to really give it a test, but I expect that, with a shell over it for wind/rain protection, will be very warm for most cold situations. It packs down small, and is comfortable (and sharp) for around town wearing.
  • Reviewed by packerfan524 from WISCONSIN on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
    THIS I A GREAT JACKET FOR WINTERS HERE IN WI LOTS OF WARMTH WITHOUT THE BULK GREAT FOR ALLROUND WINTER JACKET HIH RECOMMEND THIS JACKET.
  • Reviewed by WyoKid from Colorado on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
    I had a really nice TNF down jacket that was also 650 fill, but I lost too much weight and it was just too big. I went looking for a new down jacket, and came across this one. I was initially attracted to the hood and the advertisement for a DWR outer layer, thinking that this would be a little bit stronger than previous jackets. I was right! first day I wore this, I grabbed it, headed out the door, and 30 minutes later it is snow like crazy. The snow swiped right off without the least trouble. It's not a waterproof jacket by any means, but it is even more versatile than I would have imagined.
  • Reviewed by Banditryder from Pittsburgh, PA on Sunday, February 10, 2013
    Two issues: First, I bought the 2XL on prior reviewers' recommendations to fit chest size (46"). Chest fit fine but much too long in torso but not sleeves. Secod, when the hood is up, there's a real cold area across the entire base of the neck at the hood/shoulder juncture. Didn't notice it at 20 degrees but certainly did at 10 degrees and lower, particularly with wind. For a really cold weather coat, I was surprised by the existence, let alone the location, of the cold spot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Mama from Four Corners on Tuesday, February 05, 2013
    My son was looking for a down jacket for layering under a waterproof shell and to keep in his pack for emergency use. His activities are hiking, x-c skiing, backpacking and mountain biking. This was a great jacket, but proved to be 1) too big for him - he is a true medium and the medium had too much room in the shoulders and sleeves, 2) bulkier than wanted for an under-shell layer. We went with another jacket that had a trimmer profile and no hood. Otherwise, a nice jacket. Would recommend to someone who wants a bulkier jacket and doesn't mind how much space it takes up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mountaindreamers from Kalispell , Montana on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
    commuting .warm and light in car. snowshoeing
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cruzzer 515 from Roxbury CT on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
    Warm Lightweight Jacket Mountain Hardware High Quality!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ChuckP from Boulder, CO on Monday, January 21, 2013
    Mountain Hardwear makes high-quality products. They have a slight tendency to cut clothing a bit on the small side. The sleeves on the Kelvinator jacket are (just) a bit too tight, even when I went from an XL to a 2XL. The red, green, orange, and blue colors are too vivid for me (conservative dresser) to wear everyday, and I don't care for black or gray. Dark blue usually suits me fine. I ended up getting the Hunker Down jacket instead.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Merl from New Hampshire on Monday, January 21, 2013
    Happy with this jacket for the price I got it at. Don't pay full price, however. Got to break it in on a 10 day winter expedition in the White Mountains of New Hampshire and it held up great and kept me warm despite temps in the low teens to 0 degrees. It definitely needs a fair amount of layers beneath it as it is only 650 fill but gets the job done for what it's advertised as. The seams are a little weak but so far have held together despite leaking some down. If you run cold, get a larger size because you will certainly need to layer fairly extensively. I run warm and was using it in the morning mainly with temps around 5-15 degrees and had a poly-pro layer plus synthetic fleece plus synthetic light-weight puffy underneath this jacket but was toasty warm with the combination. I'm 5'11, 170 pounds and went with a large to go over those layer which fit very well but any smaller would have been an issue.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Banditryder from Pittsburgh, PA on Monday, January 21, 2013
    If I hadn't seen the earlier reviews that said it ran small, I'd not have bought the XXL (I'm 6', 220lbs and long-waisted with a 46" chest). It fits very well over a medium weight base layer and is incredibly warm. Hood fits very well despite lack of much adjustment. Fit and finish are excellent as is usually the case with MH gear. Packs easily into a 5L stuff sack which is smaller than the stuff sack it comes with. Great jacket at great price!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 7 »
  • 11-20 of 68 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #