Customer Reviews Of:
Mountainsmith 0°F Crestone Sleeping Bag - Synthetic, Mummy

Closeouts. Whether the crescent moon rises on a clear night or a cold, unexpected storm rolls through, you'll be prepared with Mountainsmith Crestone sleeping bag. It's designed with exclusive Mountainloft Hollowfiber insulation for warmth in temps as low as 0°F.

Average Rating based on 60 reviews 4.333333 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 6
  • Reviewed by Mike from Minnesota on Sunday, June 5, 2016
    I purchased this in early spring to use for a scout camp out the last weekend in April. Both nights the temp dropped to 32-34 degrees. Stayed nice and toasty. Going to use it on a SD week long trip in July and 6 days in the BWCA in late August.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by G Gordon Liddy from Minnesota on Wednesday, September 2, 2015
    I bought this tent for my wife in preparation for some late fall and early winter camping we plan to do along the Superior Hiking Trail and the BWCA. It's a very well made product and preliminary testing indicates it generates and maintains good warmth. It rolls up and fits into a neat cinch sack with several tie downs like most modern quality bags do. It's rated for 0 degrees, but it's barely noticeably larger than my 35-degree Marmot. Still, we wish it was a tad smaller so it could fit horizontally rather than vertically in my wife's Gregory Deva 60. Overall a great sleeping bag.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jackie from Colorado on Saturday, July 4, 2015
    My husband and I have been out and about in the mountains most of the summer since this purchase and I am in love and super cozy in this sleeping bag!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bsb from Ithaca on Tuesday, January 6, 2015
    Nice bag, a bit bulky but is as described.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Holly from Alaska on Friday, August 29, 2014
    After freezing my butt off in Denali last fall, I realized my old 20 degree bag wasn't going to cut it. In preparation for my upcoming return trip, I purchased this 0 degree bag. It has not been outside, so I can't speak to the temp. rating, but I'm sure it will be great. The price can't be beat - well, it can, but reviews of cheaper bags indicated that they would be a few POUNDS heavier. I spent a few extra bucks for this bag and it seems well worth it. The colors are great. The insulation puffed up after only a minute of being unrolled and it's well-distributed. This Alaskan will be a happy fall camper again!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by B-Rock. from New Mexico on Thursday, July 24, 2014
    When this bag arrived I immediately opened it up to take a look. The first hing I noticed was the smell. Synthetic bags initially have a chemical smell and they need to be aired out. So that is what I did, and after two days the smell was completely dissipated. The second thing I noticed is the quality of the craftsmanship - all seams are in order and the bag appears to be made of quality materials. I have not taken it out yet, but I am looking forward to doing so when the temperatures begin to fall.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Montana Fly Fisher from Montana on Wednesday, July 23, 2014
    I used this bag for camping in Montana. I intended to buy a sleeping bag that I could take on overnight hiking trips but it's bigger than I thought. The places I want to hike to still have snow in July and it gets cold at night even in the summers but I don't know if I want to pack this bulk around the wilderness. I don't expect to use it in 0 Deg. F. The sleeping bag kept me very warm in 40 degree weather. The zipper always catches on the material without fail so if you get up in the night and you are freezing your butt off, you will be cussing up a storm trying to zip it back up in the dark with the zipper catching every couple of inches. Other than that, it seems well made. The compression sack is nice also.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kilimanjaro Bob from Missouri on Thursday, June 26, 2014
    I needed a new sleeping bag for a climb of Mt Kilimanjaro and the Crestone seemed ideal. I have. Not yet checked it out at 0 degrees yet, but it is extremely comfortable. The hollow fiber insulation is a technology achievement.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoor Girl from los angeles on Wednesday, April 9, 2014
    haven't used it yet, but bought 2 based on reviews.
  • Reviewed by Haney from West Virginia on Monday, February 3, 2014
    I bought this bag for my trip to Mt. Rainier coming up later this year. They recommend a 0 -15 degree rated bag when summiting in September. I had the perfect opportunity to try it out during the recent "Polar Vortex" so I put up my tent out back in the snow on a -2 degree night with a 10 - 15 mph. wind. I did not have my sleep pad so I had to throw down another lighter bag for insulation from the ground.
    I wore a pair of non-insulated dry fit pants and top and a pair of smart wool socks. I did not have any issues other than my feet got a little bit cold in the middle of the night when the wind was hitting the foot side of my 1 man backpacking ten. Then again, they were thin socks and the wind was whipping up against the edge of the tent where my feet were resting. I thought it more than did the job especially given the ridiculously low sale price I got it for.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 6