Mountain Hardwear Pinnacle Pants (For Men)

Closeouts. Reach the pinnacle of technical perfection on your next ascent in these premium mountaineering pants from Mountain Hardwear. Count on outstanding water resistance, mobility and durability to see you through.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Photographer56 from Yakima, WA on Monday, July 9, 2012
    Very durable, held up to Glissading over 1000 feet.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Glissading, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by backcountry brad from socal on Tuesday, March 1, 2011
    Absolutely love these pants. They fit well for mountaineering and active winter sports. Would prefer a little more room in the crotch to allow for a base layer underneath, but oftentimes i just wear them as a single layer.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Cross Country, Downhill, Hiking, Mountaineering, Snowboarding/Skiing, Winter mountaineering
    • Cons: Tight in the crotch
    • Describe Yourself: Expert
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Great venting, Lightweight, Stylish, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tom from Marietta, GA on Friday, February 25, 2011
    Even at the dramatically reduced price these pants are not as good my Marmot precip pants. The fit was poor, and the features seemed to be token features with little functionality. Zips partially up the leg are of very little use. Pocket zips, although waterproof, required two hands to open. Built in gaiters make no sense (as most people use stand alone gaiters) and were in the way. I returned them.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Hiking
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Stiff and uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Climbing, Hiking, Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Waist: Feels too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scott from Minnesota on Thursday, February 24, 2011
    Pants were too narrow, both in the waist and the thighs. Especially the thighs. Assume the very lower end of the size range for the waist. Had to return them.
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Stylish
    • Waist: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by winter camping dude! from Oregon,illinois on Monday, January 3, 2011
    First of all I love Mountain Hardwear but was really shocked at the over all quality of this product and how well built it was!I wanted a pair for Christmas and my wife bought these for me and I love them.I will be using these pants on my first true mountaineering trips this year. If they hold up like all my MH gear I will have no problems.A great product all around!
    • Describe Yourself: On The Mountain
    • Gear Usage: Cold camping in mountains, Cold Weather Living
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cjd from Clifton Park, NY on Friday, December 31, 2010
    I use for downhill skiing. Finally found a contemporary fitting shell that wasn't from a snowboard brand! I am a 33/32 and the medium/regular size was perfect with a warm base layer underneath.
    • Best Uses: Downhill
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Stoney from Eatonville, WA on Tuesday, December 28, 2010
    I use them for backcountry skiing and ski mountaineering - just what I was looking for - windproof - rainproof - light weight Gore-Tex shell - not bulky but allow for full range of motion - vent well - only drawback for me is that they do not have a full length leg zip - but I felt this was a fair trade off for great price and quality.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Cross Country, Downhill, Snowboarding/Skiing
    • Describe Yourself: On The Mountain
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by CJD from Saratoga County, NY on Wednesday, December 22, 2010
    Finally found a contemporary ski pant without going to a snowboard brand. I am a 33 waist / 32 length and the medium/regular fit great with fleece pants underneath. The light gray on the web is actually a little darker in person but still works well.
    • Best Uses: Snowboarding/Skiing
    • Describe Yourself: On The Mountain
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Mountaineering bound from NJ on Tuesday, November 16, 2010
    I have been looking for a winter mountaineering shell in my size on STP for many weeks now (6+). I was excited to come across these as I am a big mountain hardware fan and my summer mhw hiking shorts and climbing long shorts are both superb! I believe the pinnancle pants to be high quality although I am not sure if I will get to use them. The small is a near perfect fit (5'10", 150lbs, 30" waist) with only a light pant base layer; too tight with anything else. The true size of the small waist is 31". I exchanged for the medium and I so wish it was a 32 instead of a 32-34 which really means 34. True waist of the medium is 35". Fits ok with double layers top and bottom and a belt. I think the ideal fit would be for those with waist size 1-2" smaller than the upper side of their size bracket.
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Durable, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Jeff the beginning climber from Seattle, WA on Thursday, August 19, 2010
    I wore them on a recent trip to climb Mt. Rainier. They work well as a super lightweight and waterproof shell layer - not to mention windproof. Keep in mind these are a bare-bones shell - no lining or insulation. Also I know GoreTex is supposed to be breathable- but not really- so don't be surprised if you find yourself sweating up a rain forest inside. My biggest complaint is Pinnacle only had ankle zips. Let me tell you- it makes it so difficult getting the Pinnacle's over a pair of double plastic boots. The Pinnacle also had built in boot gaiters- but considering I was always wearing mountaineering gaiters over them I didn't need them. They did work well as over-pants- I could get them on over my softshell pants.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Hiking, Snowboarding/Skiing
    • Cons: Poor side zips, Poor Ventilation
    • Describe Yourself: On The Mountain
    • Gear Usage: Mountaineering
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Lightweight, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.