Mountain Hardwear Stretch Typhoon Dry.Q Core Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Come rain or all-out monsoon, Mountain Hardwear's Stretch Typhoon jacket protects you with a waterproof breathable Dry.Q Core membrane, fully sealed seams and a lightweight, movement-friendly design that won't weigh you down as you're trying to outrun the clouds.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kootenaybob from Kootenays BC on Monday, May 26, 2014
    This is an outstanding value on a water proof breathable jacket. Extreme light weight and packs up super small.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gregdeb5 from arkansas on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
    Bought this jacket for use on backpacking trips and just around town when it is rainy. Was surprised at how light the jacket is, you can barely tell it is on!. Had it in the rain yesterday and water beaded up nicely. The hood is a little large and awkward, mostly because of the large bill that is designed for use over a climbing helmet. There are several adjustments on the hood that help tailor fit a little but I discovered that you can tuck the bill back into the hood and it corrects the fit issue almost completely. I have not tested toughness yet but if it passes that test it is a winner!
  • Reviewed by Stephen from Virginia on Tuesday, September 10, 2013
    I wanted something light and waterproof and this is the product. It is incredibly light and holds up to hard rain. Great Product.
  • Reviewed by Island hoppers from Puerto Rico on Saturday, July 20, 2013
    My husband is a cargo pilot in the Caribbean islands and he needed a breathable, moveable, packable lightweight jacket. He says it is perfect and exactly what he needs. He especially loved that the hood forms almost into a baseball cap fit so be can look both directions without hindered vision but still be protected. I was leaning toward a large, but thanks to another reviewers specs, I went with medium and it was a perfect fit. He is 5'11, 160 lbs and slender build. Very happy with this purchase.
  • Reviewed by Mean Dean the Hiking Machine from Inland Northwest on Monday, July 15, 2013
    I used my older model until the waterproof taping was peeling off. This replacement breathes better, moves better, and takes a good Alpine Northwest rain beating. Excellent deal, excellent product!
  • Reviewed by C0boy from Colorado on Wednesday, July 10, 2013
    So far so good with the Mountain Hardwear Stretch Typhoon Dry Q Core Jacket. Getting caught in the rain and having to hike with folding chairs and a cooler it never let me down. It's lightweight so I take it everywhere, it breathes well and the price was right!
  • Reviewed by ktmking from Oklahoma on Wednesday, July 3, 2013
    I had to return this jacket because of the hood. This hood was huge and had a giant bill on it. I played around with it and the only way I could make it work properly was by wearing a baseball cap under it. When I did this, it would hold the hood in the correct place and provide very good coverage.

    If you weren't wearing the hood (which will be most of the time) it was very annoying. A huge bill flopping around on your neck. The collar was also very tall so it looked stupid partially unzipped. Not to mention the hood adjustment cord would pop up in the air with jacket partially unzipped. I thought it would put my eye out.

    If that weren't enough, the pit zips were hard to operate. If for some reason you still want to buy it, the fit was somewhat slim and not billowy at all (which I liked). I am 6', 190 lbs, athletic build. Wear a 16, 34/35 dress shirt and the sleeves and body fit great. Just loose enough for a light sweater or fleece. I would need a large for heavy layering.

    Can't say anything for the waterproofing as I didn't use it. I went with a marmot precip size medium that fit great and had a normal hood. Pit zips were much easier to use as well. Much cheaper and worked better for me. If it starts leaking, I will just buy another.
  • Reviewed by joey bag o donuts from LI NY on Thursday, June 6, 2013
    This jacket is cut comfortably for a "stretch" jacket. It breathes very well, allowing the moisture to escape. Incredibly light and folds compactly into a backpack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by California Dreamer from San Francisco Bay Area on Monday, January 28, 2013
    My husband chose to order both this jacket, and the Mountain Hardwear Alakazam Dry.Q Elite Jacket, after reading multiple online reviews of several different waterproof jackets, from many different review sources. Both jackets got very high reviews, but he wound up keeping the Alakazam over the Typhoon because it fit him better overall. That is not to say the Typhoon isn't a good jacket, he just didn't need to keep both. The Typhoon is very well made with sealed seams and zippers, pit zips and an attached hood. It is not lined, and is cut roomy enough for under layering with a fitted fleece or thermal jacket, without being bulky. My husband is 5'6" and 155# with a muscular build and broad shoulders, and the size Medium fit him.
  • Reviewed by The Duck from Monona, WI on Sunday, January 6, 2013
    I have not yet worn the jacket it the rain, but it does a nice job as a winter shell over an insulating layer.
    As for fit, this jacket fits roomy. I am 6'4" and 210# and the large has plenty of room for layering a fleece or primaloft layer.
    The hood is very large, but I suppose that would be handy if I needed it to fit over a ski helmet.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.