Customer Reviews Of:
Mountainsmith Equinox Tent - 4-Person/3-Season

Closeouts. Known for making premium packs, Mountainsmith utilized their backcountry expertise to create the Equinox tent, a versatile 3-season performer featuring lightweight Yunnan aluminum poles that provide 25% more strength than titanium poles.

Average Rating based on 79 reviews 4.417721 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 8
  • Reviewed by Antonio O. from San Francisco on Wednesday, February 22, 2017
    This tent uses very good materials; check out more expensive tents. they use aluminum rods, aluminum stakes. This one does so, also. Went to Joshua Tree for a 4-night stay and it rained 2 of 4 days, on both nights the wind was also very heavy. except for soft ground in one of the 6 spots we staked the tent leading to the stake coming loose, we had no issues. Great Great tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SuperSkier from Hood River on Wednesday, December 21, 2016
    Haven't used the tent yet, but it'll provide ample room for car or raft camping.
  • Reviewed by Eric from Wisonsin on Monday, November 7, 2016
    We have recently started putting our base camping gear in our flight luggage. Tent, air mattresses, Sleeping bags, and single burner stove. This tent takes up little space, is lightweight, sturdy, and sets up quickly. Lot's of room for my wife and I. I'm 6'2". Love it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by VA Hiker from Viriginia on Thursday, October 6, 2016
    Great tent for the money. Goes up super quickly. We've had it out only once so far, but the giant mesh panels provided great ventilation. The only thing that I didn't love were the vestibules -- they're a bit small.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NC hiker from North Carolina on Tuesday, October 4, 2016
    I bought this tent for my husband for his birthday....so far we love every thing about it.
    Set up in less than 5 minutes, plenty of room. Well made....another great buy form STP!!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Divadog from Michigan on Monday, September 19, 2016
    This tent is rated for four people, but it's perfectly roomy for two, or a couple and a child. Setup and takedown are super-fast and easy with color-coded corners in yellow and gray. I wanted a tent with lots of visibility, especially to see stars at night, and that's exactly what you get with the mesh screens on all four sides with the door windows open. The fly is also a breeze to mount. Construction is solid, color is pleasing. Should last for years with average care.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by David Butler - Master Recreational Guide from Maine on Thursday, September 1, 2016
    The MountainSmith Equinox 4-person tent is easy to set up and break down! Great ventilation. And most importantly, it keeps you dry in any storm. A bit of sideways spray but no other moisture issues during a soaker of a storm that dropped 2.5 inches of rain on a recent Allagash Wilderness Waterway trip in Maine!
    An you can't beat the price for a 4 person tent.
  • Reviewed by Herb from Ohio on Thursday, August 18, 2016
    I have used this tent all across the country from Yosemite to Sequoia to the UP of Michigan and everywhere in between. I have slept in snow, rain and heat in this tent. It has withstood the test of all of these! I couldn't have asked for a better tent for the price!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kate from New York on Wednesday, June 15, 2016
    Great, lightweight tent. Love it
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Uly from Los Angeles on Monday, May 9, 2016
    I searched for the lightest affordable 4 person backpacking tent, and this is it! Yes.....I said backpacking. I backpack with my wife and kids, and at 6.7 lbs, this is lighter that taking our two other smaller backpacking tents. I split up the fly and poles with the kids. This tent is roomy and well made. I have not used it during rainy conditions, so I cannot comment on that.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 8