Mountain Hardwear Kepler Soft Shell Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. A backcountry keeper, Mountain Hardwear's Kepler jacket seals out nasty weather with waterproof breathable construction and watertight zips. Plus, two-way pit zips and mesh lining keep you ventilated when your heart rate is rising.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scott from Upstate NY on Monday, April 21, 2014
    I am quite pleased with the overall feel of this jacket. The lining is buttery smooth and I have never felt too warm, too cold, or too sweaty when wearing it. I wear a 37" sleeve on my dress shirts and would like a little longer sleeve if I were going to be working overhead, but I knew it would be just a tad short. I am counting on this jacket to provide me with many more years of this comfortable performance. I like the hood, but the collar seems to come up at to an awkward position on the chin when fully zipped. Would definitely recommend to a friend.
  • Reviewed by Djm from Illinois on Sunday, December 15, 2013
    At 6' 2" and 210 pounds the XL fits perfectly. Roomy enough in the shoulders to layer but not ginormous through the body. Soft to the touch, very wind proof and easily adjusted, this is my perfect jacket.
  • Reviewed by oscarteb from Texas on Saturday, March 2, 2013
    Although the description of a soft shell sounds unusual, it is as close as one could probably describe. It is soft to the touch, like a soft shell, although somewhere between a soft and hard shell. Butter cuff linings in sleeves are extremely soft. Has a little "semi-crinkle" feeling to it. The ends, or a portion, of the sleeves are a little tight. Overall, though, I love this jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tim the hiker from Bellingham WA on Tuesday, October 23, 2012
    The jacket is high quality. I have some other mountain hardware garments, that are described as softshell. They are fleece, with stretchiness and some wind-proofing. This jacket feels and looks like a hardshell. There are side panels with a very modest amount of stretch.

    Fortunately, I like outdoor jackets, so this one has a place in my closet.
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by chilijan from Okanogan Washington on Thursday, September 6, 2012
    This is a great jacket- I had a Mountain Hardware very similar for several years that served me well.It is a supple softshell fabric and has pitzips and a great hood- two requirements I have in a jacket.I have not used it yet but from previous experience I know it will perform well as shell.
    It is hard for me to comment on fit as I'am female but was unable to find what I wanted in a women's jacket. I have broad shoulders and this fits me better than alot of ladies jackets. I would say if you are a bigger person that it may run small.
    • Best Uses: Skiing/Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Akira Sato from Japan on Saturday, March 3, 2012
    Soft shell jacket is comfortable to wear for winter climbing. However, it lost the hard shell in waterproof. This Mountain Hardware's Kepler jacket is perfect even in the comfort and in waterproof. By buying this jacket, my climbing has become very comfortable.
    • Best Uses: Winter climbing
    • Cons: none
    • Pros: Perfect in waterproof
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by diggy diggy from San Diego, CA on Friday, February 24, 2012
    OK. Let me level with you.. I love this jacket. Nay, says I, be there a problem with the function-ability yae, but with the fit-ability..( deep breath in). I am a 5'10" 185 lbs. Fairly athletic build broad shoulders, waist 34 inseam 32 wear a 44 reg suit or a 16 1/2 - 33 shirt. Now breathe

    The large was way too tight around the shoulder area, no way could I utilize the inner hand cuffs without tearing the thumb loop, and I could barely zip it up with the collar around my face/chin, and if under my chin I was being choked. The lengths of the large were most perfect for me, minus the overall fit, so I went up one size.

    Now those problems have been resolved but replaced by a somewhat overly baggy and long jacket. Not to mention the helmetable (I like to make up words:) hood isn't very practical without a helmet. Kinda big and awkward. I was hoping to be able to sport this jacket around town but it looks like the color, blue horizon, might give off the impression of a hardcore thug (Please don't take this seriously; just giving a thought I had when I realized how baggy I was). Guess I will have to stick to the slopes and ropes to be accepted in the Sickest jacket on the market.

    If your a lean alien, Michael Phelps looking person then this would be your jam. Otherwise be more wise and go with the bigger size.
    • Best Uses: Light pack-ability, Low to mid cool climates, Wet Hikes
    • Cons: Fits strange
    • Pros: Affordable, Great material, Purposeful, Quality
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JDux from Duxbury, MA on Thursday, February 16, 2012
    Had to return the first one. M fit like S. Got L which fits like M. Good jacket. STP should have posted some warning on this jacket running a full size too small.

    Sierra Trading Post charged for return shipping, which they said they weren't going to since the item was so poorly sized. Not cool, and I will think twice before buying from STP.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.