When survival comes down to the durability and reliability of your gear - as it does for Mountain Hardwear's sponsored athletes - Mountain Hardwear delivers... with products that battle the elements and ensure a safe return to the trailhead. In 1993, four people from outdoor gear industry leaders (including The North Face and Sierra Designs) came together with a common mission: "To become the number one, authentic outdoor equipment company in the world." Ninety days later Mountain Hardwear introduced the Exposure Parka and Sub Zero Jacket. These innovations (a ... Learn more about Mountain Hardwearnd many more) were so sparked by individual passion and experience that Mountain Hardwear quickly earned the trust of hikers, climbers and skiers... and won awards for its apparel, tents, sleeping bags and backpacks. Mountain Hardwear pioneered cutting edge technologies like Gore® Windstopper® fleece and Gore-Tex® XCR®, incorporating them into performance gear that functions as well as it looks and fits. A superlight tent for fast-packing minimalists, a subzero-rated down sleeping bag for serious alpinists, or a water-resistant soft shell for the weekend warriors, Mountain Hardwear has the hardware needed to survive the mountain! ... Less
Average Rating based on 18731 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 1871 »
  • 1-10 of 18709 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anna from Michigan on Thursday, July 10, 2014
    I just received this jacket in time to wear to the 4th of July fireworks, it was a very chilly night in Michigan. (I froze). This is a nice light weight jacket. I thought it was going to be warmer, but it should work nicely for layering.

    When I ordered this jacket I went against my gut instances and ordered a size smaller per Sierra Trading’s recommendations, I got the first jacket and it was too small I could only get a t-shirt on under the jacket. I exchanged it for a large and now I can get a sweatshirt on under this jacket. Thanks Sierra Trading for working with me & exchanging so quickly.

    Not sure if you can see it very good in the pictures, but this jacket is fitted around the waist kind of like a corset cut. I haven’t had a chance to wear it with a sweatshirt on underneath. I love the shade of red, not to bright or orangish/red, the only thing I don’t care for is the purple lining around the wrist & your neck.
    I’m not sure why clothing mfg.’s make a nice simple jacket then always add a third or fourth color that clashes with the clothing. The sleeves are long enough for me, I have long arms & the sleeves come just below my wrists, it has 2 zip outside pockets, 1 inside zip & 2 deep pockets that do not zip, but are on the inside of the 2 outside zipped pockets. The back of the jacket is about an inch or two longer than the front, so it hangs just below your waist.

    I normally wear a large jacket so I can get a sweater or sweatshirt on under, I would recommend ordering your normal size if you like to layer. If not then I think you could get away with a size smaller.

    I am giving this jacket 4 stars only because I don’t care for the purple lining and & thought I was getting a warmer jacket then what I did. But I am going to keep it for layering. Also I would watch for a good sale on it.
    Good luck with your jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PA Jim from Olympic Peninsula, WA on Thursday, July 10, 2014
    Great design, lightweight, roomy, stable in the hard wind of the ocean coast, waterproof even in a heavy hard blowing rain, and our packs out in the floorless vestibule stayed dry as well! Amazingly there was no wind in the tent during a storm even though the walls are made of mesh, and there was no noticeable condensation inside after that, only some slight dampness on the outside of a sleeping bag where it was pressed hard up against the lower fabric wall - a very well designed tent and rainfly indeed! The 2 full width gear lofts (one at either end) and the 8 corner pockets are great for keeping small gear easily accessible at night. Plenty of room for two and their boots and misc. gear; you could easily fit 3. After a forest critter chewed on our stuff out in the vestibule one night, we kept the packs inside with us after that; it makes things a bit more cozy but certainly do-able. 3 people and their packs could fit inside but only if they were well under 6' tall, but the vestibule is perfect for packs, even in a storm. The doors are easy enough to use; you just have to have the zippers at an easy to reach spot for quick entry and exit. I have an artificial knee and cannot kneel on it so I was concerned how well I'd do. Either laying on my back putting one leg out at a time, or doing a very low standing crouch - getting in and out was easy enough! Set up was easy; the instructions are clear and the design makes for an easy intuitive set up. By the second night one of us could set it up alone, but it is easier with two. At about 8 lbs. it was easy to carry and fit nicely in the compression straps on the side of my pack, or crosswise under the top flap.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PA Jim from Olympic Peninsula, WA on Thursday, July 10, 2014
    I used an external frame pack for many years. I took a 15 year hiatus from backpacking and now that I am retired I decided to get the gear out of the attic and take it up again. The old pack had gotten moldy so I bought this new internal frame bag. It is a new concept for me and when it arrived I was unsure whether it would carry all I needed it to. I loaded it up with 40 lbs of gear for a 4 day ocean coast hike and it performed flawlessly. The first two days the tent was on top under the flap and the sleeping pad was lashed to the back. Then I figured out the tent and the sleeping pad fit into the compression straps on the sides, which made for an easier carry. When I didn't use the trekking poles they fit perfectly into the very handy special attachments on the back that looked like they were designed to carry ice axes. I didn't have a compression sack for my old sleeping bag so I loaded it first into the bottom and fit things around it. I now have a compression stuff sack so that will make for a lot more room. The adjustable padded shoulder straps with the chest strap made for an easily customizable comfortable fit, and the padded hip belt made the whole thing easy to carry. The back pocket is large and handy for the 'needed on the trail' items. I like the pull cord top closure - it forms a tight seal that I couldn't even get a finger into. The removable top flap with the zipper pocket covers the top, and the top sealed up so tight under it makes for more security from the elements and small critters. I also snow shoe in the winter months and this pack will serve my needs for that as well. With all the attachment loops I'll be able to carry my snow shoes, poles, etc. It was comfortable to carry and was stable even when I had to do some minor 'mountain climbing' up and over a coastal headland at high tide. It was so steep I had to use the provided ropes to pull myself up and lower myself down the other side. I had to do a lot of twisting and leaning hard to the side to do it, and the pack held to my body like a glove and I never felt 'off balance' because of it. My old external frame pack would have been throwing me off balance for sure in that kind of situation. Very glad I made this purchase!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Min from Tucson, AZ on Wednesday, July 09, 2014
    These are cute and super-comfortable. As others have noted, they hit just below the knee (I'm 5'4"). The stretch and the lower pockets make them well suited for climbing. I'm glad I took the time to go through the returns process and get the right size... but that certainly was an issue. Mountain Hardwear's sizing is notoriously inconsistent, particularly for pants. I own another pair of MH pants in a size 6, so when I read the reviews here I ordered a 4. Nope. Ended up in a 2, and they're not tight. As a point of reference, I wear size 4 in American Eagle and J.Crew-- maybe that will help somebody get the right size on the first try!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NJWookie from New Jersey on Wednesday, July 09, 2014
    These are my new favorite casual and hiking pants. Well built. Great fit. And tough fabric. After a few wears and time on the trail they seem to come clean too. The built in belt is nice if your pack normally rubs on your belt/back. This feature gives these pants a nice clean fit. Lastly the length is good and maybe a little longer than advertised. I ordered the 34" length and I am really a 35" inseam and these work great for me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NJWookie from New Jersey on Wednesday, July 09, 2014
    A great pant if you a looking for a very lightweight hiking/climbing pant but the fit on the lean side. If you are skinny or just like a closer fit this may be perfiect for you. For me the fit was not right and these were returned.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gonzocg from northern ca. on Tuesday, July 08, 2014
    Bought this mostly for hiking as I wanted sleeves for bugs and sun. The fit was very nice-not too tight but not a bag-nice shaping. It was lightweight and cool and did a good job wicking- I sweat a lot, The price was awesome and it if had additional UPF it would have been the bomb. Great price. I ordered the large which fit nicely for a 36b 5'7'' middle aged woman.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rock Climber from Ohio on Monday, July 07, 2014
    Very light weight and compressible. Rolls into a snug bundle, which when tied (did not use mesh tote bag it arrived in- to reduce size) can be strapped/buckled onto backpack without being uncomfortable to carry. 32 degrees will be fine for winter although this bag has only been used over the Fourth of July weekend thus far. Partially unzipped, it kept me warm on a cool night and I did not wake up wet from due or humidity. Received eighth place rating on online review rankings which I researched before purchasing, but sleeping bags with higher ratings were $300-$400. For the price, this is a functional, compact, and warm sleeping bag which I am totally happy with.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AlabamaSue from Alabama on Monday, July 07, 2014
    Bought this is in the beige plaid and just love it. This is a very lightweight flannel fabric with a slight stretch and is very soft. Very versatile - it can be worn as a jacket layered over a t-shirt, or wear it on its own. It is definitely fitted which makes it more fashionable and less like a dumpy flannel shirt. If you wish to layer over heavier pieces, I would size up. I'm a typical size small and a size 6 worked out great for me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rocket from Honolulu on Sunday, July 06, 2014
    While it is shorter than I expected at several inches above the knee on my 5'8" leggy frame, the medium fits perfectly on my 145#, waistless figure. The teal was all that was left, and I'm surprised by how much I like it as it seems to go with everything. The fabric has almost a houndstooth look, so it isn't solid teal. Anyway, great casual skirt.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 1871 »
  • 1-10 of 18709 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;