Mountain Hardwear Offwidth Soft Shell Jacket (For Women)

Closeouts. The Mountain Hardwear Offwidth soft shell jacket takes on cold and wind with lightweight protection that you can layer for more warmth.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Laura from WI on Tuesday, May 29, 2012
    The material is thinner than expected and lined only in the front with a light mesh for breathability. The cut is very flattering and very roomy in the hips for those with a pear shape. There is a draw cord around the bottom to tighten as needed without ruining the silhouette. It is wind proof and worn with a fleece will be perfect for Nordic skiing and winter hikes. Worn without layers will be great for all other cool weather outdoor use. Sizing is true. I normally wear a 10-12 and ordered a large (12-14) to accommodate layers. Very happy overall.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking, Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Not fully lined
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Three season use, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gil from North Conway NH on Tuesday, March 6, 2012
    I liked the jacket a lot. However, the fit in the hips is very tight. I have found this to be true of most manufacturers' softshell jackets for women. An awful lot of us beyond our twenties are more pear shaped but we still like the backcountry.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Hiking, Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by River Roadie from Baton Rouge, LA on Tuesday, November 8, 2011
    I have only had this jacket for a little over 24 hours and I have not taken it off! Yet to really test it in the rain and wind, I'll update. I planned to use it for camping and cold weather hiking - it is lightweight enough to wear as a layer and not too bulky that you couldn't carry a pack with it.

    Also as a 'go to' for to and from and at bike rides and races during the winter. I can still move in it but it is warm. I hope it will be as useful as I imagine.

    The only thing I'm not sold on (hence the 4 stars) is the interior feel, it isn't wonderful and soft, but I think this is the breathable aspect of the fabric. I'm just a sucker for things that feel wonderful on your hands and arms when you put them on.

    AND, very important to pet owners:
    The fabric doesn't hold pet hair and so I don't look like a fleabag after I hug my dog!
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Climbing, Cycling, Hiking, Nordic, Skiing, Snowboarding, winter running
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Doesn't hold pet hair, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yammacooma from Sydney Australia on Wednesday, October 12, 2011
    I keep this in my backpack and whip it out if I feel cold. Lightweight and very very comfortable.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Professional
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by OrangeSky from San Jose, CA on Wednesday, September 21, 2011
    This is a beautiful jacket. Fits everywhere just right. You can tell the material is strong so it will last.
    However, I expected the fabric to be a bit thicker. It is not quite warm enough for what I intended it for, so I'm returning it.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by camper from Columbus, OH on Wednesday, February 23, 2011
    The jacket was very nice lightweight but I wanted to have little bit more thick soft shell jacket. I will return it.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Durable, Lightweight
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dog lover from South Carolina on Tuesday, January 11, 2011
    Very nice jacket, stretchy and non binding. Is great for activities that require a lot of movement. Fairly warm with a fleece layer underneath. Nice fit, fits well over a layer. Not tight. The sleeves are a bit long, but at 5'1 that is normal for me.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Cross Country Skiing, Hiking, Running, Snowshoe, Tennis, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by outside gal from Mancos, CO on Friday, December 17, 2010
    good for cross country skiing- lightweight and comfortable. Not the type for cold weather warmth.
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #