Mountain Hardwear Mountain Tech AirShield Fleece Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. The Mountain Hardwear Mountain Tech jacket combines AirShield windproof fleece with strategically placed soft shell panels for a rugged backcountry piece.

Average Rating based on 116 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 12 »
  • 1-10 of 116 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cmad from Iowa on Wednesday, February 25, 2015
    This jacket is the perfect weight and fits so nice. My husband LOVES it and sometimes I borrow it too. Very warm, cuts the wind but is not heavy. Perfect for short trips outside when it's really cold or longer trips when it's not so cold. Love it!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bucsa from Boston on Saturday, January 24, 2015
    This jacket is very durable and is made from quality material as you would expect from a Mountain Hardwear product. It protects well against wind (completely wind-proof) , very breathable and warm and the DWR coating behaves well in light rain.

    My problems with the jacket is that the pockets are placed too high and the zippers are reversed (need to pull them up to open them) which isn't very comfortable or intuitive.

    Another issue is sizing. I am 6'2", 175 lb male, and my wingspan is 6'7". Based on previous Mountain Hardwear jackets I own, I have purchased the XL. The sleeve length is fine (could have even been an inch longer), but there is a lot of extra space between the jacket and mu body which is good for layering but the fit could have been better. You should measure it first if you have got long hands.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jettykid from San Diego, CA on Wednesday, January 14, 2015
    Before purchasing this jacket, I read most of the reviews about it. Now that I have the jacket, those reviews are quite accurate, although the size was right on for me.

    I previously have the original jacket that this one is a copy of. My original jacket has been my favorite jacket of all time. The new model is a different jacket. I preferred the former one that has the Gore Tex Wind Shield and made in the USA. The current version is made in China. It has a different lining and the pockets are too high. It is extremely windproof and I have not had the opportunity to check the breathability.

    If you can get this jacket at a steep discount from the $180.00 retail price, it is definitely worth it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gagerr from Ohio on Monday, January 12, 2015
    A rugged, good looking, well fitting windproof jacket. Everything I was looking for. I always trust Mountain Hardwear to make an excellent product. This jacket is no exception.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nsteadma from Texas on Friday, January 2, 2015
    Typical Mountain Hardware product. Comfort, function, and style all wrapped in one.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hike, ski, camp, swim, bike from Wisconsin on Friday, January 2, 2015
    First of all I'm a 5'8" 150 lb female. I bought a small in the mens normally I'm a medium to large in females dependent on sleeve length. Mens Size Small fit me well, long enough both in arms and torso, but loose enough to put another sweater or a light weight down vest on underneath. I chose to purchase this mens wear Item because most womens fleece were only one color and were way too short in both the sleeves and torso.

    PROS: warm, helps block wind, true to siz.
    Tougher fabric on shoulders and arms helps prevent catching/snagging of material,
    Brushed type of fleece is very comfortable and not bulky/puffy,
    2 side pockets are large but slightly oddly placed.
    For a women the mens small allowed for enough extra room to layer underneath

    NEGS: I felt the pockets were in a weird place, up kind of high to rest comfortably with hands in them. Placement would be conveneint if back packing because the waist strap would not block access to them.
    Also the to open zippers of the pockets you must zip them up toward your chest which seems backwards I would prefer to zip them in a downward motion to open (again I am a female and most female items the pockets zip downward to open.).
    Small chest pocket is very small and difficult for me to get my hand into it (again women with slim hands), I can't imagine men would have a fun time getting their hand in and out of the chest pocket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Redwolvesdad from Arkansas on Thursday, January 1, 2015
    Nice feel
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Andy from Minnesota on Monday, December 29, 2014
    The quality of Mountain Hardware products is always top notch. This particular jacket runs larger than a traditional XL however. I'm going to have to return it for a smaller size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sailing Fool from Montana on Saturday, December 27, 2014
    Nice jacket. Fit's well without being too bulky, yet still has room for layering. I'm glad manufacturers have finally realized that not everyone that is 6'4 weighs 300 pounds!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from Tennessee on Friday, December 26, 2014
    Jacket seems to be of excellent quality. Only difficulty was that we ordered a size M and was sent a size XL. It was the only Christmas present we ordered from STP so my wife went ahead and wrapped the box when it arrived. The size XL was not a great surprise on Christmas morning. When I called STP this morning (26th), the rep said they do not have a size M in any color. Rep offered for me to get on a mailing list if they ever get the item back in stock. I'm a little surprised they did not seem apologetic or offer a coupon or something for their mistake. STP has some great deals, though this was a poor experience with their fulfillment and customer service.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 12 »
  • 1-10 of 116 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.