Mountain Hardwear Nansen Jacket - Fleece (For Men)

Closeouts. On the days in town that are just as cold and windy as they are on the mountain, you'll be thankful for Mountain Hardwear's Nansen jacket and its AirShield Elite windproofing. A low-profile design allows this fleece layer to fit under hard shells.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Reviewed by Cold Skier from N.C. on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    I got this for my son as I got a similar one for me - the 'Tech Airshield' MW jacket. This seems very similar in style and thickness, just styled a little more plain. I really wanted to get him the green (elm?) one so that was he main reason I chose this model. Both are larges, and I can say the fit on this one is much more snug and 'fitted' than the other one. Overall its very nice, well made and warm.

    IF I were to choose between the two, i think i like the Tech Airshield a little bit more. Also it has soft shell panels on the shoulders and arms where you need it but this one is also very nice.
  • Reviewed by NHHiker from New Hampshire on Monday, February 24, 2014
    Got this for my son as a gift when he was looking for a layer under his ski shell. I liked that it is windproof so he can use it in the autumn and spring on windy days. He loves it, and my daughter, who lives near him, said it looks great on him. He's 5' 7" with a broad chest and shoulders.

    He takes a medium shirt, but we had to return the medium jacket for a large. The return went very smoothly, and although I saw no option to change the shipping address when I went to returns on the site, I was glad to redirect it via the UPS shipping notification to his address so that he got it before his trip out West.
  • Reviewed by gulfbreeze from FL on Saturday, March 23, 2013
    Overall I'm pleased with this jacket...enough that I bought one for myself and one for my son. It's a very fitted design, so don't expect lots of room or stretch capability. Fairly true sizing. Only nitpicking I can think of is that it's more of a windstopping than a warming fleece (and I live in FL with relatively mild winters. I get cold pretty easily, and this jacket does not keep my that warm as the interior is a very smooth knit material as opposed to a fleece with a pile construction. If you're looking for warmth, go elsewhere. Also, my son's initial jacket ordered came with a seam in the right arm that was defective and was quite scratchy with short sleeves. Mine had the same construction, but doesn't bother me with long sleeves. Regardless, the return and replacement of his went flawlessly...as expected with Sierra's awesome customer service. I've been buying from Sierra for over 20 years and it's one of the best online retailers I've ever used.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stasshu from Milford, CT on Friday, January 11, 2013
    Wear it all the time for all occassions except dress
  • Reviewed by Steve from NEPA on Friday, January 11, 2013
    It's is a fairly stylish and well made jacket. That said, if you have broad shoulders forget it. The material does not stretch to conform to developed upper bodies and shoulders and simply looks boxy and loose as it does not contour down to slimmer waistlines. May be the only item I have returned to STP in 10 years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Momnip from Sparta, NJ on Friday, January 04, 2013
    Got this for my son for Christmas (he is a standard size "M"), but this item ran small. Back it went. ST was out of stock on Christmas Day so no opportunity to exchange for bigger size. Bummer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Boston Bob from Massachusetts on Thursday, December 27, 2012
    This is a very attractive jacket, but I returned it after trying it on. I am fairly broad through the shoulders, and the jacket is cut straight up and down, and was tight. I would have had to go to an XL for comfort, and in light of the fact that I am 5'10", that wasn't an option. I suppose someone thin and not to broad in the shoulders would find this jacket a good fit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bentnailz from Northwest on Tuesday, December 25, 2012
    Wear this for work,comfortable loose fit,best dressed carpenter on the job.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.