Mountainsmith 20°F Redcloud Sleeping Bag - Synthetic, Mummy

Closeouts. From Mountainsmith's Performance Series, the Redcloud 20°F sleeping bag features MountainLoft hollow fiber synthetic insulation for an unbeatable warmth-to-weight ratio.

Average Rating based on 44 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 44 reviews
  • Reviewed by Seth from Spartanburg, SC on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    I spent my first night out in this bag over the weekend. Temps fell to in the 28-32 range. In base layer, and merino wool socks, this bag performed very well on top of a 3/4 length ridge rest. The chest baffle sets this bag apart as it traps the air your body has heated inside the heating compartment and blocks new unheated air from entering. Many 20 deg bags at this price point lack this feature. My experience was that the minimal amount of recirculating air caused the same air to be warmed by my body heat all night, which resulted in me being warmer in the morning, when air temps were cooler, than I was when I first crawled in. I expect this bag would be comfortable at or below its state 20 degrees given proper layering, but I can imagine being miserable in it later this spring.

    Great loft, good zippers (top zipper smooth, bottom zipper locks well then zips smoothly). Stuff sack is REALLY small, but compresses well and stitching/buckles seem to be high quality. It lives in the included cotton sack when not in use. I am rating this bag based on my needs--a spring/fall bag that will typically be packed for 1-2 night trips less than 5 times/year.
  • Reviewed by topsailscout from NC on Monday, February 3, 2014
    I am 5'11' 190. It is a little snug around the shoulders and hips for me, but when I got in it, I was nice and warm. I gave it to my son to use on a camping trip and the temps got down to 10 degrees. With a fleece blanket over top, he was warm and toasty all night. No complaints.

    It is a bit hard to get back into the compression sack, but fits back in the cloth sack that comes with it no problem. It would be a bit bulky/heavy for back-packing, but perfect for car camping.

    Very impressed, never used Mountainsmith before. Would definitely recommend.
  • Reviewed by Gunks girl from New York on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    This bag seems wonderful! It's super warm and very comfortable - lots of great features and very ergonomic. The only downside is that it does pack a tiny bit bulky, but not TOO heavy. For the price, a VERY good bag - you won't find a bag this cheap that packs down much smaller. The compression sack works well to help. Overall, great buy!
  • Reviewed by Travis from Northern Wisconsin on Monday, November 25, 2013
    Great bag, A little tight at the feet but that's my only complaint. Everything else about it is terrific. Warm, well made- glad to have it on those cold nights.
  • Reviewed by PacNW Hiker from Washington State on Monday, November 4, 2013
    Like the first one I bought so much I bought a second one! Loaded with features and reasonable weight and compressibility for backpacking. Materials have a comfortable feel against your skin. Good shoulder and head room, but a little narrow through the hips and legs.
  • Reviewed by Festival Fan from North Carolina Mountains on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    I have purchased three of these bags now and they work very well in 30-40 degree temps for family car camping events.
  • Reviewed by RefriedBeans from Parks, AZ on Monday, May 27, 2013
    This is a warm bag and fit me great, I'm 6'0 and 200lbs. Only complaint is it doesn't compact down for backpacking, this is a car-camping bag but for the discount price it's worth it for just that.
  • Reviewed by Philmont Ranger, 1995-1996 from Texas on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
    I will be using this bag for my Philmont Trek this summer. My old North Face Cat's Meow had lost its loft and had some zipper damage and I knew it wasn't going to cut it during the cold nights and mornings in the Sangre de Christo mountains. The weight is good, the bag is warm and well made, and it compresses down nicely. I purchased this bag using one of STP's MANY, MANY discount email promos and ended up spending $71.04 including shipping. You can't buy a Coleman bag at Walmart for less than $35 and this bag is miles apart in quality, warmth, packability, etc. Excellent deal on a great synthetic loft bag.
  • Reviewed by NOLS Alum from Appalacians on Monday, April 1, 2013
    Good quality bag, though is heavier than advertized. I was weighing it, and it weighed in closer to 3.8lbs. (more like 3 lbs 13oz or something) Nice material though. Also, doesn't pack as small as would hope. But has a great feel to it.
  • Reviewed by MobyRuns from The Alamo on Monday, March 25, 2013
    Just used this bag in the White Mtn Wilderness of Lincoln Natl. Forest. Kept my wife warm to just below 30F on first night. However, mummy drawstring broke upon application. Sending back because of this. Doesn't pack too small, so not the best pick for backpacking as we were, but might be a steal with coupon code for car camping. Don't expect the greatest quality, however.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 44 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.