Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Light Wedge 2 Tent - 2 -Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. A breeze to assemble, Mountain Hardwear's Light Wedge 2 Tent provides weather protection and plentiful ventilation with mesh ceiling and door vents.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews 4.272727 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by mike in the NW from Spokane, WA on Monday, May 13, 2013
    First off I want to say that I bought this tent at an incedible discount to begin with and it arrived quicker than I can imagine. So the initial part of this review is directly reflective of how efficient and speedy the Sierra Trading Post on-line website is. Now for the tent, it's better than I thought, it's ideal for backpacking and I do a lot of back country hiking where weight is crucial. This has to be the lightest 2-person tent out there, and that's including the rain fly. Now when it says 2-person, that means 2-avg sized people, I'm 5'10' 165 lbs and I haven't actually had another person in this tent yet, but two people of that stature could sleep comfortably in this tent, oh and did I mention stay totally dry. I've used this three times and I put my gear inside with me, as I'm always looking for something, However two 70L packs can easily fit under the fly outside of the door. This tent can literly be put up less than 5 min. If it's a cooler night the fly can keep alot of heat in and keep you quite comfy without any condensation, and on clear warm nights the mesh ceiling provides a great view of the night sky to watch satelights and meterors. For the $ it's as good as you want or need!!
  • Reviewed by rnulrich from CO on Monday, April 8, 2013
    This tent is light and works amazingly. It does however have a very very tight seem inthe front door. This will most likely be the piece to first fail on the tent. It was a wonderfully cheap price for such a nice tent. When it does break, Mt. Hardware has a great warrenty.
  • Reviewed by Laura from Illinois on Saturday, March 23, 2013
    I've owned a lot of car camping tents, but this was the first backpacking tent I've purchased. I've used it on three trips now and am very happy with my choice. The tent is very easy to put up and provides good storage space under the vestibule and in the storage loft and end pockets. I have camped in cold (30F) and windy weather and have been very pleased with the stability and lack of any condensation. The only downside to this tent is that it is slightly over 5lbs. I have saved a couple ounces by swapping out the hook-style stakes for the lighter x-shaped stakes and will also try the hollow rounds. Having said this, I think the advantages of this tent make it well worth the extra pound or two - especially when it is large enough to comfortably sleep two adults, who can split the weight on the hike.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MRT from LIT on Saturday, August 11, 2012
    I bought this tent to use at camp grounds when I was driving from Oregon to Arkansas. It was so easy to set up every night, only took us about 3 min. Perfect amout of room for 2 people and having the gear loft was great. Didn't need to use the rain fly since it was nice out and very warm. It had lots of air flow without the fly. We did try the fly one night because it looked like it could rain, but it was way too hot for us to sleep with the fly on.

    I gave it 4 stars because I haven't used this tent for backpaking yet. For car camping, this tent gets 5 stars!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Beach, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by monk from nc on Saturday, July 21, 2012
    this is a really great tent me my wife love it great for spring and summer months
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Beach, Climbing
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JOwens from San Diego, CA on Wednesday, May 30, 2012
    I really wanted and to like this tent. However, I am extremely disappointed with it.

    This past weekend was the first time I had the chance to use it. We traveled down to Baja, Mexico for a little camping and surfing. The Surf was non exististant and the wind was was pretty moderate to heavy. This tent was practically useless in the wind while many lesser brands and quality held fine. I had lent a friend my old faithful North Face Talus 23 tent to use on this trip and you couldnt even tell the wind was blowing when looking at it.

    I put out the guy lines to the tent and they helped some, but not much. When packing up the tent I found that the clip that hold the top of the tent to the tent polls was bent and one of the metal peices had been poking holes and making small tears in the rain fly. The wind had also caused some of the polls to come loose.

    I know Mountain Hardware makes some great products. I own several items from them. But, this isnt one of them!
    • Cons: Collapses in Wind, Flimsy Construction, Poor Fly Design
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Renee from Durham, NC on Thursday, April 19, 2012
    Great tent - fantastic price. Poles appeared to be slightly bent out of the bag, but it set up fine and there were no problems. A good, lightweight 3-season tent.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping, Mountaineering
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 3053 from Rosemead, CA on Tuesday, March 27, 2012
    This tent is very nice, easy to set up, and my daughter like it very much.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Climbing
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by BY from San Diego, CA on Friday, March 16, 2012
    One con is that the tent comes with only 8 stakes; a complete set of 14 is needed if you want to tie down all the points, including the guylines. This may be to keep the advertised packed weight down.

    Bottom line: Solid tent, and a great bang for your buck when purchased on STP using one of the weekly deal codes.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping
    • Cons: Only 8 stakes provided
    • Pros: Easy setup, Lightweight, Overhead storage canopy, Packs well, Solid Construction
  • Reviewed by HENAM from HK on Saturday, February 25, 2012
    A excellent 3season tent
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2