Mountain Hardwear Snowtastic Dry.Q Elite Soft Shell Jacket - Waterproof (For Women)

Closeouts. With waterproof protection perfect for storm skiing, Mountain Hardwear's Snowtastic soft shell jacket features a Dry.Q Elite waterproof breathable membrane that's also ideal for backcountry climbs.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Reviewed by Still looking for a shell from California on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    This could almost be a perfect ski shell except for a few key problems. The cuff on the sleeve is very tapered even when the Velcro stap is open. Because of this, you can't wear your gloves under it which is typically what I do on wet snowy or rainy days. If it's really wet out and you have your glove over the sleeve, the water or wet snow melts and drips right into your glove. On a dry powder day, I do like my gloves over the cuff so that when I stick my hand in the snow (particularly if I'm snowboarding) the snow doesn't get pushed in. This jacket doesn't allow for that versatility- you basically have to wear your gloves over the cuff because it doesn't fit otherwise. I even have some short cuff spring gloves and it's a super tight squeeze even with hose and that with only one base layer under the shell. (It can get hot in California when your skiing in the spring!) if it were a cold winter day and I had to wear a few layers, the cuff would be too tight to fit all of that stuff at the wrist. The cuff also has a built-in over the thumb sleeve which is useless because it is too short to actually comfortably wear it that way. On to the hood- a miss once again. It has a nice stiff brim on top, but the hood doesn't come forward enough and it leaves your face and bangs exposed, especially if you have your hair in a pony tail. That's when the cinch cord on the back is at the loosest and that's how it should be if it were cinched right to pull it away from your face. The powder skirt only works if you stand straight up at all times. If you bend over to pick something up, like your poles, it rises up in the back above the waist of your pants. If it's a powder day and you actually fall, the powder would totally get down your pants. If you were snowboarding, forget it because you have to bend over just to put your bindings on. What the powder skirt needs is to have a stretchy strip across where it attaches to the jacket so that you could bend over without it pulling up. I really do like the fabric though. The breath ability and waterproofness are great, where it covers you. It was raining today and I still had to use an umbrella to keep the water off my face and bangs so it only keeps you dry wear it covers you. Overall, I would reccomend this jacket maybe for a hike if you don't care about the hood not protecting your face, but it really doesn't do what it should for skiing and snowboarding.
  • Reviewed by SMC from Portland, OR on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    I thought my approach was foolproof ...trying on the current Snowtastic model in store. But this jacket is cut different and smaller than it's current model counterpart. Model changes happen and this jacket would have been a keeper had it fit. This product is beautifully constructed.
  • Reviewed by Outdoor Family from Bozeman, MT on Tuesday, December 03, 2013
    I love this jacket! It is a shell, so it is meant to be used as a top layer. It's also nice on warmer days skiing so that I can peel off some base layers and not be sweltering. It seems true to size, and I can easily fit a couple of base layers and a thick fleece underneath and it zips easily. It's the perfect length and the sleeves are just long enough--I've found that a lot of other outerwear brands tend to be too short and the sleeves too short for me (I'm only 5'6"). I got it in the purple color and it goes great with black ski pants. Nice looking and functional! Looking forward to many years of use out of this one.
  • Reviewed by emarie624 from Wyoming ish on Monday, November 25, 2013
    Just recieved coat and LOVE it so far. The purple color is really attractive. Obviously haven't put it to use on the mountain, but can't wait. It's a very light coat and much more pliable and softer than I anticipated. Some of my other winter gear is so stiff, but this is really comfortable. Soft, fleece like material on the inside. The sleeves are a little long, especially when using the thumb-hole cuffs, but it's just extra protection against the cold and wet. I love the length of the coat so far - it's long enough for skiing, but short enough to wear on the street without looking like a teenage mountain bum - not that there's anything wrong with that.
  • Reviewed by Kendra from Minnesota on Monday, November 04, 2013
    This jacket is awesome! It is a little thinner than I excepted with the term "snowtastic" in the title, but its a perfect fall jacket, especially with a rain in the forecast.
  • Reviewed by telemama from eugene oregon on Saturday, November 02, 2013
    My husband and I both ordered men and women versions of this jacket. When I ordered I failed to notice that the women version was lacking the same specs as the men. It is a beautiful jacket but without the articulated hood and extra breast pocket of the male version. The women hood didn't even fit over my helmet! Sent it back and got the mens.

    Much nicer. That is the 2nd time I have purchased a mhw jacket and noticed the womens was just a bit inferior to the men. Whats up with that?
  • Reviewed by Mountain Momma from Portland ME on Tuesday, October 29, 2013
    I have not even worn this jacket yet, but I know it will be perfect for me and skiing, winter hiking, snow shoeing, running
    or anything I want to do this winter in New England. It has all the features I am looking for, the color is gorgeous, and the
    fit divine. Plus the price is unbeatable. I am 5'5 and 105 and the small is going to allow for base layers underneath. I cannot
    wait to wear this jacket more than around the house, it has plenty of flexibility and charm and I think Dry Q Elite is my new
    favorite. Wish they had pants to match.














  • Reviewed by Dave from Tahoe on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
    Bought this shell for my wife and she loves it. Sierra Trading Post had a better price than the Mountain Hardware Employee Store!!! She loves it we just need more fresh snow!!
  • Reviewed by AB from Washington on Sunday, March 10, 2013
    I was looking for a ski jacket with a liner. This jacket was just the shell.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SnowMountainsRiversGuy from Jackson, WY on Saturday, December 29, 2012
    I bought this for my wife to replace a 10-yr old Mountain Hardwear ski jacket, so hopefully this one will last just as long. It is stunning on her, and she says it is the "best breathing" backcountry jacket she's ever owned. It has great fit, lots of needed features like a removable powder skirt, generous pit zips, soft sleeve cuffs, tall collar, and a soft feel. The only thing we both agree on is the disappointing trend to have hoods be non-removable. We both like to ski with a pack, and often wish that hoods were removable so you only had to have them on for those really bad days. Otherwise, this jacket ROCKS.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.