Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Nitrous Down Jacket - 800 Fill Power (For Women)

Closeouts. A best-seller with puffy jacket style, Mountain Hardwear's Nitrous down jacket is a quilted, 800 fill power beast that's ideal for everything from chilly fall to Yukon-cold winters.

Average Rating based on 44 reviews 4.272727 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by smag41 from Duluth, MN on Thursday, May 5, 2016
    Love it! Love how it fits - has a flattering look, not too puffy. Lightweight, but warm. Perfect for northern MN springs or falls. True to size. I have long arms - and was nervous the sleeves would be too short if I ordered a small - so I went with a medium (I'm 130lbs, 5'8") and felt the medium was too big around the waste. I exchanged for a small and it fit perfectly - and the sleeve length was still great! I'm so happy with the coat, and also appreciate how small it can be packed away.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by smag41 from Duluth, MN on Friday, April 29, 2016
    I am really happy with this jacket, exactly what I was looking for (something for northern MN springs.) Customer service was great. I originally ordered a M because I have long arms and I have a hard time finding suitable sleeves. When it arrived, the sleeves seemed perfect, however coat was a little bigger around the midriff than I had hoped. I was nervous to order a S b/c I didn't want sleeves to be too short - but customer service said they should be about the same. I got the small and it fits perfectly (I'm 5'8" ~ 130lbs.) They were great about making the return easy and I love my new coat!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by J2R from Maine on Tuesday, April 12, 2016
    I've been looking for a long time for a new jacket that served many purposes and this is it! Love the non-bulky warmth it provides and the color is a great varation from the standard black jacket without being overwhelming. I read the reviews on sizing and "true to size" but ended up returning for the smaller size as the sleeves were long. Typically I wear Medium size jackets (5'5" 130lbs). The only thing that would make it 5 stars would be a hood!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by shallop from Fort Collins, Colorado on Tuesday, March 31, 2015
    I ordered a similar jacket for my friend and both of us like it so much that I ordered another one for my mom. Extremely light and very well-cut. It is perfect for spring and fall weather, and even a chill night in mountains in Colorado. If small is available I would have ordered one for myself too. I am 5'4" 118 lb, small fit perfectly (tried a similar one 600 fill power one on).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kurogi from china on Sunday, March 8, 2015
    MHW is my favorite brand, the nitrous down jacket is warm and light, my wife love it
    if it has my size, I 'll buy one for men for myself
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KelleyD from Kentucky on Thursday, February 26, 2015
    I wanted a lower profile down coat to replace my current one. It's really very warm. I wore it on a 20 degree day and was so hot in my car that I had to unzip it. It's a winter coat in a small package. I ordered a Large (I'm 5'6, 140lbs) thinking I would want some extra room for sweaters, etc., under the coat but it was still a little big..bigger than I would choose, so I returned it. I also missed having a hood in our nasty winter weather...lots of rain/snow mix. I would definitely recommend it if you need a new winter coat and don't need a hood. I was VERY impressed with how warm it was. I think it really runs true to size, though.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Teton Trekker from Jackson, WY on Tuesday, January 6, 2015
    I bought this jacket for my wife who has ice-water in her veins and she loves it as a great spring and fall jacket (35 degrees or higher) and loves it as a nice insulating layer beneath her larger jacket for walking around town. Too warm for insulation under a ski shell when Nordic skiing but too cool for on its own. Very light-weight, true to size. I expected it would be a bit warmer but that could just be my wife's constant battle against Wyoming winters talking.
  • Reviewed by mc from Illinios on Sunday, December 21, 2014
    i was excited to get this jacket but was disappointed when it showed up with some scuff marks and feathers already coming out and missing mountain hardwear "official" sales tags. seemed like the jacket was not new.
    derailed was willing to exchange for credit but i needed a jacket for an upcoming trip. this was the only one in that fit my needs...waited to see if derailed would get any more of the nitrous or similar jackets in my size but didn't happen.
    ended up keeping it but disappointed since i've had good experiences with derailed prior...

    as for the jacket, haven't tested it out in any stressing conditions yet. light and very thin, probably works best with layers. can't see it being warm enough alone in winter temps. camping trip in cold weather conditions is coming up, will update if the jacket does not perform as expected.
    fit wise: 5'2, 114 lbs. The small fits me well, arm length is great. the jacket is a bit boxy but not something that turns you into a michelin man.
  • Reviewed by Vicki from New Hampshire on Wednesday, November 5, 2014
    Medium down jackets in other brands (except Rab) fit me, so that’s what I ordered the Nitrous in. But this Med was a bit small in the torso and especially in the armpits, even with only a thin short sleeve shirt on underneath. I have thin arms and this jacket was tight on my bare arms. I like the look and the overall feel, and appreciated the stitched logo on the front and back as opposed to the Mt Hardware Ghost Whisperer down jacket where it is a stamp, even though this is minor. I actually ordered several down jackets (ok, 10 jackets) at once and compared them relentlessly. This one didn't cut it because of the size, but if I'd had a large it might have fared better
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mary from Sacramento on Sunday, October 19, 2014
    There is practically no down in there; mostly other feathers. I wanted a mid layer jacket, to wear on days that didn't need my down parka, but this isn't even as warm as a sweater. It's just a windbreaker with feathers that aren't warm.

    Also, the arms are too tight, but the torso is boxy. The arms are so tight, I can't bend my elbows all the way, yet the torso seems a whole size too large. I suppose that's why it's selling for this price, but still not worth it to me. I sent it back, sadly.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5