Mountainsmith Dog Pack - Small

Closeouts. Sized for spaniels and terriers, this dog pack has Mountainsmith high-performance features; it allows your best friend to tote water, food and accessories with ease.

Average Rating based on 111 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 12 »
  • 1-10 of 111 reviews
  • Reviewed by MCat from Bend OR on Sunday, February 02, 2014
    I really was excited when this came in the mail. But I ended up having to return it. Because the front clasp was broken. Bummer.
  • Reviewed by Larissa from Bay Area CA on Tuesday, January 07, 2014
    It took some treats to get my boy to walk around with it, but now he loves it! I have a 50lb shaggy beast of a dog. He LOVES walks and loves this pack. I bought the small and it fits him perfectly.
  • Reviewed by Working outside from Colorado on Tuesday, September 24, 2013
    This pack works great to carry stuff. However, it is advertised as having a D-ring to attach a leash to. The D-ring is plastic and the pack is not built to withstand pulling against a leash. The first time I tried it with my dog as soon as she pulled on her leash the clip on the front strap pulled apart and she pulled right out of the pack, leaving me holding it along with her leash. It's a good thing there was not a dog near us or I would have had an injured dog and a lawsuit on my hands. Do not attach a leash to this if you have an aggressive dog who pulls or it will be a major liability. I have to use a dog collar for leash attachment and still use the pack for carrying items but the leash and/or collar tends to get stuck under the pack. To summarize-this could have been made better.
  • Reviewed by Kathleen from Indiana on Thursday, August 29, 2013
    I am hoping my dog will come around to this product, it just seems too big for him. I ordered the smallest size, but it still slides and the second belly strap an pulled the tightest it can go. He is a Bassett hound mix weighing 40 lbs. We will keep working on it, both he and I the adjustments, to hopefully find a way to use it comfortably.
  • Reviewed by Ashley from Massachusetts on Thursday, August 08, 2013
    I bought this pack for my 52lb cattle dog mix to wear while hiking in the Adirondacks. It fits him well, and the pack remains stable on his body, even in rugged terrain. The fleece covers ensure that the straps don't rub at his skin. Even though the pack is spacious, it's not unwieldy - a high quality pack at a great price!
  • Reviewed by Horsing Around from Colorado on Tuesday, August 06, 2013
    A good size! Make sure to pack the most fragrant snacks if you're trying for your dog to smell edible to the mountain lions and bears ;) MADE IN COLORADO. Sweet.
  • Reviewed by Corbin D from Salem Or on Thursday, July 11, 2013
    I bought this pack for my Huskey/blue Heeler mix. She is about 45 pounds and it fits great. It stayed balanced on her back the whole 10 mile trip without issues. I believe I was more excited than her that she could carry her own food, water and a toy. There was even room for some of my food too! I would buy a size smaller than you think, I read the other reviews and they were right on. There is a lot of adjustment as well to go larger on the straps.
  • Reviewed by Bonedalearchitect from Carbondale, CO on Thursday, July 04, 2013
    I've owned 3 of these in different sizes and used them with several dogs for many years. Just bought a new one for my new BC pup. Size small works for my 38 lb borders and fits just fine. They've updated the straps and strap holders in the last few years and now they're even better, no dragging loose ends. Only downside is I think the small size has rather tiny compartments for a 40 lb dog, but they are big enough for a day's treats and their dog food. I have the size #2 (can't recall if it's medium or large) that I used with my 75 lb dog for years and that pack and size was perfect. For my current dogs, the small size does allow them to hike easily without having huge saddlebags protruding, though, so that's good. No quibbles about the design or construction, they have proven to be very durable and well detailed and, while definitely not waterproof, occasional splashed water does not soak the contents. Balance and ability to not shift around is very good. Best pack I've found so far.
  • Reviewed by Orcacorn from Oregon on Tuesday, July 02, 2013
    This is a sweet little pack. I wasn't really sure how it would fit, but it has good adjustments and fit's my 35# border collie mix really well. It must sit on her well too because she's never worn a pack before and when I put it on her, she looked quite comfortable.
  • Reviewed by Weekend Hiker from New York on Saturday, June 22, 2013
    This pack is well made with one exception. The chest strap is very weak. It released several times during the first and only hike I brought it to. So much so in fact, the hike was cut short and I ended up carrying it. I suppose if I changed the front strap it will no longer be an issue, but I shouldn't have to do that.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 12 »
  • 1-10 of 111 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.