Mountainsmith Eclipse Backpack - Internal Frame

Closeouts. From weekend backpacking trips to minimalist backcountry treks, Mountainsmith's Eclipse backpack does it all. The molded back panel keeps air flowing for cool comfort on long hikes, touch-fasten lash points keep trekking poles handy and exterior sleeping pad compression straps free up space inside the pack.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Reviewed by Tim from Ohio on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    While I haven't used it yet, other than fitting it and walking around the house, I did want to put a review in as it really does wiegh in at 3lbs 8oz on the button. It seems very heavy duty and I'm looking forward to years of use. Lots of adjustability and a very simple pack. Great deal at this price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ryan McPhail from Tennessee on Sunday, June 1, 2014
    This pack is a killer deal! For less than a $100, you get a pack that is just as good as a pack twice as expensive. I've used this pack for multiple overnight and weekend trips and each time it served its purpose exceptionally well. For more experience backpackers this would even be a great pack for a thru hike. The best part about this pack in my opinion is it's design. There aren't a ton of pockets and extras that just get in the way. Most modern backpacks tend to be more complicated then they need to be. The side pockets that are made for carrying water bottles can actually carry a lot more than that. I was able to stuff a rain shell in there and still have plenty of room. The side access zipper is convenient if you want to access something at the bottom of your pack without unpacking everything else. The pack has plenty of adjustment and compression straps. The lid can even be detached if you want to go even lighter. It's very comfortable and can be adjusted for a small or large torso. Overall I am impressed by the value of this pack. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced hiker, this pack won't disappoint you.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jordan from Kentucky on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    Perfect for weekend trips. Holds everything I need!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Idaho Hiker from Idaho on Sunday, May 18, 2014
    Well built - light weight. Like anything, pick any two: Light - Durable - cheap. Seems to be a great addition and alternative to my Monster external frame pack which i use 1-2 weeks at a time. Great for the long weekend get away
  • Reviewed by Caboose from MT on Wednesday, May 14, 2014
    I don't like to leave reviews on equipment based on non field tested first impressions, but I thought it was worth an early note to others interested in this pack that it is in fact more along the lines of 3.8 pounds than the 4 pounds, 12 ounces in STP's product description.

    I suspected as much looking at the (much higher priced) identical backpack on REI's outlet and through backpacker magazine's old review and rolled the dice ready to deal with either one and was happy to find the lighter number to be true. I unfortunately do not have a digital scale so I can't be very exact, but my old postal scale puts it right at 3.8 lbs and the antique spring scales I have agree.

    Now, BASED ON INSPECTION ALONE, I have to say this pack looks pretty rugged. I am really surprised at how much better the materials and stitching are compared to the North Face and Kelty packs I've been looking at locally. Would not hesitate to buy again, and that's not really accounting for the price.
  • Reviewed by Adventure Rider from Indiana on Tuesday, May 6, 2014
    Ok, I am not an avid hiker, but I was looking for a backpack that would fit nicely on my motorcycle. I enjoy going for a ride and just getting lost in nature. Sometimes I end up in locations that do not allow me to take my motorcycle all the way to where I want to camp. I was looking for a backpack to replace the large duffle bag I normally store my gear in. The Mountainsmith Eclipse Backpack fit the bill perfectly. It is light but durable. I have easy access to all my gear through the side zipper and the top opens up nicely to let me pack all my gear in. The straps are comfortable and cinch up well. The waist pockets allow me to access water and snacks quickly. Who knows, I may some day become an avid hiker because of this pack. For the price and quality, you can't go wrong with this backpack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Peter Rock Climber from New Mexico on Saturday, May 3, 2014
    Great pack! Killer price, This pack fits my size very well. It is light weight and is well designed. Nice waist belt and shoulder straps,not too many gizmos that will break and add weight. I have other Mountainsmith packs that have served me well. I have been looking for a pack sized between my climbing sack and large backpack. This will work well for overnight rock climbing trips or backpacks. I have owed and used lots of packs over last 40 years this one will be one of the best.Thanks Sierra and Mountainsmith!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Massachusetts on Friday, April 25, 2014
    I bought this pack for one of my first weekend hikes with a group of friends. The pack was a great size for one night of camping. I was able to carry all of my gear/food/water with some room to spare. The design made carrying the somewhat heavy load much easier, and was comfortable on the 4 hour verticle hike we took.

    I would definitley recommend this bag to someone looking to start hiking more frequently. It served me well for my hike, and I plan on continuing to use this same bag as I collect more gear I may need.
  • Reviewed by walkhikerun from Pennsylvania on Monday, March 10, 2014
    I am planning on going a 2-3 day backpack adventure later this year and we spotted this pack on sale and it looked pretty good. There was a good review on YouTube for this exact pack and it got good remarks.

    Yesterday was the first time I used it. We went on a 15 mile hike in the woods and I had probably 15 pounds of stuff in it. Once I got the straps adjusted properly it was very comfortable. I like the side pockets on it for easy access to items. I used my CamelBak bladder in it as well. After about 6-7hours of hiking with this pack my back/shoulders feel just fine.
  • Reviewed by Avid OutdoorsDude from Indiana on Monday, February 3, 2014
    I am not in a position to rate the performance of this pack yet, as it has only been filled with 10 lbs and strapped to my back for Dog Walks the past week, but it's first great adventure will be Peru in May, so I will update then!

    Quality seems solid, the pack has plenty of room for minimalist backpacking, and it isn't filled with all types of extra compartments and zippers for me to lose stuff in!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.