Mountain Hardwear Quark Jacket - Waterproof (For Women)

Closeouts. The very definition of lightweight, Mountain Hardwear's Quark jacket supplies top-notch waterproof protection with ZWeld fully sealed seams and a breathable Conduit® membrane.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kk from monterey bay on Friday, September 02, 2011
    This jacket runs small--even for an XS. This is especially true around the hips, which is where I am thin. So beware! WHile the jacket has some nice features, the overall fabric ends up looking like what you'd see on a shiny velour couch. Too creepy looking and feeling for me, even if it were not too tight everywhere.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Constricts Movement, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Warm, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jane from Nevada on Monday, March 07, 2011
    The jacket is very slimming at the hip. I originally ordered a small and it fit well everywhere but around the hips (it is a very narrow fit). I have other MH jackets in small and they fit fine. I decided to try a medium and found it to have enough room through the hip and not be too excessively bulky on top. As a size reference I am 5'3" and 125 lbs. I have worn the jacket sevral times and really like how lightweight it is and the color.
    • Best Uses: Hiking, Running
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Cons: Very narrow in hip
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Stylish, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Rainy Hiker from Sitka, Alaska on Tuesday, November 02, 2010
    The hood is too large and obscures view despite using all the adjustments. I haven't had this problem with past coats. The fabric is lightweight yet durable so if not for this major flaw I would love it. Nice weight for summer hikes in S.E. Alaska.
    • Best Uses: Hiking
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Temperate rainforest hike
    • Pros: Durable, Lightweight, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by reddirt from Pacific NW on Monday, November 01, 2010
    This jacket was designed for rock & moderate alpine conditions where minimal weight, maximal packability are most important. It is the jacket I keep in my pack for cragging, long trad & moderate alpine trips, spring through autumn. It is not ideal for downpours, torrential monsoons, nor downhill/alpine skiing. It would be ideal for high aerobic stuff such as running & XC skiing. I'm 5'8" 135lbs & wear a medium in this. Length & sleeve length are great for me. The hood is very large so that it can accomodate climbing helmets. What it lacks in glamour & burliness, it offers in lightweightness & packability. It has everything I need for its designed purpose & nothing I don't. I've been following this jacket since it hit the market. I think they're on version 2, which has slight aesthetic differences as well as a slightly different, thought still large-enough-for-helmet hood. I'm glad I was able to get this at STP prices.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Mild Alpine, Rock Climbing
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Albertine the carpenter from Sebastopol, CA on Saturday, August 21, 2010
    A little close - fits well, but I took it backpacking, and felt it was a little fragile. For that, it was wonderfully lightweight and did cut the wind. A little constricting over a polar fleece, and I ordered it large tho I'm often a medium.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Constricts Movement
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Windy beach
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Stylish, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Hiker Chic from Cambridge, MA on Thursday, June 24, 2010
    This is an interesting shell jacket. I like the silver color, and the lightweight feel to the material. It also seems less clammy than my gore-tex paclite shell, just trying it on. The pocket placement is great: right in between the standard "napoleon pocket" and handwarmer pocket height, so you can still use it for your hands, but a pack's waistbelt shouldn't be in the way. It does run a little small in the hip, but long in the arms (although the velcro cuffs hold the wrist in place), so I don't feel comfortable exchanging up another size. Otherwise I would size up to fit a bulkier layer underneath. The only thing I really don't like is the hood adjustment-- they tried to combine the depth and height adjustment into one cord that draws to the back of the head, so the depth is not independently adjustable. I kept trying to tighten the depth because the brim flops in my face, but instead the height was just pulling shallower and shallower around my face. Another solution might be to add in one more slide adjuster on each side in the normal position, to clip the hood height stationary. I will give it one field try, and if the hood drives me crazy, I'll just have to send it back.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Poor hood adjustment
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Hking
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by perubound from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, June 16, 2010
    Very lightweight and packable but seemed to be a bit small- normally a large but glad I ordered an XL so some clothing would fit comfortably underneath.
    • Best Uses: Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NW runner and dog mom from Seattle, WA on Wednesday, June 16, 2010
    I already had the non-hood version of this jacket and wear it running or walking nearly every day all year round. Like my first, this one is super lightweight and breathable, easy to layer under for cooler days or just wear a T under for warmer days. Love it!
    • Best Uses: Dog walking in the rain, Hiking, Running
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Rainy climate
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.