Mountainsmith Equinox Tent - 4-Person/3-Season

Closeouts. Known for making premium packs, Mountainsmith utilized their backcountry expertise to create the Equinox tent, a versatile 3-season performer featuring lightweight Yunnan aluminum poles that provide 25% more strength than titanium poles.

Average Rating based on 49 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 49 reviews
  • Reviewed by Coopscoop from Greenville, SC on Friday, November 01, 2013
    First, a few observations, and then I will share its strengths and weakness. This tent appears to be the same as the Mountiansmith Genesee tent that is sold elsewhere. I’m not sure why they have different names, but the descriptions are identical.

    The tent is listed as 8 ft x 7 ft. However, the inside only measures about 90 inches x 78 inches. I believe they are measuring the distances between the grommet holes. This is not something that is unique to Mountainsmith as I’ve noticed other tents coming up short of stated dimensions. This does make a difference thought, because while a large thermarest (which measures 25 inches x 77 inches) will barley fit going one direction, it is tight enough that your feet and head will be touching the tent wall. For larger folks like me (6’ 3”) it is really a 3 man tent because I have to sleep in the other direction. If you use the regular thermarests (72 inches by 20 inches) you could get 4 people in it.

    Pro’s:

    • Pack size. This tent packs amazingly small for a 4 person tent. It will pack down smaller than the stated packed dimensions.
    • Weight. Under 7 lbs is great for a tent of this size. Especially if you split it up between two or three people. For this price range, you can’t beat the space to weight ratio.
    • Features. This tent is well constructed…2 doors/vestibules, full fly, seam sealed, aluminum poles, great light weight stakes, reflective guy lines with nice plastic tightener (no need to break out your boy scout knots), gear loft, mesh windows and good ventilation. Set up is also very quick and easy.

    Cons:

    • As others have mentioned the vestibule space is pretty small.
    • The type of design makes it difficult to get in and out when it is raining without getting the inside of the tent wet.
    • They only have two guy lines on the sides of the tent. For a more secure set up I wish they would have more guy line attachments.
    • They have mesh pockets in two of the corners, but I wish they had them in all 4 corners of the inside.

    I used this tent on a recent backpacking trip with two other guys. It rained for a about 5 hours during the night and the inside stayed dry except for some moisture around the bottom edge that got wet because I didn’t stake out the fly to keep it off the tent at the bottom. Splitting the contents 3 ways (one person carried the fly, one person carried the tent and one person carried the poles and stakes) made for a very lightweight shelter. You could even split the content of this tent for two people backpacking and it would be a palace.
  • Reviewed by Gen in KY from Kentucky on Monday, October 21, 2013
    Bought this for my 7yr old's cub scout camping trip. So incredibly easy to set up and pretty roomy inside. Great value!
  • Reviewed by skiier n hiker from washington on Monday, October 07, 2013
    I have had a few tents over the years including a sweet expensive single wall backpacking tent. Its hard to compare this tent without naming brands. After reading other online reviews I purchased this tent. Upon receiving I set it up in the living room to let the kids play. I was impressed with the ultra light weight, overall quality and ease of setting up. All pluses for me now that I have two small children. The aluminum poles, dual doors/vestibules, high ceiling and small pack size make this a good backpacking and car camping tent. I have not had this tent out in the rain, but other reviewers have given it no leak reviews, which is important for northwest backpackers. I give this tent 5 stars for its price/value ratio. The overall quality is not top tier or bottom tier but somewhere in the upper middle. Stitching quality is fair and the fabric is very light weight so I probably wouldn't give this tent a 20+ year lifespan like my first and still in use backpacking tent. 4 Adults would be a tight fit, but really.... 4 adult backpackers... they would carry 2 tents anyway and this tent has reasonable weight for a party of 2.
  • Reviewed by NW Dave from Washington on Monday, September 16, 2013
    The tent is light for a four man, good quality, and the setup is easy. Haven't used it in rain yet but so far so good.
  • Reviewed by Mary from Bayfield area on Monday, September 02, 2013
    Got rained on all weekend!! Never leaked and held up great. Very good quality. I am very happy with this tent
  • Reviewed by zerononsense from Vermont on Friday, July 12, 2013
    The Equinox will replace a 25 year old tent that has seen much use. Interestingly, it is exactly the same construction with clips that snap onto the poles. My old tent is good for two people, maybe 2 adults and a kid in a pinch. The Equinox is almost double the size, it's huge! The two tents tip the scale at exactly the same weight! That's progress!
    The tent seem well made, the materials are, as you would expect, on the lighter side.
    Here my first impressions:
    + Well thought out, simple construction
    + Spacious, especially considering the weight
    + Very simple and quick set-up. Color coded.
    + Nice materials, including zippers and stakes.
    + Well vented, has two adjustable vent ducts in the fly
    + Storage canopy, loop for flashlight
    0 The poles are nicely made and snap together crisply, but seem a bit on the light side.
    0 Tent floor is made form thin material (weight saving). Sharp objects may easily penetrate. Footprint advisable.
    - Vestibules are not very roomy
    - Opening in the fly is lower than door opening
    - Mesh window in door is fairly high, can't peep out of the tent when laying in the sleeping bag

    Of course it's not an expedition grade four season tent, but it looks like a well made and designed tent for backpacking outings.
    While I didn't yet test it in wind and weather, given the construction I have no doubt that it will do fine.
  • Reviewed by Lisa from Northern CA on Thursday, June 13, 2013
    So far we have only used this tent in our living room, but we are pleased. It is quite large, but very easy to set up. We really like that the rain fly has ventilation, and anticipate that will help with the morning sogginess factor that is generally faced when the rain fly is used. The only thing we're not sure about is the fact that you can't zip all of the windows closed-- two of the sides are just mesh and to "close" them you'd need to attach the rain fly. Other than that, we're quite pleased.
  • Reviewed by moonshiner from Oregon on Sunday, June 02, 2013
    Appears to be well made, haven't had opportunity to use on trail yet.
    Set-up is quick and easy, stuff sack is imprinted with directions for the inexperienced.
    Plan to use as a two person tent so it is HUGE.
    Other reviews complained of the vestibule being tiny and awkward to access
    interior in inclement weather. May be true, time will tell and we will adapt...
    For the price I paid it is an insignificant point to worry about.
  • Reviewed by partybrett from CC., TX on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
    I just used this tent for 3 days camping in west Texas with my son, it ventilated well in the heat, held up well with high winds, though we had no rain it appears that it will also be great for that, it comes with good stakes, is super easy to put up & has room for 3 comfortably. I highly recommend this tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MissKriss from Iowa on Thursday, July 12, 2012
    Super easy to set up.. well ventilated.. lightweight.. wrap around cover with buckles is effective and easy! MUST HAVE!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Backyard
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 49 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.