Mountain Hardwear Kelvinator Down Jacket - 650 Fill Power (For Men)

Closeouts. Mountain Hardwear's Kelvinator down jacket has 650 fill power goose down insulation that seals in heat when you're playing in the mountains or hanging out at camp, and packs down small and light when you're on the trail.

Average Rating based on 63 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 63 reviews
  • Reviewed by usaken from California on Monday, March 3, 2014
    Got this jacket. Very light weight. certainly would work for 3 season backpacking or mountaineering. Two problems I noted. I did not like the design of the hood. Needs to be bigger. Also, the sizing is off for me. I take a XXL in most jackets, including my old MH Fleece. This one was pretty tight for a XXL. I returned it.
  • Reviewed by Paul from NJ on Friday, January 17, 2014
    XL fits perfectly. I am 6'2" and 190 lbs. Coat generates a lot of static in dry air (but that may be true of other down jackets?). Very comfortable and warm. Hood, zippers, and pockets all work well.
  • Reviewed by not cold from Chesterfield Missouri on Friday, January 17, 2014
    I bought this coat because my old one is 15 years old . I have not used it yet because it has warmed up . The thing that really got me is how light this coat is! The new jacket is just that not a coat. Here in Missouri the weather is off by as much as 50 degrees a day so it is hard to find a real all around coat. This unit is just what I needed. Thanks You !
  • Reviewed by WinterWeatherLover from Massachusetts on Tuesday, December 31, 2013
    I bought this jacket for my husband and he loves it. It is very lightweight but also super warm. It also looks great- I was initially worried it would be too "shiny" but that is not the case at all. The only downside is that you can see the darker feathers through the exterior lining, so I can look wet or dirty at first glance.
  • Reviewed by sawatch splitter from colorado on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    good jacket, nice and light, nice hood. The baffles are pretty close to being sewn thru - not real fancy construction. Like others, I have to order toooooo big sizes so that the sleeve fits. Tall sizes would be nice. I am 6'3", 200 lbs. - I got the 2x. The sleeves fit well but the torso is large enough to fit another person in. THis is tolerable tho as I am mainly using as an outer layer.
  • Reviewed by Helenite from Helena, Montana on Monday, November 4, 2013
    This is a high quality packable down jacket. It hasn't been cold enough to really give it a test, but I expect that, with a shell over it for wind/rain protection, will be very warm for most cold situations. It packs down small, and is comfortable (and sharp) for around town wearing.
  • Reviewed by packerfan524 from WISCONSIN on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
    THIS I A GREAT JACKET FOR WINTERS HERE IN WI LOTS OF WARMTH WITHOUT THE BULK GREAT FOR ALLROUND WINTER JACKET HIH RECOMMEND THIS JACKET.
  • Reviewed by WyoKid from Colorado on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
    I had a really nice TNF down jacket that was also 650 fill, but I lost too much weight and it was just too big. I went looking for a new down jacket, and came across this one. I was initially attracted to the hood and the advertisement for a DWR outer layer, thinking that this would be a little bit stronger than previous jackets. I was right! first day I wore this, I grabbed it, headed out the door, and 30 minutes later it is snow like crazy. The snow swiped right off without the least trouble. It's not a waterproof jacket by any means, but it is even more versatile than I would have imagined.
  • Reviewed by Banditryder from Pittsburgh, PA on Sunday, February 10, 2013
    Two issues: First, I bought the 2XL on prior reviewers' recommendations to fit chest size (46"). Chest fit fine but much too long in torso but not sleeves. Secod, when the hood is up, there's a real cold area across the entire base of the neck at the hood/shoulder juncture. Didn't notice it at 20 degrees but certainly did at 10 degrees and lower, particularly with wind. For a really cold weather coat, I was surprised by the existence, let alone the location, of the cold spot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Mama from Four Corners on Tuesday, February 5, 2013
    My son was looking for a down jacket for layering under a waterproof shell and to keep in his pack for emergency use. His activities are hiking, x-c skiing, backpacking and mountain biking. This was a great jacket, but proved to be 1) too big for him - he is a true medium and the medium had too much room in the shoulders and sleeves, 2) bulkier than wanted for an under-shell layer. We went with another jacket that had a trimmer profile and no hood. Otherwise, a nice jacket. Would recommend to someone who wants a bulkier jacket and doesn't mind how much space it takes up.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 63 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.