Mountainsmith Bugaboo Backpack

Closeouts. Day hikers and world travelers will find Mountainsmith's Bugaboo backpack bursting with external carrying options, and an internal framesheet and comfortably padded shoulder straps make carrying heavy loads a breeze.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Reviewed by Customer Care from Eldorado Springs, CO on Thursday, July 25, 2013
    The pack seemed well-made and sturdy. However as with many Mountainsmith products, the design seemed a little quirky, while still being perfectly functional. Overall, the pack was too heavy, which was seemingly caused by the internal framesheet which weighed a ton, and was too bulky and dug into my back a little bit. If I had decided to keep the pack (I have lots of packs, so a new pack had better be pretty superior) I would have removed the internal fromesheet and replaced it with something lighter and more flexible. I have used cut-up snow-sliders for this purpose before. I am an inveterate fiddler with designs and almost any product I get I will mess around with to make it work a little better. Maybe Mountainsmith will hire me as a designer (hint, hint :-))
  • Reviewed by Westie from Portland, OR on Wednesday, July 17, 2013
    This Bugaboo is a great backpack if you like "old school". It is made of durable canvas and has straps for just about everything. When I pulled it out of the box, I thought I had received equipment left over from the 80's. I was disappointed that it did not have a side pouch for a water bottle, and the padding in the back led me to believe that it would be quite hot in the summer. I decided to return it and went for a day pack made of ripstop nylon with some venting in the back.
  • Reviewed by cps from nevada on Saturday, July 13, 2013
    too bad they are discontinuing this backpack
    a little small but does the trick
    nice for airline travel
    nice handle for carrying
    good harness system
  • Reviewed by mcalloway from North Carolina on Monday, May 13, 2013
    These packs are just as durable and stylish as they have been for the last 20 years. Love this product for 1,000's of uses!
  • Reviewed by Dan Grosboll from Olympia, WA on Sunday, April 7, 2013
    I've had my first bugaboo since the early 90's and have used it as a travel pack, backcountry skiing pack, hiking day pack, ultralight backpacking, hauling rock climbing gear, and several times to train for and take the arduous wildland firefighter "pack test". It can carry 50 pounds without breaking a sweat and poles, skis, snowshoes, ice ax, raingear and ropes all attach well to the outside. Only flaw I've noted is that the outside pocket sometimes gets opened by the way the compression straps pull. I'm buying another.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by madchemist from burlington vt on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    I've owned a Bugaboo since 1996. This pack rocks and I take it everywhere I go. I liked it so much that when I saw them on Sierra I bought two more. Not that my pack needs replacement, but one for my wife and one for my son.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tone Def from Alabama on Tuesday, October 23, 2012
    Looking forward to using this pack on the Appalachian trail.
    • Best Uses: Day Hikes, Travel
    • Cons: Not Enough Pockets
    • Describe Yourself: Outdoor Professional
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Hiker from Evansville, IN. on Saturday, October 13, 2012
    I have 5 mountainsmith packs of different sizes and I love them all. They are very tough and well made and very,very comfortable to carry. I carry a mountainsmith lumbar daypack with strapettes every day.
    • Best Uses: Day Hikes, Light Loads, Travel
    • Cons: Not Enough Pockets
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CBRogers from Yorktown, Va. on Saturday, August 11, 2012
    I bought this for my Daughter as she is starting her life with Girl Scouts. I think that it will be a great starter pack for her.
    • Best Uses: Childs Pack, Day Hikes, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good for smaller load, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hiker from Cody, WY on Tuesday, July 31, 2012
    Very good backpack. I would like more pockets for the important little stuff.
    It is definitely for men, or rather taller people find it comfortable. For the women in my family the lower strap is too low on the hips and the upper straps are not comfortable on the shoulders.
    • Best Uses: Day Hikes, Extended Hikes, For taller people, Heavy Loads
    • Cons: Not Enough Pockets
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good well padded straps, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.