Mountainsmith Eclipse Backpack - Internal Frame

Closeouts. From weekend backpacking trips to minimalist backcountry treks, Mountainsmith's Eclipse backpack does it all. The molded back panel keeps air flowing for cool comfort on long hikes, touch-fasten lash points keep trekking poles handy and exterior sleeping pad compression straps free up space inside the pack.

Average Rating based on 18 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by J from Tn on Tuesday, October 07, 2014
    This bag appears to be what I was wanting. It is adjustable and functional to the level that I need. The price was right. I will be able to really say how good it is once I beat on it for three months.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SpiritHiker from Arizona on Wednesday, October 01, 2014
    I am a female with a medium frame (5' 7" 135 lbs) and I did everything I could do try to adjust the straps, move the pack up or down and it still was the most uncomfortable backpack I have ever tried on. I am contacting Sierra to return this one, since there is no way I will be taking it backpacking anywhere. For now, I am going back to my much heavier but way more comfortable Dana Design pack. Too bad, because I like the Mountainsmith brand for quality (just bought one of their 2-person tents and love it) but this backpack just would not conform to the curve of my back, the straps were cutting in to my shoulders no matter what I did and it felt completely "off." I think I have learned that just like shoes, I can't purchase backpacks online - no matter how great the reviews are! Have to try it on!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by New Trekker from Virginia on Friday, August 29, 2014
    This backpack holds a lot of things. I have never backpacked before and just returned from a trek on the Inca Trail in Peru. While I carried too much with me, this pack worked out great and was very comfortable. I also checked it on my flight back, and I was concerned that it would not hold up very well with the baggage handling process by the airport, but it made it in one piece, with no extra wear and tear. I am approximately 6 feet tall, and this was a comfortable pack for me,but my guide carried my pack for a bit on the trail, who was about 5'6'', and he was able to adjust it for it to be comfortable for him, as well. Overall, great investment!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mike from Pennsylvania on Monday, August 11, 2014
    Got this for a mountain trip to Colorado. Internal hydration pouch was nice. Light and comfortable. Used to a separate sleeping bag compartment. Otherwise a great value.
  • Reviewed by Tim from Ohio on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    While I haven't used it yet, other than fitting it and walking around the house, I did want to put a review in as it really does wiegh in at 3lbs 8oz on the button. It seems very heavy duty and I'm looking forward to years of use. Lots of adjustability and a very simple pack. Great deal at this price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ryan from Tennessee on Sunday, June 01, 2014
    This pack is a killer deal! For less than a $100, you get a pack that is just as good as a pack twice as expensive. I've used this pack for multiple overnight and weekend trips and each time it served its purpose exceptionally well. For more experience backpackers this would even be a great pack for a thru hike. The best part about this pack in my opinion is it's design. There aren't a ton of pockets and extras that just get in the way. Most modern backpacks tend to be more complicated then they need to be. The side pockets that are made for carrying water bottles can actually carry a lot more than that. I was able to stuff a rain shell in there and still have plenty of room. The side access zipper is convenient if you want to access something at the bottom of your pack without unpacking everything else. The pack has plenty of adjustment and compression straps. The lid can even be detached if you want to go even lighter. It's very comfortable and can be adjusted for a small or large torso. Overall I am impressed by the value of this pack. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced hiker, this pack won't disappoint you.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jordan from Kentucky on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    Perfect for weekend trips. Holds everything I need!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Idaho Hiker from Idaho on Sunday, May 18, 2014
    Well built - light weight. Like anything, pick any two: Light - Durable - cheap. Seems to be a great addition and alternative to my Monster external frame pack which i use 1-2 weeks at a time. Great for the long weekend get away
  • Reviewed by Caboose from MT on Wednesday, May 14, 2014
    I don't like to leave reviews on equipment based on non field tested first impressions, but I thought it was worth an early note to others interested in this pack that it is in fact more along the lines of 3.8 pounds than the 4 pounds, 12 ounces in STP's product description.

    I suspected as much looking at the (much higher priced) identical backpack on REI's outlet and through backpacker magazine's old review and rolled the dice ready to deal with either one and was happy to find the lighter number to be true. I unfortunately do not have a digital scale so I can't be very exact, but my old postal scale puts it right at 3.8 lbs and the antique spring scales I have agree.

    Now, BASED ON INSPECTION ALONE, I have to say this pack looks pretty rugged. I am really surprised at how much better the materials and stitching are compared to the North Face and Kelty packs I've been looking at locally. Would not hesitate to buy again, and that's not really accounting for the price.
  • Reviewed by Adventure Rider from Indiana on Tuesday, May 06, 2014
    Ok, I am not an avid hiker, but I was looking for a backpack that would fit nicely on my motorcycle. I enjoy going for a ride and just getting lost in nature. Sometimes I end up in locations that do not allow me to take my motorcycle all the way to where I want to camp. I was looking for a backpack to replace the large duffle bag I normally store my gear in. The Mountainsmith Eclipse Backpack fit the bill perfectly. It is light but durable. I have easy access to all my gear through the side zipper and the top opens up nicely to let me pack all my gear in. The straps are comfortable and cinch up well. The waist pockets allow me to access water and snacks quickly. Who knows, I may some day become an avid hiker because of this pack. For the price and quality, you can't go wrong with this backpack.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.