Mountainsmith 0°F Crestone Sleeping Bag - Synthetic, Mummy

Closeouts. Whether the crescent moon rises on a clear night or a cold, unexpected storm rolls through, you'll be prepared with Mountainsmith Crestone sleeping bag. It's designed with exclusive Mountainloft Hollowfiber insulation for warmth in temps as low as 0°F.

Average Rating based on 55 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 6 »
  • 11-20 of 55 reviews
  • Reviewed by High Meadow Girl from Telluride, CO on Wednesday, June 05, 2013
    I am so glad I chose this bag. It was warm and comfortable, although I did not test it outside. I needed to sleep in a house without heat, where it was in the 30s and it worked great. I can see using this in the future for camping. It compresses nicely in the sack.
  • Reviewed by West Seattle Mom from Seattle on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
    Got this bag for my 12 year old as he is growing like a weed and has camping trips planned. It keeps him warm without him overheating. He is even using it at home because he tends to kick off covers and wake up cold. He took on one trip already and it worked great. The compression bag works perfectly. Love everything about this bag.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JW from Boonies, PA on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    Good bag if you have the right gear to keep it dry.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Canyon Kid from Tempe, AZ on Monday, January 07, 2013
    Very warm, might actually be comfortable at 0 F (I have only used it down to about 15 F). It probably won't fit you if you are 6'4". I am 6'3" and pretty thin at 160 lbs and this bag is very snug on me in terms of the length.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hanging in the Trees from Rexburg, ID on Monday, December 17, 2012
    I'm using this bag to hammock camp in the cold. Slept out in it the other night on my hammock. The temperature was 25 F. I was very comfortable. I also own the Alps 0 degree bag. The Mountainsmith is lighter, packs smaller, and is of better quality. Both are good bags, the Mointainsmith is just better.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sleepercell from Arizona on Tuesday, September 25, 2012
    Great Sleeping bag. Cant wait to try it out this fall. But now Sierra Trading is emailing me like four times a day with specials. Man, take it down a notch. Your like some crazy ex girlfriend with the emails. Just tone down the specials a bit.
    Like maybe an email or two a week would be normal.
    • Describe Yourself: Environmentalist
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hoback Adventurer from Jackson, WY on Monday, September 24, 2012
    Picked up this bag for VERY good deal on Sierra and was a little cautious cause I didn't know the brand. After seeing it reviewed by Backpacker magazine and the online video from Sierra I went with it and am glad I did. This bag is VERY warm and cozy with extra room. I am shorter so can't speak to the length bought have broad shoulders and chest (5'6, 180 lbs) and had extra room for getting comfortable. Packs a little large and took some extra effort getting into my pack but didn't seem to add any weight. Don't roll it back into the stuff sack stuff it in, kinda how it works. Used this on a 4 day, 40 mile trip in the Tetons in mid-September and never once was even remotely cold. Went through a river and got it somewhat wet in the afternoon, dry by evening. Great bag, very impressed with the quality and can't beat the price. Only con is it pacs large but plan around that and you're fine.
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Backpacking, Car Camping, Cold Conditions
    • Cons: Packs Too Large
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Roomy, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pat from Victoria, Australia on Thursday, September 20, 2012
    Purchased the Mountainsmith and the ALPS Mountaineering 0 degree bags at the same time. The Mountainsmith packs smaller, is lighter, but just as warm. Has snag free zip also. Both are excellent purchases for winter camping in Australia, but the Mountainsmith quality is just a bit better (especially that anti-snag zipper). Also very impressed by the speed and quality of service I received from Sierra Trading Post. Thanks!
    • Best Uses: 4 Season camping, Backpacking, Cold Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Packs Small, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Duke Nimoy from Colorado on Monday, August 27, 2012
    The bag seemed fine, but I really didn't get a chance to test it. Spent a little more on this since it came with a compression sack, which lasted about 30 seconds when I was testing it right out of the box. Two of the 4 strap locations ripped as I was compressing the bag; poor materials and inadequate stitching were obvious culprits. Briefly tested the bag in my living room to check the quality; it seemed fine but didn't get much of a workout. Sent it back for a Kelty bag that was lighter and of better quality, and went to the local outdoor store for a compression sack.

    Like I said, the bag seemed fine; just don't expect the compression sack to meet any expectations to justify the extra $20 of expense over other products available via STP.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Cons: Compression sack
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Not Your Real Name from Portland, OR on Wednesday, May 02, 2012
    As others have already written, this is a good bag for campers who aren't planning to go backpacking. It's warm and packs pretty small. The only drawback is that the zipper is a little sticky.
    • Cons: Zipper Snags Easily
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Packs Small, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 6 »
  • 11-20 of 55 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.