Mountain Hardwear Thermostatic Vest - Insulated (For Men)

Closeouts. Designed for those cold, damp days when you don't need full-on waterproofing or heavy-duty insulation, Mountain Hardwear's Thermostatic vest features a core-warming, durable, weather-resistant ripstop shell, insulated with lightweight, low-bulk and compressible Thermic Micro insulation.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by urban dweller from chicago on Wednesday, April 09, 2014
    got the xxl and I am 6'3 250 and its pretty long and has a lot of excess material around the waist. nice looking vest otherwise especially for the dough but unless you have a long torso and a big gut and weigh 300 lbs this probably wont fit so well.
  • Reviewed by APA from California on Sunday, February 02, 2014
    Mountain Hardware usually fits a little large, and this is no exception. Only thing is that the length was larger than I had imagined. Still extremely pleased with the purchase. I am 6'0 200, and I think a large would have been better, but alas there is not one. Drawstring works fine though.
  • Reviewed by Ephblum from Amherst, NY on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    I bought this vest along with 3 others (Marmot Caldera, Marmot Variant, Ortovox Andermatt) as I recently have started wearing vests in the cooler weather while jogging/walking two large dogs. This one is probably my least favorite of them all, if only because I was looking to wear them all as outer layers, and this one seems to me to be more suited as an insulating layer. It is a surprisingly long length (I bought L @ 6'2" 180 lbs normally 56L euro suit jacket, 36W) and was probably 2-3 inches longer than next longest vest I purchased (all were L). It actually sticks out about 3/4" under my MHW Drystein II and is close to 2" longer than the MHW Zonal down jacket (recently purchased as well). I put it on and I really felt the longer length-for me it comes to about the bottom of the crotch when wearing dress slacks while others are more at the top of the side pockets. It works well as a layer under a full length parka, but I find it a little long to wear on its own. On the plus side, it is not bulky at all and if you do wear it under an outer layer it is very warm for the low bulk. I still give it 4 stars since the construction, quality, etc. is there, it is just a bit different than what I was expecting. At STP prices, I will keep it, but if I had paid retail it would have been returned.
  • Reviewed by Emohawk from Australia on Thursday, December 05, 2013
    Thin but warm sleeveless great for under my shell when skiing on those really cold days. Sizing appropriate.
  • Reviewed by get outside from NE Pennsylvania on Monday, October 14, 2013
    super light, good wind protection, acceptable warmth. This is by no means down, you should own one of each. It is great for windy days above 30. get down for dry cold days and synthetic for possibly damp days that are not too cold. Fit is a little large. 6' 200lbs and a large is a tad big but good for a few layers under.
  • Reviewed by Henri from Virginia on Tuesday, October 01, 2013
    I have a 40" chest, so the Medium is perfect for me, except the vest was entirely too long! I returned it because it came down to the bottom of the crotch of my pants. The drawstring around the waist is helpful, but it still looks funny. If you have a long torso, try it out, but otherwise it's not really worth it.
  • Reviewed by Marc from Missouri on Monday, September 16, 2013
    Awesome Purchase. Super Lightweight. Cannot Wait Til fall
  • Reviewed by JC from Knoxville on Monday, August 12, 2013
    I hate vests that are insulated, but really bulky. This one you hardly feel like you have on, except for the warmth you feel. MHW makes the medium a little longer than I prefer, but the sinch cord makes fixes that. I haven't worn it out yet, but this is one reason took forward to cooler weather!
  • Reviewed by FatBiker from Colorado on Friday, June 14, 2013
    It's way too big around the mid-section, and is a bit too long to wear under a shell without having to cinch it up, thus adding more bulk around the mid-section. It's either return it to go down a size, or order something different.
  • Reviewed by SDR from Wisconsin on Sunday, May 12, 2013
    Used this for the last 5 months of winter in Wisconsin. Great for layering as well as a stand alone vest over a SmartWool long sleeve or performance mid/light layer. Held up well to weekends of Winter camping, snow shoeing, sledding and skiing. Just be aware as the temps climb that this vest is not breathable. But for layering in cold weather or under a waterproof shell during a cold wet Spring- awesome performance
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.