Customer Reviews Of:
Mountainsmith 20°F Redcloud Sleeping Bag - Synthetic, Mummy

Closeouts. From Mountainsmith's Performance Series, the Redcloud 20°F sleeping bag features MountainLoft hollow fiber synthetic insulation for an unbeatable warmth-to-weight ratio.

Average Rating based on 54 reviews 4.148148 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 6
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Intothemountains from Washington on Monday, August 22, 2016
    For the money, you can't beat the quality and comfort. This isn't a bag that you want carry on the PCT. it just weighs too much. For a one or two night back pack it's perfect.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DWH from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, August 10, 2016
    A very nice sleeping bag for the price
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiking family from Ohio on Monday, July 4, 2016
    The bag is a great value--warm, great colored, quality cinch sack. When cinched down, was a little bigger than I was wanting for summer backpacking, but very doablable and would provide warmth for fall/spring backpacking. Pleased with the value!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Thomas from Washington on Monday, June 6, 2016
    Sleeping bag is very warm but lightweight. Rolls up into a compact bundle that fits nicely on a backpack.
  • Reviewed by Creams from East Coast on Tuesday, December 22, 2015
    I used this bag for the first three or so years I got into backpacking. Sleeping bags are historically one of the most expensive pieces of gear, so I chose to upgrade to a lighter option as a last priority, focusing on saving weight with other gear first. As a result I took this guy on a lot of different trips and used it to the lower limits. Close to freezing temps definitely push the limit, but with some good base layers on this girl really can handle close to 20 degrees - especially with a bag liner. When it's not cold out this is just a really solid bag - I would say you aren't going to find something that is objectively better in all aspects for under a $230 or so. The mummy design is always an acquired taste, but really necessary to keep warm without a hat and doubles as a good place to shove some extra clothes for a makeshift pillow. Overall I'm really pleased with this bag - yes it is hefty for backpacking but the extra shaved two pounds and couple degrees of warmth that come with a $450 bag aren't needed if you're getting started and just doing weekend trips. Highly recommend
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Sacramento on Sunday, June 28, 2015
    Since the bag is synthetic, it is given that it does not roll up to a compact size similar to a down bag. It does come with a compression sack, but it only compresses it down an inch or so, not making a big difference. I was a bit disappointed when the package did not come with a cloth sack like it said it would. If I had received that sack, I would have rated this 4 stars instead.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Austin from Virginia on Tuesday, February 24, 2015
    Haven't had the chance to get out and use it, but it is very comfortable and fits me (5'10") perfectly.
  • Reviewed by Joe in STL from Missouri on Monday, November 3, 2014
    I purchased 3 of these for use by the kids for car camping. Their el-cheapo bags that they use for sleepovers, etc were not warm enough when the temps dropped into the 40s. With the discounts, these were a great buy. We've used them several times now from temps in the 50s down to freezing and have been warm each time. When it dropped to freezing, I did find that I had to keep it zipped up to really stay warm. The bag is cut fairly big, so the when the kids used them our youngest (age 7) had to kind of fold over the end so that there was less dead space but that worked out decently well. The cut of the bag is pretty big. I'm 6 foot, 200 pounds and I was able to wear a jacket inside the bag with no issue at all. If you want a more snug fit, this bag is not for you. I do think it would be even warmer if it was a bit less baggy. This bag is not really for backpacking. I did pack them in on our last short trip, but the bag is both bulky (even using a stuff sack) and heavy. But for camping they work just fine. the zippers work fine, although there is no zipper guard so you can still catch it on the bag. The fabric seems tough enough and would hold up well over time. The stuff sack that comes with the bag is only ok. I'm guessing the stuff sack will not be able to stand up to years of use. But I bet the bag will be ok. We have a couple of older Cats meow bags that are comparable to this bag, actually, and this bad is 1/3 the cost of a cats meow. It's big and heavy, but I found it to be a comfortable bag that is a great value.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alex from NC on Friday, October 10, 2014
    It's been quite a long while since I've purchased a new sleeping bag, and am I ever so glad I did! It's beyond words amazing. I've only had the opportunity to use it once since purchasing it a month ago, but I am totally hooked on this bag. It happened to get slightly wet and still kept me warm! I would recommend 100%
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tall Backpacker from California on Friday, October 3, 2014
    This bag is much less expensive than others which popped up on the website alongside it. I have now had a chance to test it in cold conditions, and it kept me toasty warm. I was somewhat concerned about dimensions (length, since I am 6' 4" tall and the website gave no specs that I could see re length), but it is just fine for a person my height. It is less bulky than my previous bag, and reducing bulk on backpack expeditions was my primary motivation to get a new bag.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 6