Mountain Hardwear Nilas Down Jacket - 850 Fill Power (For Men)

Closeouts. Designed in collaboration with their lead athlete, Mountain Hardwear's Nilas down jacket is geared towards the speed alpinist. Its incredibly warm 850 fill power down is housed inside super-tough AirShield Elite ripstop fabric, all in a package that is extremely lightweight.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
  • Reviewed by Wheeler Canyon Ted from Ventura CA on Wednesday, February 26, 2014
    Nice down jacket. Have a great Columbia down jacket now but it did not keep me warm in -2 degree temp at Green Bay, yet this one has. It's a bit too warm for temps above 40 or so if you layer too heavy, maybe just a t-shirt under this would be fine. High quality and very well made. If you catch it on super sale, what a deal for such a high quality jacket. The new model with water proof down is over $500 at REI.
  • Reviewed by Breezin' from Chicago on Friday, January 24, 2014
    You don't even know it's on - the lightest jacket I've ever had. Very warm, but does seem to have a few cold spot on the inside of the elbows (thus, 4-star). Called Mountain Hardware and they said the jacket's made to be lighter around the arms for flexibility when doing outdoor activities (rock-climbing, etc.) Not as warm overall than the Chillwave jacket, but much, much lighter and does its job. Because it's so light, you don't feel compelled to take the jacket off once indoors - very light and breathable.

  • Reviewed by Haglofs from S.Korea on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    So... so... so...
  • Reviewed by Primal Primate from New England on Monday, January 06, 2014
    Fit: good fit, true to size- I am 6-3 200 and XL was perfect. Love the cuffs.

    Finish: Appears well made.

    Warmth: Don't know. I never even stepped outside in it.

    Atrocious color (my opinion)- The orange is the same neon orange a hunting coat. Too me, it looked more copper-like on the STP site.

    Be aware that the fabric is very crinkley sounding. I am afraid it would drive me crazy on the mountain. Then again, I may too sensitive.

    Ultimately, it is going back. Too bad. Another MH product I really wanted to work.
  • Reviewed by Phill from Miramichi NB on Saturday, January 04, 2014
    wore this jacket and the nilas pants in Baxter state park on the summit of Mt Katahdin in Jan , worked great with a fleece and a shell under it . Nice to pull on after an 8hr hike in minus 27 celsius . I am 5-10 190 lbs and the large fits great even with the layers under it.
  • Reviewed by Outdoor Sam from Michigan on Friday, December 27, 2013
    This is a great coat for fast paced hiking / light mountaineering. I've owned over a dozen down jackets over many decades and this is the most comfortable weight and warm. Super deal at STP. Very expensive without the deal
  • Reviewed by KT from Northern Michigan on Friday, December 27, 2013
    I live in Michigan with unpredictable weather in the winter. Went outside the other morning in 15 degree temps with a sweatshirt underneath. Walked for 10 minutes and had to take the sweatshirt off and was left with just a t-shirt underneath. Love the jacket and would recommend to anyone who was looking for the extreme warmth!
  • Reviewed by Swat from Idaho on Sunday, December 01, 2013
    After having a North Face Down coat for 15 years I thought it was time to upgrade. This coat by MH is very well made, light and very warm. I'm 6'2" 200 lbs and a large fit perfect.
  • Reviewed by WinterSpprtsDude from Minnesota on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    Typically I'm not this excited for a product but I have come to realize that the right gear makes a world of difference! If you do not have a beefy down in your line up you might as well pack on heavy layers. A simple design with the goodies seamlessly added into the product. The wrist cuffs really add the extra touch eliminating any draft flowing up your arms and exposing your skin to the elements. I highly recommend this product to anyone and everyone and don't think about looking like a puff ball because you'll be comfortable while the onlookers are freezing their back sides off!

  • Reviewed by CP from Colorado on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
    Perfect fit and quality. A steal at STP price.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #