Mountain Hardwear Masherbrum Mittens - Waterproof, Insulated (For Men)

Closeouts. The warmest mountaineering mitts available from Mountain Hardware, Masherburn mittens take on harsh elements thanks to a two-layer Conduit® polyester shell and feature Thermic Micro insulation for premier thermal performance.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GlyCERin from Delaware on Saturday, April 12, 2014
    Very warm, toasty and well-made.
    I will buy another one for my son.
  • Reviewed by Ephblum from Amherst, NY on Friday, March 7, 2014
    Haven't used these outside in really low temps below 0F yet, but I did try them out in the single digits on a dog walk and they were very comfortable. Only drawback is they are so bulky with the warm insulation that I had trouble getting my hand through the flexi-leash handle opening again after picking up the dog business. Since they are meant more for real excursions out into the extreme cold and not dog walking, and since their bulk is what gives them their warmth-I think I can let that slide. All joking aside, these gloves seem really well made with durable yet soft leather through the entire palm and wrapping around the fingertips and knuckles. The fit for me in M was perfect (I usually wear a M or 8 in gloves). There are all the normal extreme glove features like idiot cords, one-handed cinches (that work well with a mitten as well), long gauntlet cuff, wrist strap, etc. I like that the liners contain all of the insulation, so you can take them out and have a shell mitt/use the liners alone as well. The liners have a nice outer grippy surface which makes them useful on their own. The other feature I like is there are two Velcro tabs that hold the liners on either side of the gauntlet cuff which adds some stability to the overall mitt and prevents the liner from sliding out when you take your hand out. Haven't tested the waterproofness, although with the temps you would be using these in I would be that concerned even if they were not that well sealed (I am talking conditions where you are using the snow to dry your hands off if need be). Although an older model, for the STP sale price, these gloves are a bargain and are at the top of the warmth scale in my collection for sure.
  • Reviewed by Jerry & dog Bimmer from Fridgid NE Ohio on Thursday, February 6, 2014
    My hands are sensitive to cold after many years of exposure for work. These mittens are really great; warm and toasty hands now makes my daily 11/2 - 2 hour treks in the park with my dog much more enjoyable. What a tough winter
  • Reviewed by newflywi from Midwest on Wednesday, February 5, 2014
    Picked these up for my 9 yr old. I figured since these will ONLY be used for skiing and, only over my dead body, will these travel to school with him, we can pass these down to the two younger kids and get plenty of use in years to come. These are fantastic. My son has ski lessons for 3.5 hrs on Saturdays. Here in the Midwest, these have been pretty cold days. With his other mitts, his hands hurt, even with warmers. Got the XS size - they're a little big on him, but his hands are very toasty.
  • Reviewed by Steve Feuerstein from New York on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    These are massive near expedition gloves. I have a fairly small medium fit and this glove just barely works for me. So order up if your hand straddles medium or large. Beautifully crafted and true cold weather mountain slayers.
  • Reviewed by Elyrodshop from Ely MN on Friday, January 3, 2014
    Very warm, true to size mitt. Temp. will be 37 below F-60-70 below wind chill this weekend . I have no doubt that my hands will be warm and dry.
  • Reviewed by Jim the skier from Utah on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    The description, "... warmest mountaineering mitts available ..." is accurate. These are toasty. My only (small) concern is that they are so bulky, it is actualy hard to grip ski poles. However, the upside is that these mittens really keep my hands warmer than other products I have used ... great for those super cold winter outings.
  • Reviewed by drmosk from Massachusetts on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
    Thick and warm. Should be great in very cold weather. Haven't needed them yet but they look better than many mittens I've had over the years. Little bulky but you need that to be warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Glory 09 from Denver, CO on Wednesday, December 21, 2011
    I bought the mittens for my wife (size XS). I'm jealous that STP didn't have a pair available in my size, because they are awesome mittens!! She uses them for skiing. The mittens appear to be of excellent quality and well constructed. My wife's only crituque of the mittens is that they are bulky. She jokingly refers to them as boxing gloves! But, apparently the bulk serves its intended purpose--to keep her hands warm. Prior to the mittens, she skied in high-end, name brand gloves. But, she always complained that her fingers were cold. I decided to get her mittens to help keep her stay warm so she could more fully enjoy our time on the slopes. Since receiving the mittens, we've skied several times, one time when the temp stayed in single digits. She never complained about the cold; her hands stayed warm. Well done, Mountain Hardware and STP!!!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Winter sports
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Outdoor enthusiast, Practical
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Durable, Warm, Waterproof
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by msp from Chicago on Tuesday, August 23, 2011
    [...]
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Dry, Durable, Good Grip, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.