Mountain Hardwear Mountain Tech AirShield Fleece Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. The Mountain Hardwear Mountain Tech jacket combines AirShield windproof fleece with strategically placed soft shell panels for a rugged backcountry piece.

Average Rating based on 119 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 12 »
  • 1-10 of 118 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by whateyesee13 from North Carolina on Wednesday, May 6, 2015
    I've been wanting this jacket for quite some time now, but had other similar gear and didn't really need it. I have the Mountain Tech Vest which is very warm and windproof for a vest, so I knew this would be a stellar wind stopping fleece. I do not like the new version of this jacket based on its looks and most importantly no pit zip vents. I knew I had to jump on this great deal to get one with the pit zip vents. Glad I got it! The jacket is very comfy and warm, although I haven't been able to test in harsh conditions yet due to the time of year, I will be saving this for late Fall/Winter. I trust MHW windblocking products to be warm and windproof. I am in between sizes in MHW but like the fit of the Large in this jacket. I had to go up to XL in a MHW soft shell a couple years back. I'm 6'2, 195lbs and the sleeves are a great length, the jacket is long enough for me, and it's snug enough to feel like it will keep me warm. I look forward to putting this jacket to the test later this year, and am excited I got this at a great deal before it was gone!
  • Reviewed by Jason in Alaska from Unalakleet, Alaska on Tuesday, April 14, 2015
    I believe this windproof fleece jacket goes down as one of the greats in jacket history! It is very durable…my wife purchased one for me nearly 3 years ago, and it looks almost new. I do abuse it, and don't take the greatest care of it, but it just keeps going.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Banyan from Arkansas on Thursday, March 12, 2015
    This is a great jacket and I got it from Sierra Trading Post for a great price! True to fit. I have bought a lot of products from Sierra Trading post over the years and have never had any problems. Great company! Thanks!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cmad from Iowa on Wednesday, February 25, 2015
    This jacket is the perfect weight and fits so nice. My husband LOVES it and sometimes I borrow it too. Very warm, cuts the wind but is not heavy. Perfect for short trips outside when it's really cold or longer trips when it's not so cold. Love it!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bucsa from Boston on Saturday, January 24, 2015
    This jacket is very durable and is made from quality material as you would expect from a Mountain Hardwear product. It protects well against wind (completely wind-proof) , very breathable and warm and the DWR coating behaves well in light rain.

    My problems with the jacket is that the pockets are placed too high and the zippers are reversed (need to pull them up to open them) which isn't very comfortable or intuitive.

    Another issue is sizing. I am 6'2", 175 lb male, and my wingspan is 6'7". Based on previous Mountain Hardwear jackets I own, I have purchased the XL. The sleeve length is fine (could have even been an inch longer), but there is a lot of extra space between the jacket and mu body which is good for layering but the fit could have been better. You should measure it first if you have got long hands.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jettykid from San Diego, CA on Wednesday, January 14, 2015
    Before purchasing this jacket, I read most of the reviews about it. Now that I have the jacket, those reviews are quite accurate, although the size was right on for me.

    I previously have the original jacket that this one is a copy of. My original jacket has been my favorite jacket of all time. The new model is a different jacket. I preferred the former one that has the Gore Tex Wind Shield and made in the USA. The current version is made in China. It has a different lining and the pockets are too high. It is extremely windproof and I have not had the opportunity to check the breathability.

    If you can get this jacket at a steep discount from the $180.00 retail price, it is definitely worth it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gagerr from Ohio on Monday, January 12, 2015
    A rugged, good looking, well fitting windproof jacket. Everything I was looking for. I always trust Mountain Hardwear to make an excellent product. This jacket is no exception.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nsteadma from Texas on Friday, January 2, 2015
    Typical Mountain Hardware product. Comfort, function, and style all wrapped in one.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hike, ski, camp, swim, bike from Wisconsin on Friday, January 2, 2015
    First of all I'm a 5'8" 150 lb female. I bought a small in the mens normally I'm a medium to large in females dependent on sleeve length. Mens Size Small fit me well, long enough both in arms and torso, but loose enough to put another sweater or a light weight down vest on underneath. I chose to purchase this mens wear Item because most womens fleece were only one color and were way too short in both the sleeves and torso.

    PROS: warm, helps block wind, true to siz.
    Tougher fabric on shoulders and arms helps prevent catching/snagging of material,
    Brushed type of fleece is very comfortable and not bulky/puffy,
    2 side pockets are large but slightly oddly placed.
    For a women the mens small allowed for enough extra room to layer underneath

    NEGS: I felt the pockets were in a weird place, up kind of high to rest comfortably with hands in them. Placement would be conveneint if back packing because the waist strap would not block access to them.
    Also the to open zippers of the pockets you must zip them up toward your chest which seems backwards I would prefer to zip them in a downward motion to open (again I am a female and most female items the pockets zip downward to open.).
    Small chest pocket is very small and difficult for me to get my hand into it (again women with slim hands), I can't imagine men would have a fun time getting their hand in and out of the chest pocket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Redwolvesdad from Arkansas on Thursday, January 1, 2015
    Nice feel
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 12 »
  • 1-10 of 118 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #