Mountainsmith Celestial Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Mountainsmith drew on their backcountry knowledge to create the Celestial tent, a versatile, 3-season performer featuring Yunnan aluminum poles that provide 25% more strength than titanium poles.

Average Rating based on 92 reviews 4.336956 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 10
  • 1-10 of 92 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nick the Nomad from Tanzania on Tuesday, January 5, 2016
    Size is great. Easy to set up. No footprint, but planning to use a small, lightweight tarp. Rainfly looks good. Excited to try it out in the summer!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiking Mike from Arkansas on Tuesday, November 24, 2015
    This is a great two man tent. I bought my first one and when it arrived it was raining so I set it up in my living room and liked it so much I bought another one. I have used them both recently on a hike on the Cossatot River trail in Arkansas. I like that it has two doors one on each side so that your not climbing over someone getting in and out of the tent. Super easy to set up and take down. I bought both of mine on sale, you just can't beat the tent for the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John Salewicz from Indiana on Thursday, October 8, 2015
    This is a wonderful 2 man tent. Easy to set up, easy to take down and light. I bought for my son to use for scouts I like me it so much I bought one for me. He set it up by himself and he's 8!
    It rained hard for hours right after set up and it stayed dry! The train fly covers the entire tent. It was cool and it was warm and cozy

    I would highly recommend this tent and will buy mountainsmithproducts
  • Reviewed by hayrikki from Norcal on Wednesday, August 26, 2015
    This is a good tent for the money. medium weight (not for ultra light packers) Sets up quickly. Tent stakes are like most tents in this price range, a little flimsy. Will bend. PLENTY of room for a bigger guy plus gear. I am 6'3" and could stretch out. 2 people, pretty snug.. Vestibules are small, but there are two of them. Will hold boots and a small pack in each one.. The two doors are very convenient. Nice big D doors. Zippers are good, material seems good as well. The two big pockets by the door can be used for holding the door open or putting gear in. Nice attic comes with it. There are 2 vents that can help with lessening condensation and getting fresh air in. They are located on the top ends.
    I took the tent out in the Uninta mountains in Utah for a week. Fit nicely in my Dana Design pack. The tent held up to some strong winds, 25 -30 mph gusts. I did have jt guyed out. The reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is it leaked some when it rained. It rained very hard for 3+ hours. The rain may have come through the vents, not sure.(I was sleeping most of the time it rained.) It was a small amount but still annoying. I am resealing the tent and will keep vents closed and test it for leaks later. This was the only con to this tent.
    It was priced right, $83.00 with a STP coupon.
    Botom line: It did leak but may have ben my fault with not closing the vents. Excellent price ,great for a 1 man tent if you don't mind a bit more weight. Well constructed. I would recommend it for a one person tent.
  • Reviewed by Sunhammer from The Pacific Northwest on Tuesday, August 25, 2015
    Me - - - - - - - - - - - -Solid outdoors-man. My pack weighs in at 40 pounds so ultralight is not for me.
    Mountainsmith Celestial Tent - - - 4.5 stars rounded up
    Where Used - - - - - Lower Mt. Hood, Pacific Coast, and Eastern Oregon High Desert.
    TLDR - - - - - - - - - -Great Tent. Well sewn, good materials, reasonably light, a little cramped.

    As stated, I don't run ultralight and have no problem sloggin a 40 pound old-school external frame pack out into the bush. If you are one of those people who are counting every ounce then this tent is Not for you. But, this thing really isn't that heavy either. It is way lighter than "other cheaper brands" and is a reasonable backpacking tent if you are willing to give a little on your weight restrictions. BUT, only you really know what you need in a tent.

    Around here, typically a lot of rain so not having total mesh sides is a plus when the wind is blowing. The rain cover has two "vents". I have seen a couple reviewers complain about rain blowing in thru the vents. Simple.... close the vents. If the wind is hurricane and moisture is still blowing in somehow stick a sock in it.

    The materials are excellent. The YKK zippers are whisper quiet which is something you don't get even on a Eureka tent. The aluminum poles are very strong. The tent body is made from light but durable materials. Despite that I highly recommend getting or improvising a footprint. I am lead to understand the Mountainsmith Morrison 2 footprint works with the Celestial tent. One camp the only place to pitch the tent put the edge of one bolder under one corner of the tent, and another at the opposite corner. I did a lot of worrying for nothing as the tent floor did fine and I didn't crack my head in the middle of the night either.

    The tent is listed as two person, and like any other two-person tent from any Brand, this means you better be ok snuggling that other person and keeping most of your gear outside. The length is great though. However, me and my dachshund and a lot of gear sprawled out like it was a resort. No sleeping diagonal in this tent. The vestibules under the rain fly are very small. A large pack like mine needs to be right up against the tent on it's side or something is sticking out.

    The gear loft is two mesh sacks sewn bottom to bottom which is really, really smart. There is a dual pocket at one end and then on each side the pockets intended to hold an open door can be used for gear as well.

    The bag is large as some have pointed out. I assume this is to allow for a footprint. I kind of like not having to fight the tent into a bag but am thinking of getting a compression sack anyway. Hard choice as it fits just fine on my pack. If it bothers you a really cheap alternative is just get some webbing and some buckles and make your own compression straps.

    Over all, this is a really great tent. Really well built, and despite what some say the weight really isn't that bad. A perfect tent for that niche between car camping and ultralighting.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JohnMT from New Hampshire on Thursday, August 20, 2015
    Easy set up. Good length, door size and ceiling height. Narrow, but not too much so.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Emma the backpacker from Chicago on Monday, August 17, 2015
    I think the product is great! It is very easy to set up. I haven't taken it out on a trip yet. I was hoping it would be a little more compact, as I will be using it for backpacking, but the jury is still out
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mister J from Oregon on Wednesday, August 12, 2015
    My son and I used this tent on a short backpack trip the day after we received it. It is light for a 2-person tent, VERY easy to set up, and has great ventilation. The zippers worked great, and the fly kept the cold wind out well. The best thing was its length--we are both rather tall (6 feet +) and we actually fit! The seams looked good and overall construction appeared to be good. We didn't have any rain, so can't speak to its waterproof abilities, but the fly seams certainly looked well sealed. Take down was quick, and it packs down small and easy to pack. We look forward to getting out with it again!
  • Reviewed by Opal from Denver on Saturday, August 8, 2015
    I picked it up from UPS on my way out of town and took it out of the plastic bag it was shipped in just at dusk on the first night of a car camping trip. No matter, it was easy to set up. By the time I got the dogs fed, me fed, sleeping pad, bag and dog beds inside, it was dark. Ditto that routine for the next two nights of the trip, so I suppose it was inevitable that it took me until the third night to find the gear pocket on the side. I had found the gear loft, with it's "flashlight" hole the first night. That would have been very handy had I remembered a flashlight. But, it worked just fine with the iPad set on top of the loft too.

    It wasn't till I got home that I figured out some of the other tent features. There are three side gear pockets, one has two slots. There are velcro wraps to hold the fly to the poles. I like that you can use either side of the tent as a door. The rain fly can be put on, the door openings on the fly rolled to the inside and fastened, the top half of the door unzipped to create a large screen window, and one can see outside on one or both sides. It would be very easy to reach from inside the tent to unfasten the fly if weather blew in during the night.

    The size was perfect for me and the two dogs (one13 pounder and one 30 pounder). I'm almost 5'4" and I can lay inside with the tips of my toes and the tips of my fingers touching the two far walls. There was plenty of room for my carry-on roller bag, the two dog beds, and a little duffle bag.

    I didn't experience any weather, but it seems that if a person used all of the possible stake options on the rainfly, it would be pretty water tight and wind proof. Buy extra stakes. Sierra carries them. You would want 12 if you maxed out the staking options available and it doesn't come with this many.

    Overall, nice little tent for one person. It seems light enough for backpacking; but, I'll use it primarily for car camping. I've very pleased.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Camp Host Jimmy from Maryland on Tuesday, July 7, 2015
    I've been staying in this tent for almost three weeks straight now (I'm camp hosting for a month). It's water tight, packs small, light weight, and I was more than happy with the price I paid for it. The only issue I had was with the tent stakes - nearly all of them bent and then snapped where the groves cut for the tent's loops meet the stake body after their second use. I wassss using a hammer to pound them into a normal/small gravel mix BUT the replacement stakes I used did hold up to the same use without any trouble. That being said, I've had a lot of tents and usually expect the included stakes to be a low quality.

    I've been staying in it alone but there's enough room for two inside if you don't have a lot of gear/keep most of your stuff in your car or between the tent and fly. Also worth noting, I'm staying in an area on the windward side of a rain shadow (meaning we get rain 4 or 5 days a week) and the fly has kept the inside perfectly dry. I've been impressed. I haven't had it for very long, but it's held up great so far.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 10
  • 1-10 of 92 reviews