Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Mesa Backpacking Pants - UPF 50 (For Men)

Closeouts. Backpacking means getting up close and personal with the great outdoors; be prepared in Mountain Hardwear's Mesa backpacking pants, featuring built-in UPF 50 sun protection, a DWR finish, and seamless, conical waistband.

Average Rating based on 39 reviews 4.282051 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jaded local from southern oregon on Monday, December 15, 2014
    these pants have been redesigned by columbia sportswear the new owners of mountain hardware so that they are cheaper and can no longer be considered a backpacking pant. These have far thinner material making them tear very easily and unsuitable for outdoor use, and there is no longer a chamois-like lining on the inside. it is now nylon mesh like the lining of a windbreaker. maybe theses would make good pajamas,
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jakatannel from Nashville on Thursday, July 24, 2014
    Ok, it's Mountain Hardware. The name alone says "quality". Like many others, however, I have ordered the rare pair of MH pants from STP that had to be returned for low cut waist, tight in the thighs or wrong size label in the back, but the Mesa Backpacking Pants are NOT this pair of pants. I enjoy wearing MH clothing, for it is almost always comfortable, stylish, well-fitting, well-made, durable and look great in the wilds of the Smoky Mountains or the wilds of singles bars at home. And this pair of pants fit that spectrum perfectly. These pants wash well, and after a shake out of the dryer are ready to wear. I have worn these often since they arrived from STP, and expect many years of service from them. As soon as STP gets more colors in my size, I will have to place another order to broaden my wardrobe, Excellent!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by craigB from Ohio on Monday, April 7, 2014
    These are great pants. I'll look at this brand the next time I need similar.
  • Reviewed by IXOYE from The currupt Midwest on Friday, March 7, 2014
    Love these pants the fit me really well, I add a fleece base layer when it colder and I am fine. My only issue is I didn't not realize it until I got them home that the do not have belt loops, sure it comes with the thin nylon belt built in but I usual carry a belt knife and its a no go with these. Not a big issue because I bought two more pair after I received my first.
  • Reviewed by frankie from Pacific Northwest and So Cal deserts on Monday, February 17, 2014
    I bought these to replace some older Mountain Hardware pants (which are about 6 or 7 years old.) I hike a lot in the desert and need tough pants. I was disappointed that these new pants do not have double knees, the self-belt rides up while the pants sag below it, and they are a bit short so they pull out of my short gaiters. They seem lighter and less durable. I am keeping them but also keeping my older, tougher and much patched originals.
  • Reviewed by North Enough from Northern Minnesota on Friday, February 7, 2014
    Good quality and great fit, at a very nice price. I use these for hiking and canoeing. One of my favorite pants. Will buy more of these.
  • Reviewed by Steep n deep from Idaho on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    Extremely comfortable, lightweight pants
  • Reviewed by Steep n deep from Idaho on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    Very comfortable, breathable , everyday pants
  • Reviewed by Steep n deep from Idaho on Friday, January 3, 2014
    Very comfortable with room to move in the right areas
  • Reviewed by Cyclety68 from Cincinnati on Friday, November 1, 2013
    I haven't worn these out hiking but my initial impression is all good. They fit great - plenty of room and really appear to be of great construction. I'll definitely be purchasing another pair in the future.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4