Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Thermostatic Vest - Lightweight, Insulated (For Women)

Closeouts. Incredibly lightweight and compressible, Mountain Hardwear's Thermostatic vest has a water- and wind-resistant exterior for solo wear, and a low-profile fit for versatility as a mid-layer.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews 4.545454 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by northwest transplant from Washington on Wednesday, January 8, 2014
    I am a senior that likes to have a really nice vest to wear downtown or out o' town over my turtles for winter warmth. All I have had to do in temps from 20's to 40's is add a windbreaker jacket (like the Sherpa one from STP I've had for years) for full comfort. The insulation is warmer than my fleeces. They have a nice shape and fit (I am 5'9", a mature XL with broad shoulders). They are so lightweight that I could wear them to bed! Only con is maybe the color. It could be described as neon cherry red. This was perfect for the holidays!!!! This comment is the same for the green one. MH is one of my favorite companies for quality and I will be keeping my eye out for more producrs.
  • Reviewed by indiangirl from UP of MI on Monday, November 18, 2013
    Truly is light weight, runs true to size with enough room to wear a sweater under it. Pretty color of red.
  • Reviewed by CRMary from Colorado on Sunday, November 17, 2013
    I have this vest and the Patagonia Down Sweater Vest. This one is for slightly warmer weather and fills a great gap. It does run big. I would normally wear a large in MH products, but have the medium and it fits well. So, when buying, be sure to go down a size unless you plan to put bulky clothing under the vest.
  • Reviewed by the wanderer from north carolina on Friday, March 15, 2013
    nice fit, like the length, thickness, color
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by urbanbabyboomer from Boston, MA on Wednesday, February 13, 2013
    Attractive, city/travel vest that was a bit too short and too wide across the chest for me. I'm 5' 8" ; it was an issue of fit, not product that caused me to return it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Olygirl from Olympia, WA on Wednesday, February 13, 2013
    I bought this vest hoping it would be just the right piece of outerwear to wear over exercise clothes. A word of caution, it runs rather large. I ordered the XL and could have used a L or even a M. Unfortunately, I had to send it back. Loved the color, fabric, and overall "weight" of this vest. Great layering piece. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating was because of the sizing issue I had. Great products! Thanks STP!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DH skier from Pittsburgh, PA on Tuesday, February 5, 2013
    A useful layer for skiing hiking or dinimg out
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Beks from Boston on Tuesday, February 5, 2013
    I saw other reviewers on different sites that said this runs large for Mountain Hardwear so I ordered a small and it fits great (I typically order S or M, but according to the measurements I should have ordered a Medium).
    The black is a bit trash-bag like in color but not so bad. I can wear it layered under a rain jacket or on top of a sweatshirt for added warmth.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by quah girl from wa on Friday, February 1, 2013
    Looks just like the one from Patagonia that costs $150
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Love to ski and hike from East Bay, CA on Friday, January 25, 2013
    Because this vest is not puffy, I can wear it underneath other layers and jackets, which is great! It's hard to tell from the photo, but the vest is very thin and not at all like a down vest or puffer jacket. I've worn it over a thermal and under a jacket while skiing and it provided a lot of warmth. I've also worn it around town running errands and it's attractive enough to not look like I should be in the mountains. I got the Ruby color in size Small and I'm 5'7", 135 lbs.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2