Mountain Hardwear Paladin Backpack

Closeouts. Versatile enough for a serious day hike or urban adventure, Mountain Hardwear's Paladin backpack is constructed from tough and durable 840 denier HT nylon and features a CoolWave suspension system and a wide-mouth opening.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Damen from Chicago on Wednesday, March 18, 2015
    I bought this pack to use as a carry on for traveling. I like the way this pack opens and exposes all of your stuff in the pack, as well as, the pockets in the lid. There are tons of pockets along the interior of the pack to allow for organization and location of your stuff - I hate when you have to dig through your pack to find stuff and it always seems to be at the bottom. This design should take care of that issue.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Don - hiker/traveler from Colorado on Tuesday, November 18, 2014
    This pack is comfortable to wear. The single main compartment is roomy, yet the pack is small enough to fit under an airline seat since those "overhead compartment" carry-ons can now get hit with baggage-like fee charges.
    The pack will never "stand up" alone on its base when you set it down.
    You have to either live with that or look for something else.
    It has a separate padded pocket for small laptop/large tablet. It also has lots of small pockets which can either be very convenient or a total distraction, i.e. "Where did I put that _____?", depending on your viewpoint or memory.
    It's well made but with zipper grabs heavier than they needed to be if you are concerned about every gram. The water bottle side pockets are indeed very shallow as others have noted. You can secure half-liter bottles OK.
    Overall, a decent pack with minor issues.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave in Frederick from Maryland on Saturday, August 16, 2014
    I really don't know how this could be improved. Great construction, comfortable both almost empty and stuffed full, plenty of pockets and internal compartments. Has carry handles on both the front and top back for when you don't have time to put it on your back. The laptop sleeve will fit my 17" Dell, but only from the top - it's too big to get in or out of the quick access side zipper slot. The expansion straps are a nice touch - they keep the pack compact until you need the extra space. You could use this pack for almost anything - school, commuting, biking, day hiking, skiing, etc... I almost bought something cheaper, but am glad I didn't. Worth every penny.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hacklebarney Jimmy from New Jersey on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    I needed a backpack a little larger then the standard to transport my Jiu Jitsu gear into the city every day. The Palladin was great as besides the open, roomy layout of the main compartment, there are convenient openings for my reading material and on the top for earphones, etc.
    A very well thought out pack. Recommended.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by World Racer from Virginia on Friday, June 6, 2014
    I bought this pack originally over a year ago before I left for a year trip around the globe. It's a big pack, which comfortably carries way more than you'd ever expect. I can easily fit a 15" laptop, large DSLR camera, extra lenses, books, a spare jacket, and more. The tough fabric resists hard travel and weather. My first pack was stolen in central Africa, but I love this pack so much I bought the exact same one as soon as I got back to the States. (But first I tried to find a replacement at the Mountain Hardwear store in Kathmandu)
  • Reviewed by Sonichorse from Chicago on Saturday, February 8, 2014
    I use it mainly to haul my groceries. It's built strong so I can load it up with heavy items. In the spring I'll use it to carry my art supplies, lots of pockets.
  • Reviewed by upstate NYers from Boght Corners NY on Monday, November 18, 2013
    My husband was very pleased with his new backpack- he likes its roominess for a day pack, and the light weight and sturdiness. He discovered it has a grab handle on top that's a bit hidden behind the top opening, and that makes it even easier to haul around.
  • Reviewed by G-Funk from San Francisco on Monday, September 9, 2013
    This backpack is awesome. Has plenty of space. I can fit my massive 17 inch laptop in this guy with room for 3 textbooks as well. Love the top loading zippers. Works great on my bike commutes to school and work.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #