Mountainsmith 0°F Crestone Sleeping Bag - Synthetic, Mummy

Closeouts. Whether the crescent moon rises on a clear night or a cold, unexpected storm rolls through, you'll be prepared with Mountainsmith Crestone sleeping bag. It's designed with exclusive Mountainloft Hollowfiber insulation for warmth in temps as low as 0°F.

Average Rating based on 57 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 57 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bsb from Ithaca on Tuesday, January 06, 2015
    Nice bag, a bit bulky but is as described.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Holly from Alaska on Friday, August 29, 2014
    After freezing my butt off in Denali last fall, I realized my old 20 degree bag wasn't going to cut it. In preparation for my upcoming return trip, I purchased this 0 degree bag. It has not been outside, so I can't speak to the temp. rating, but I'm sure it will be great. The price can't be beat - well, it can, but reviews of cheaper bags indicated that they would be a few POUNDS heavier. I spent a few extra bucks for this bag and it seems well worth it. The colors are great. The insulation puffed up after only a minute of being unrolled and it's well-distributed. This Alaskan will be a happy fall camper again!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by B-Rock. from New Mexico on Thursday, July 24, 2014
    When this bag arrived I immediately opened it up to take a look. The first hing I noticed was the smell. Synthetic bags initially have a chemical smell and they need to be aired out. So that is what I did, and after two days the smell was completely dissipated. The second thing I noticed is the quality of the craftsmanship - all seams are in order and the bag appears to be made of quality materials. I have not taken it out yet, but I am looking forward to doing so when the temperatures begin to fall.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Montana Fly Fisher from Montana on Wednesday, July 23, 2014
    I used this bag for camping in Montana. I intended to buy a sleeping bag that I could take on overnight hiking trips but it's bigger than I thought. The places I want to hike to still have snow in July and it gets cold at night even in the summers but I don't know if I want to pack this bulk around the wilderness. I don't expect to use it in 0 Deg. F. The sleeping bag kept me very warm in 40 degree weather. The zipper always catches on the material without fail so if you get up in the night and you are freezing your butt off, you will be cussing up a storm trying to zip it back up in the dark with the zipper catching every couple of inches. Other than that, it seems well made. The compression sack is nice also.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kilimanjaro Bob from Missouri on Thursday, June 26, 2014
    I needed a new sleeping bag for a climb of Mt Kilimanjaro and the Crestone seemed ideal. I have. Not yet checked it out at 0 degrees yet, but it is extremely comfortable. The hollow fiber insulation is a technology achievement.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoor Girl from los angeles on Wednesday, April 09, 2014
    haven't used it yet, but bought 2 based on reviews.
  • Reviewed by Haney from West Virginia on Monday, February 03, 2014
    I bought this bag for my trip to Mt. Rainier coming up later this year. They recommend a 0 -15 degree rated bag when summiting in September. I had the perfect opportunity to try it out during the recent "Polar Vortex" so I put up my tent out back in the snow on a -2 degree night with a 10 - 15 mph. wind. I did not have my sleep pad so I had to throw down another lighter bag for insulation from the ground.
    I wore a pair of non-insulated dry fit pants and top and a pair of smart wool socks. I did not have any issues other than my feet got a little bit cold in the middle of the night when the wind was hitting the foot side of my 1 man backpacking ten. Then again, they were thin socks and the wind was whipping up against the edge of the tent where my feet were resting. I thought it more than did the job especially given the ridiculously low sale price I got it for.
  • Reviewed by James from Minnesota on Friday, January 03, 2014
    Field tested this just for a few hours at about 17 degrees and discovered no problems (and no zipper issues)... so I believe it will perform as expected in actual long term usage.
  • Reviewed by walt from nc from Smokie Mountains NC on Friday, January 03, 2014
    Bought but not used in cold weather. Love the warmth and feel. Only drawback is the fit. I'm a big guy with 50" chest.. Bag was very tight and not use to it. Everything else was perfect. Great for day hikes long hikes or for car camping for added protection. Bag backs well and light. For a smaller person this would rate a Five star . I would give this a 4.5 star because of fit. 4 inches wider would have made this bag perfect for me. enjoy
  • Reviewed by Justin from North Carolina on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    I ordered the Mountainsmith 20 degree and 0 degree bags for my wife and myself. This was after I ordered the ALPS echo lake bags, but returned them because they could not pack down small enough for my liking. These bags pack down much smaller, and seem to be of better quality than the ALPS bag.

    I opened up the 20 degree bag first, and it seemed great. I haven't been camping in it yet, but, after testing it out in the backyard for a while, it seems like it will be very warm. The zippers are nice, and I have plenty of room.

    When I opened the 0 degree bag, I thought it was going to be great too. Once I looked at the bottom of the bag, though, I realized that there was a hole where the seam was coming loose and the fill was coming out of the bag. Not just a little hole either - Probably about 3-4 inches across.

    I figured this would not be a problem and I could just exchange it for a different bag. But when I contacted STP about exchanging it for a new one, they said they were out, but I could look at a similar product such as the ALPS echo lake (see first paragraph). So, we have decided to try to stitch it up. I'm very disappointed in the customer service of Sierra Trading Post. I figured they would at least offer to refund some money or give me a discounted rate on another bag, but it doesn't look like that's going to happen. I doubt I will be buying from them again.

    So, overall: the bag seems warm, packs down small, and is roomy enough to be comfortable. It would be great if I could get another one that wasn't damaged right out of the box. I would rate the bag itself at 4-stars, but STP customer service at 1 star.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 57 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.