Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Wagner Gene Jeans - Organic Cotton, Recycled Materials (For Women)

Closeouts. Ready for a day of errands or hanging out with friends, Mountain Hardwear's Wagner Gene jeans feature dark-washed soft organic cotton and stretch comfort.

Average Rating based on 16 reviews 3.187500 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by Loggers Wife from Oregon on Wednesday, November 6, 2013
    Before I bought these I read all the reviews and they were very mixed. I took matters into my own hands and made the decision the buy them and unfortunately they didn't work for me. They fit great but I felt a bit bound behind the knee from the stitching. It was an easy and quick return as it always is with Sierra Trading.
  • Reviewed by annie m from SC on Tuesday, September 24, 2013
    I had already purchased these in a SZ. 12 and the waist band was too big. I liked the material and the style so I reordered them in a SZ. 10. The SZ. 10 was too small. I am sending both back.
  • Reviewed by cabaer from AZ on Tuesday, July 9, 2013
    These jeans are great! Fit really well and look cool. I had to shorten them a little bit (I am 5-4 and wear a 12 in these). The drawback: contains 35% or more polyester. As far as the waist goes: I ordered three same size. Two fit great and one was 4(!!!) inches wider at the waist. My guess is that is what some of the earlier reviews are talking about. But with STPs excellent customer service they took those back with free return shipping. Happy with my good two pairs.
  • Reviewed by Sailor Heidi from Maine on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
    These are well made jeans, but the design is problematic. The waist is very large and the overall length is short. Rather than send them back I am going to put some darts in the waist.
  • Reviewed by Skier Mom from Colorado on Wednesday, May 15, 2013
    These happily just happen to fit me! On me, MH clothes seem to run small. I generally wear a 2 or a 4, ordered the 4 and they fit great, though they do kind of grow oven the course of the day. They're low rise so work well on my short waist. I still have the good old gap at the waist, but I almost always do, and these are not as bad as some. I like the even dark wash. It's nice to not have whiskering. The only kind of odd thing is the stitching at the back of the knee.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pondo from Boulder, CO on Friday, February 15, 2013
    The first pair I ordered based on the size chart were too big in the waist. As usual, the exchange was easy with STP, and the new jeans fit great. They are not long enough to wear with heels, but perfect for low boots.
    The reinforcement on the back of the knees is kind of strange, but doesn't detract from the design.
  • Reviewed by What oh what shall I wear? from Indiana on Tuesday, November 13, 2012
    These jeans are perhaps for a specific build...mine? I love them to pieces and the gussets in the crotch and behind the knees mean a snug fit without uncomfortable binding or a "practical pants" look. So I'm wearing the 8 right now. FYI, my natural waist is 28.5 in. and my hips are 40 in., and I've got the curvy big booty, full thighs, hourglass shape. The low rise top on these jeans hits about 5 inches below my natural waist. I can comfortable bend over without exposing myself in the back and a good wide belt will make the top even more secure. On me the waist hits right at hipbone level.

    The jeans do taper toward the knees quite a bit, which means your thighs will have that encased look...looks sexy to my eyes, but there's no binding! That is the magic of these jeans. It quickly loosens to a moderate bootcut at the bottom. It is definitely not bootcut verging on flare, but just enough to balance curviness.

    The other reviewers are spot on about the inseam though. At first I was thinking 34 is a regular? makes no sense. I didn't measure it, but it does shrink upward quickly after a few washes. I think I might get the tall on my next pair. I'm only 5'6". You may be out of luck if you are really tall.

    The fit and comfort improves a huge amount after a few washes. I've also had the 12's and the 16's as I've been losing weight. I loved those and found them very flattering. In the larger sizes I HAD to have a belt on, or the jeans would literally work their way off. My husband had quite a laugh watching me walk around in the first pair before I figured out the belt :-). I've passed along my 12's to a more pear shaped person, and they fit her nicely too.

    Hope this helps!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Bargain Shopper, Casual, Classic, Eclectic, Sexy, Trendy
    • Inseam: Feels too short
    • Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality Denim, Holds Color Well, Stylish
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Boris' Mom from San Leandro, CA on Friday, November 9, 2012
    I don't have any jeans right now, and just wanted a pair to have, seeing as though jeans are warmer/thicker in winter than the khakis I have been wearing. Also, this way I don't have to wear long underwear or leggings underneath.

    I DO have a thicker waist (read muffin-top) when I wear the low-rise pants, but I find them more comfortable than being cut in half when I sit down by my pants, like most fit me. SO, I figured I would try these.

    Other factors: I'm 5' 3 1/2 " 118,120 pounds. I usually wear size 3 or 1, and chose size 2 since only even sizes to choose from.

    Bottom-Line: I WAS HAPPY, except for the falling zipper issue, so will try to exchange.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Special Occasions
    • Describe Yourself: Bargain Shopper, Casual
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality Denim
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rosa from upstate ny on Wednesday, March 21, 2012
    these jeans look attractive before you put them on and find that the waist is really big and they fall so low on your hips that they would expose your butt the minute you bend down in them.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: High Quality Denim
    • Waist: Feels too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by WV Mountain Gal from Wild Wonderful,WV on Tuesday, February 7, 2012
    I love them. Caution the waist is at least one size too big. I like Prana Boyfriend jeans and these fit similar to them in the waist. Plenty long, neat knee design, good quality. I bought the Yuma pants as well. I had to size down in both and I rarely take a size down in sports clothing. - It was not because I got skinny!
    • Best Uses: CASUAL WEAR
    • Cons: Waist is big
    • Pros: Great Color, Love fabric, Recycled, Stylish
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2