Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Scenic Route Dress - UPF 25, Sleeveless (For Women)

Closeouts. An hour or two longer in the car won't make a difference when you're wearing Mountain Hardwear's Scenic Route dress, set to see the sights with moisture-wicking, quick-drying and cotton-soft fabric.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews 3.307692 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by Fallen fiddler from Chicago on Monday, June 17, 2013
    Love this dress. Very comfortable.
  • Reviewed by Marathoning Mama from Massachusetts on Saturday, June 8, 2013
    I want to say glorious things about this dress, but....people are not kidding when they say it's tight in the chest. I am a scant A-cup, and while the rest of the dress fits like a glove, the top mashed my chest down like a swimmer's compression suit. Definitely size up if the option is available. I love the quality and the rest of the fit, but the design boggles me.
  • Reviewed by JLaw71 from Tennessee on Wednesday, May 1, 2013
    I'm a little disappointed in this dress. It is a great material and very flattering in the body, but the bust is a little tight for me. I do tend to be busty, but my other mountain hardware dresses fit perfectly. I think it's the way this one is constructed on top. I am a size 16 and order the xl in this brand and am always pleased. I'm keeping it and wearing it, but I'll probably wear a cardi or shirt over it as I feel a little obscene. Again, if you have a regular bust size the dress is beautiful everywhere else!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wolf Lady from Bellingham, WA on Sunday, April 15, 2012
    I was very disappointed when this dress arrived. I have never had a problem with Mountain Hardwear before. I bought the seafoam greenish colored dress. For starters it is see-through. The fabric was not what I was expecting, it was very rough for a dress, more what one might expect to be on MH hiking pants. The built in bra does not work! It is useless and they elastic for it, isnt even tight, it was super flimsy. Overall there was nothing positive about this dress.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear to School
    • Comfort vs Style: Comfort Driven
    • Cons: Light color is seethrough, Poor Fit, Useless built in bra, Weird fabric
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Nice Color
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Raivyn from SoCal on Friday, March 23, 2012
    It isn't easy to find a flattering, attractive travel dress in a wicking material that is also durable and lightweight and inexpensive. This dress from Mountain Hardwear fits the bill.

    The A-line cut is flattering (especially in black). The pocket with the hidden zipper is perfect for ID and credit card, plus a small lip gloss. The fabric wicks moisture, is very packable (though it will wrinkle), and holds its structure.

    It seems that the folks who say the fit is perfect are very slender. I purchased the size 12, and while the mid section fit nicely (not too snug and not too loose), the bodice gaped and the shelf bra had no support because it was too loose. I'm not the skinniest girl, but I'm not too small on top either (I wear a 34 DD).

    But that is actually quite easy to have altered. Because I got such a great deal on the dress from STP (thank you!) I was able to have it altered and still save $$ over retail. So for me, this dress had enough going for it that I altered it and now its one of my favorites.

    So totally worth buying and having altered if its not perfect right away - as long as you get it on sale.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Comfort vs Style: Comfort Driven
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Wrinkles Easily
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Fit: Feels too big
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Easy Care, Figure Flattering, Nice Fabric
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cochraa3 from Seattle, WA on Wednesday, March 14, 2012
    I really like this dress. It's funny that MHW named it Scenic Route dress, because it's so perfect for long Summer trips in the car, especially if you drive an old truck with weak A/C like I do. The fabric is light and airy, but keeps its shape really well when damp. The built-in bra is surprisingly supportive. Though this dress runs true to size, it has nearly no stretch to the fabric, so if you're in between sizes I would recommend going up - it's much more comfortable a little looser than skin tight. Great dress for camping/hiking/being out in the hot/humid outdoors; I wish STP had more colors!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Outdoor activities, Swimsuit Coverup
    • Comfort vs Style: Comfort Driven
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Dries Quickly, Easy Care, Figure Flattering, Nice Color, Nice Fabric
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by outside girl from Denver, CO on Wednesday, March 14, 2012
    I haven't worn or washed this yet, but it is really cute on. It is lightweight and has a light non-supportive bra inside, but will be perfect for summer. Not too short and is both cute and comfortable.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out
    • Comfort vs Style: Style Driven
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Hiker Chic from Cambridge, MA on Saturday, February 25, 2012
    This dress was weird. I was expecting more of a meryl-type stretchy microfiber, but actually it is more like a nylon shell fabric or like MH nylon hiking pant fabric. Also, while I am a 6/8, the 8 was too big in ways that I'm not sure sizing down would help. The bust area was too big and the shelf bra was not supportive. The twisted straps were just weird. The waist seemed to fit, but the swimsuit material belt was all curled up and seemed shoddy (exposed/ stressed stitching). Just no, all around.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Comfort vs Style: Comfort Driven
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Waist: Feels too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Erin from Denver CO on Wednesday, February 22, 2012
    Purchased it for my 18 year old daughter. She and I are usually a 4. Purchased the 6. too tight around chest. She did not like the fabric. I did not mind the fabric, but dress too small in chest on both of us.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Uncomfortable
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Easy Care, Nice Color, Wrinkle Resistant
    • Waist: Feels too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cheesetine from Gettysburg, PA on Wednesday, February 22, 2012
    Very cute dress, and I'm pumped about how this fabric will perform in hot summer conditions. My only beef would be that it's a bit short; it's a little shorter than tea length.

    Oh and if this helps someone with sizing (as I'm always perplexed): I'm 5'4", about 135, and a size 6 isn't too tight. There's extra room in the hips (where I carry my weight), and I'm glad I chose the six, because I think that if I had gone up a size the bust (where I *don't* carry my weight) would be too loose.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out
    • Comfort vs Style: Comfort Driven
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: Nice Fabric, Sporty
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2