Mountainsmith Equinox Tent - 4-Person/3-Season

Closeouts. Known for making premium packs, Mountainsmith utilized their backcountry expertise to create the Equinox tent, a versatile 3-season performer featuring lightweight Yunnan aluminum poles that provide 25% more strength than titanium poles.

Average Rating based on 59 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 59 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dubbas11 from Idaho on Tuesday, November 25, 2014
    We used this tent via a friend before we bought it; fell in love within 3 minutes; incidentally that's the same amount of time it takes to set up. Super easy, super cool, and super economical. Fits 2 plus gear or 4 snugglers. We LOVE the attic; perfect place for a protective equipment and a super bright flashlight, or in the latter case snuggling gear. We stayed at 14 degree temperatures and it kept us snug as a bug all night; is the only tent we didnt freeze to death in actually.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by glen from NH from NH on Tuesday, November 18, 2014
    Liked the reviews and am looking for something a tad lighted than my big cabin tent. Will see in the spring!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Multi-tasking Mom from Colorado on Wednesday, November 12, 2014
    This tent is huge. Love the bathtub bottom, the dual openings, the gear loft, easy to put up rain fly (can even go up without ground tethers) and the quality of aluminum poles versus fiberglass. Sets up in a snap--they even color code which poles go where. Very, very impressed. And, as the lady of the all male house, I love the color!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CO Mtn Man from Colorado on Wednesday, November 12, 2014
    This is a basic square tent, but it's lightweight for its size and packed with little features. It is super easy to set up and the double entry/vestibule is nice for keeping gear dry outside the tent. Like the ratings on all tents, it would be cramped with 4 adults, but 3 adults or 2kids and 2 adults fit fine. There were a couple of minor stitching issues but nothing that compromises the functionality. Hopefully it stands up to the test of time
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Andrew in MD from Northern Maryland on Tuesday, September 30, 2014
    I purchased this tent initially for car camping for my family -- my wife, daughter, and I plus our small dog. I have an old Kelty backpacking tent that I've had for years, but it's only suitable for two people and is actually heavier since it's about twenty years old at this point. I trust the Mountainsmith name, and I managed to get an amazing deal on this tent through STP.

    I took it out for the first time (car camping) this past weekend, and I was very pleased. It's very easy to set up, and I was exceptionally pleased to see that the included tent stakes are actually good quality ones and not the piece of garbage bent aluminum ones that are only useful for recycling. One did bend slightly, but I was pounding them into very hard ground with my hatchet. Still, much better than the usual ones. My daughter and I had the tent up in minutes, and the instructions were easy to follow printed on the tent sack, which is handy. The rainfly is really easy to install with buckles at each corner -- honestly couldn't be any simpler.

    I like the copious amounts of mesh on the tent, and the twin doors are nice. One downside of all the mesh is that you require the rainfly if you're using the tent for changing. That's not a negative on the tent, really -- just part of the design which is not unique to the Equinox. Besides, if you're camping in the middle of the forest instead of a campground, it's not really a problem anyway.

    Takedown was just as easy as setting up, and the shocking thing was that putting it back into the stuff sack was easy without really trying. I'm typically challenged to roll things up tightly enough to fit, but the Equinox was not a problem whatsoever.

    I would recommend a tarp for underneath. I bought one and was glad I did when I found out that our campsite was dirt with gravel and acorns. The tent material seems sturdy, but I wouldn't want to tempt it with sharp rocks and the pressure of feet or knees. The only downside I can think of is that the tent is short inside. Don't expect to be walking around, and I'm on the shorter side for a guy. But there's plenty of room to sprawl out, at least for average folks.

    At the weight and size, I would think you'd be hard pressed to find a better tent especially anywhere near the price. I can't vouch for longevity yet, but I expect that I'll have this tent for awhile.
  • Reviewed by HSL from New Jersey on Monday, August 11, 2014
    This tent gives you a great bang for the buck. I was able to set up this 2-pole tent in the semi-darkness without help from anyone. The clips and poles are color coded for easy assembly. The material is a tad lower quality than my Big Agnes and REI tents but it's much cheaper so it is a great value! . The tent design does not stretch as taut as either the Big Agnes or the REI tents but it was more than adequate for a comfortable set-up. In many ways, I prefer this tent due to its under 7 lb. weight for backpacking for a family of 4. Just note that there is little room in the tent and the vestibules to fit your packs and other gear. It has the same dimensions (but different colors) as the Genesee so the Genesee footprint is a perfect fit. I highly recommend this relatively affordable and light weight 4 person tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SantaCruzRider from California on Thursday, August 7, 2014
    First outing for this tent was multiday backpacking trip in Northern Yosemite. Summer weather meant relatively warm nights and the large roof vents eliminated any condensation issues. Opening top of door vents also increase interior breeze as needed.

    One afternoon pitch was on several inches of hail and no issues with leaks, then light evening rain similarly caused no leaks or issues.

    Plenty of room for 3 adults inside, though very little extra room for any gear. Vestibules are large enough for boots, but packs end up either partially exposed or leaning up against tent.

    Tent pitches very quickly with color matched poles, tent grommets and fly corners ensuring everything lines up the first time. I prefer the simplicity of this tent's pole to grommet attachment to the fussier Jake's Foot setup used on some of my more expensive tents.

    Tent packs light and tight back into included bags. Tent stakes supplied are much better than expected. Also, I typically replace all guylines with lighter aftermarket ones. but these are fairly light, so I will probably wait until they show some wear.

    Only nitpick is that one of the loops that serves as a door tie back almost immediately tore free -- most likely from poor stitching. Not a big deal, but it does show a certain lack of attention to detail.

    Overall, a nice tent that is much more than I expected for the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jonny the Hiker from Colorado on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    Great tent, vestibule is a little small but covers shoes and small items, only downfall with tent is no footprint. also not a real cold weather tent as its basically all screen overall happy with it
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Mike from Utah on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    Note: It's the same model as the "Genesee 4".

    Pros: It's a 4-person that packs down smaller and is lighter than all the 3-person tents I've used (e.g. Alps Aries 3 and Stoic Templum 3.1). It's very affordable too. Has 2 doors. 2 vestibules, and comes with a gearloft. I really like how small the poles collapse - not sure why more manufacturers don't adopt that idea.

    Cons: The construction looks questionable. Some of the stitching on the seams looks very loose and I found many stray strands upon first setup - so I'm not sure about longevity. Also, the vestibules are uselessly small. The fly essentially drops from the top straight to the ground, leaving very little storage space.

    I picked it up for $90 so I can't complain too much. I thinks it's a great tent overall and I'm excited about backpacking it with my family.
  • Reviewed by ogg from Southern California on Sunday, May 4, 2014
    This is a great tent for the price. It is not quite up the same quality standard as higher end manufacturers such as Sierra Designs; you get what you pay for obviously. The taffeta used for the inner tent walls and doors is kind of weird and seems heavy, more like bridesmaid dress material than typical outdoor fabric. I've found a few seams that are less than perfect, hence 4 instead of 5 starts. My tent endured three powerful thunderstorms in the Eastern Sierra and White Mountains (California) last July and stayed bone dry and held up surprisingly well to some pretty strong winds. Ferocious and unrelenting wind in the Arizona desert last May challenged the tent quite a bit but once I got the tent pitched taut and oriented properly, it stood fast, though not without some protest. Pitching a corner into the wind seems to be the best way to pitch the tent. There are other tents on the market with more complicated pole structures that will hold up to strong winds better than this tent, but I've found that it performs a bit better than expected. Staking out the vestibules is key. I'll probably pick up the 2 man version pretty soon.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 59 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #