Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Piero Shorts - UPF 50 (For Men)

Closeouts. Hanging around the crags, you need all the freedom and mobility you can get. And that's just what you'll find in Mountain Hardwear's Piero shorts. Durable stretch canvas provides ample mobility, top-notch UV protection and plenty of tough, accessible pockets.

Average Rating based on 7 reviews 4.285714 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MPSO from Ohio on Wednesday, September 5, 2012
    Use mostly as weekend shorts. Very comfortable but not too baggy. Good material.
    • Best Uses: Casual, Climbing, Hiking
    • Pros: Sturdy
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jumpin John from Atlanta GA on Tuesday, September 4, 2012
    I own the long pants version of these shorts and love them for hiking, climbing and mountaineering in cool weather. I wear a 30" waist but these fell off of me. I would need a 28" but they weren't available. I love Mountain Hardwear products but these did not fit and I had to return them.
    • Best Uses: Around town, Climbing, Hiking
    • Pros: Lots of pockets, Stylish, Tough
  • Reviewed by Ric the baritone playing pepper grower from Madison, WI on Saturday, August 25, 2012
    After wearing these shorts for a month, I wanted to update my 8/1/2012 review by indicating that the lack of depth in the front pockets (about 1.5 inches less deep than my other pants) can present problems. Items like pens can drop out when sitting in a chair or car seat, and even smaller items sometimes drop out at times when one lies down. So far, I've lost for good only a writing instrument or two, but the act of constantly checking one's pockets to see if keys are still there gets tiring.
    I'm going to alter the pockets to give myself some peace of mind. My earlier favorable comments on quality of construction, etc. still stand. So these pants are a good deal if you're willing to do some alteration.
    • Cons: Front pockets shallow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Arkansas Toothpick from Denver, CO on Wednesday, August 22, 2012
    The build is terrific though the pockets are quite warm/sweaty. The color I chose was much darker than in the picture.
    • Best Uses: Casual wear and urban use
    • Cons: Hot
    • Pros: Build Seams Material
  • Reviewed by Ukeyoner from Evanston, IL on Thursday, August 9, 2012
    I ordered 5 different pair of Mountain Hardware shorts and all of them seemed to run true to size except these. These are at least a size too large. I'm 172lbs. with a 36" waist and ordered a 36". I could easily take these off without undoing the button.

    Quality wise, these seem superb. The weight of the short is a little on the heavy side, but I would imagine this would lend to the durability. Personally I really like lightweight shorts. I wasn't really planing on wearing these for hiking, but that is where these shorts would really seem to shine. For everyday use, these might be a little to much short for me.
  • Reviewed by Ric the baritone playing pepper grower from Madison, WI on Wednesday, August 1, 2012
    First, I admit that I'm not a climber. I bought these hoping for good quality, comfortable shorts that would last a long time, and after wearing them a few hours I think they'll serve these needs very well.
    Major stress points are reinforced with low profile, unobtrusive rivets. Fly zipper is nylon rather than brass. Overall construction and stitching looks very good.
    The fit is very comfortable, and the 5% Spandex ("Elastan" on the tag) does offer a reasonable, controlled amount of stretch in one direction. Walking in these shorts was very comfortable; they didn't rub or bind around my thighs like some shorts do.
    The back pockets seem to be situated in a lower, more outside position than normal. While sitting in a chair my wallet dug in uncomfortably when in those locations. Fortunately, the wallet fits equally well in either of the lower right light camlock zip and drop-in pockets, making for much more comfortable sitting.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, CASUAL WEAR, Hiking, Warm weather outdoor work
    • Pros: Comfortable, High quality materials, High quality stiching
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mr. fussy pants from Minnesota on Tuesday, July 31, 2012
    I love these shorts. I wish I had bought more. They are my new favorite shorts.
    • Best Uses: Camping, Going Out, Hiking, Nordic Walking, Working
    • Cons: Pockets a little shallow, Sizing runs large
    • Pros: Perfect length, Rugged, Tough as Nails, Well built, Wish I had bought more
  • Sort by: