Mountain Hardwear Trice Dry.Q Elite Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. A mountaineering shell that takes weather protection and durability to new heights, Mountain Hardwear's Trice jacket boasts a Dry.Q Elite waterproof breathable membrane for storm protection in extreme conditions.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Reviewed by VanMan from Vancouver, BC on Friday, March 7, 2014
    This is a good quality and well designed jacket like all other MH stuff I've ever owned. The cut is athletic so if you're used to baggy jackets this may not be it for you. I'm 6' tall and size M is good for me - the sleeves come down to the first knuckles. The jacket is wide enough to allow wearing a down jacket underneath for cold days.
  • Reviewed by Climber Billy from Seattle on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
    I have always been pleased with the quality products Mountain Hardware has to offer! When I saw this jacket on closeout, in a nice color, I bought it on the spot. It is light in weight, and has a well designed hood that offers great protection from the elements. It was a confident purchase! Exactly what I wanted, at a great price!
  • Reviewed by Paul from China on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
    The coat is good!But the shipping is terribel~~
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tom Navesink from NJ on Thursday, February 7, 2013
    Seems like a great light weight jacket w/ strong construction. Zipper caught at first. Maybe it's the water resistent design. It seems to be working ok now.

    Stiff constructions is probably very water shedding, but scratchy at the chin and neck
  • Reviewed by Chuck from Massachusetts on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
    Overall I like this jacket. It replaces a well worn EMS jacket that has seen better days. This jacket is lightweight, durable and well made for the most part. The blue color is also very nice. The jacket will be fine for most cold weather excursions in the north. I have worn it hiking, snowshoeing and around town. It might be too much jacket for summer use in most areas of the country except at higher elevations.

    There are two major faults I found with this jacket. First the jacket seems too small in the chest area. I can have no more than two thick layers underneath before it becomes difficult to zip up. Which limits it usability in deep winter excursions. Another issue is the zippers are terrible. I believe they will last but they are too small and narrow which makes it difficult to zip up pockets or main zipper with gloves. They also tend to stick at times when ice builds up on the jacket. I have never had this problem with the EMS jacket which had heavy duty YKK zippers. Granted this jacket is designed to be lightweight rather than heavy duty like my old jacket. Another issue is the jacket does not breath at all, compared to Gore-tex, without opening the underarm and pocket vents. While it might be wind and waterproof, condensation builds up inside the jacket which makes me sweat more. It Doesn't take much effort to start to sweat in this jacket. Like I stated before opening the vents will remedy the problem but with a downside of allow cold air inside the jacket. I would recommend this jacket to someone as long as they know about the issues with it.
  • Reviewed by allfieldnohit from Ohio on Monday, December 3, 2012
    I bought this jacket for it's layering capabilities and it fits the bill. I can wear it over a shirt in the summer as a rain jacket or as an outer shell over fleece and down jackets in the winter. You can cinch down the hood to your level of desirability. The hood is big, which is good. I wear other hoods under it plus a baseball cap. The brim is wide and bendable.

    The rain/snow will not get in unless you want it to.

    The supposed big deal about this jacket is it's breathability. New technology has led to a material more breathable than gore-tex. This remains to be seen by this reviewer. What I can tell you is this: I sweat in gore-tex and I expect to sweat in this. How's that for keeping it real? I expect the pit-zips to help a little in that area.

    I'm 5'11" 170lbs and I bought a large. This works for me. It's big enough to layer over a base layer, a fleece and a down jacket. Perfect. However, it's not so big that it looks baggy over just a t-shirt. The arm length is perfect also and my arms are a little longer than normal. My suggestion is to buy a size larger than normal if you plan on using it for layering.

    The zipper tends to get stuck around my adams apple. This is the only con but could be perceived as a pro because the zippers have been treated with some sort of polymer to keep the weather out. Kinda like you see over tent seams, only better. For that reason the zipper tends to snag at that certain point. Not a deal breaker.

    It does add warmth as the outer layer, but not much. It's not supposed to. It's supposed to keep you (and your down) dry. It's outstanding in that task.

    The MH Trice is a quality made and rugged jacket. I expect it to last many seasons.
  • Reviewed by Omar from Highland, CA on Thursday, November 8, 2012
    The only good thing about this jacket is the breathable QDry Elite material, in my opinion. Fit is poor, sleeves not long enough, handwarmer pockets too low to access with backpack hipbelt on, chest pocket too small and slanted so the contents may just slide out. In tried other MH Qdry Elite jackets namely the Drystein (extremely tight, even for a skynny guy like me <130 lbs 5'6" in size SM) the Ampato was comfortable but heavy and too bulky with the mesh lining, not practical for stashing in a pack. No wonder you could find these previous generation MH jackets for about 50% off or even less on the web. Considered the Jovian but read similar reviews about it and didn't like the available colors to even bother. I've tried Gore-Tex paclite jackets, too clammy and simply don't breath well(Patagonia Supercell-stiff,noisy, too baggy, giant hood: Marmot Minimalist- more supple but not waterproof zip with small flap over it, not ideal hand-pocket placement; Arcteryx Alpha SL Hybrid, great design just clammy and stiff). Gore-Tex Pro - Patagonia Super Alpine -bombproof, stiff, noisy, - overkill for my level of activities. eVENT - breathable, supple (Westcomb Cruiser LT (pitzips) and REI Kimtah (no pitzips) - both too roomy and not ideal handpocket placement with pack on. Gore-Tex Active - breathable and soft feel (Outdoor Research Axiom, athletic fit may be a little snug for some, poor handpocket (mesh lined) placement with pack on and awful hood design, overall not impressive design) All above jackets I was able to find discounted sub $300 on the web. In the end I settled for the Arcteryx Beta FL Gore-Tex Active for over $300 with coupon - very light and packable, soft, athletic fit with ample room for midlayers, longer sleeves, perfect pocket placement for use with pack (only 2 pockets total), outstanding hood design. Could use an interior pocket and Maybe pitzips, but nothing is perfect. This is one high quality jacket with meticulous attention to detail. My first Arcteryx Jacket ever, I'm delighted in spite of the more bucks I had to shed, hope it's very durable
    • Best Uses: Travel
    • Cons: Bulky, Poor design, Poor Fit
    • Pros: Breathable Fabric, Great Color
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by commuterguy from Maryland on Monday, October 22, 2012
    Great jacket. Everything about jacket was PERFECT.

    The hood. Yikes. It was so pointy because of excess material my wife laughed... I had to forcefully pull the hood down on my head...WOW. Never saw anything like that.
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trixie's Mom from Brookline, MA on Friday, September 28, 2012
    I bought this jacket for my husband for his birthday, and he loves it. The quality is outstanding: the seams are all sealed and even the zippers have a cover of sorts over them to prevent water from coming in. We have had several rainy days recently, and the jacket has been completely waterproof. It is also light weight, nice looking and very comfortable. And the price was great. My husband is usually a medium, and the medium fit him perfectly.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Great Color, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joe Hiker from Oregon City Oregon on Thursday, September 27, 2012
    This is a great and very breathable jacket at an excellent value.

    Stop sweating inside your jacket with awesome breathability.
    • Best Uses: As A Breathable Shell, Hiking In Oregon Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, WATERPROOF
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.