Mountainsmith Tour Lumbar Pack

Closeouts. Explore the city or head out for a short hike with Mountainsmith's Tour lumbar pack; all your essentials will be securely stowed and at your fingertips thanks to its convenient, well-thought-out design.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews 4.588235 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim B from Maryland on Monday, January 4, 2016
    I like this pack. Have not trail tested it yet, but looks well made and designed. Heading out soon.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Damen from chicago on Friday, December 18, 2015
    Just the right size for a day pack. Get strapettes if you planning to carry a heavy load (such as a couple of large water bottles) all day. Really comfortable carry.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Richard from Idaho on Thursday, December 17, 2015
    I purchased this pack for my longer cross country ski adventures. It has plenty of space for lunch, extra clothing, water, etc.
    Its well made and i am glad I purchased it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 4outdoors from WV on Friday, July 31, 2015
    I have been searching for years for the perfect fanny pack. I found it. This is ideal for any hike to the woods. The compartments are big enough to carry a lunch, rain gear, first aid supplies and survival stuff. Also, has side pockets for 2 water bottles. And to boot, it is very comfortable to wear. I am a petite 5'2" and adjusts to fit me. My husband who is much taller 6'2" can adjust for his size & height. I am exceptional pleased with my purchase.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by klkks from Montana on Thursday, June 11, 2015
    I bought the Mountainsmith Tour Lumbar Pack to carry light loads without having to have my back get so sweaty. It seems to do the trick. The 8 liter pack has two water bottle holders on the outside. Each is big enough to hold a large, 1 quart Gatorade or Nalgene bottle but that gets pretty heavy. The holders have cinch cords and straps to hold in smaller bottles. I use both functions for 1/2 liter bottles. The inner pocket will carry my DSLR camera and zoom lens along with a packable rain coat and pants, but it starts to get tight. There is a nice little map pocket situated between your back and the inner side of the pack. There is another small pocket held closed by velcro closures next to this one which holds the waist belt if you use it as a satchel. There is small zip pocket inside the main compartment for items such as driver's license, etc. An outer pocket is just big enough to carry sunscreen, an emergency lighter, and a snack and it also has a key clip in it. The pack is made of coated material and should be highly water resistant, but maybe not water proof.

    The zipper's are large and the sliders are made of metal which should hold up well to sand.

    The pack's belt is very wide (about 6") and restricts access to my pants pockets which requires taking the pack off to get to keys, nail clipper, etc. It is also too wide to comfortably carry bear spray. When doing so, the canister rides towards one's crotch. The two carry straps on top are handy but they add weight. I bought a waist pack, not a suit case, so I might remove the carry straps. I also removed the shoulder strap which is held on by fastex type buckles. The pack could be used as a satchel if the shoulder strap is left on.

    I usually carry a gps on a 'biner hooked to my pants belt loop. There is a small 'biner loop on the pack but it is located too far back to easily access the gps. I'll probably add one to the belt or move the existing one.

    The only big drawback to the pack is it's weight. It seems heavy (1lb, 5oz) to me but that may be because of all the equipment and water I stuff into it. I would like to see a light weight one made out rip stop nylon.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Silver haired hiker from Tennessee on Sunday, May 24, 2015
    Great for short hikes or going to the zoo. Good size water bottle holders. Could use a little padding in waist band. Like the compression straps and shoulder strap. I use it as a purse sometimes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AdamP from Simi Valley, CA on Wednesday, February 18, 2015
    Love this lumbar pack. Was at first worried that weight would cause it to sag, but it is surprisingly snug to my back. I'm 6' 3". Not a terrible amount of storage but enough for a good day hike. The water bottle pockets easily fit Nalgene bottles. The shoulder strap is very helpful as is the tote strap. Build quality is excellent. Will be putting this to excellent use. I hate getting a sweaty back during hikes with a pack so this will be a nice change. Bottles are easily accessible and within arms reach just by twisting torso. Elbows do brush bottle while walking but just takes getting used to. Highly recommend.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by the tickle monster from colorado on Monday, January 12, 2015
    Well built piece of equipment.
  • Reviewed by Jamski from Breezy Knoll, Tennessee on Tuesday, December 2, 2014
    My son has one of these and it's pretty choice. In fact, it's what inspired me to get a Mountainsmith pack myself, though I got the somewhat larger Day model. That you can fit both of them with shoulder straps is a very nice touch and makes them even more flexible, for when you want to pack just that LITTLE but more. The notes on the water bottle holders are spot-on though. The old ones were definitely better. And the price here is pretty awesome. Buy it with confidence!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rich from Iowa on Saturday, November 15, 2014
    This is a well made pack but it's way too BIG to use for an afternoon trip. Waist packs are either way too small or way too big. They need to have mannequins displaying these packs to get a better sense how it's going to look.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews