Customer Reviews Of:
Mountian Hardwear Ghost Whisperer Down Jacket - 850 Fill Power (For Women)

Closeouts. Weighing in at a mere seven ounces, Mountain Hardwear's Ghost Whisperer down jacket combines superior packability and warmth; this is one jacket that won't weigh you down or occupy a lot of pack space when every ounce and cubic inch counts.

Average Rating based on 18 reviews 4.277777 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by oliver from boston on Monday, November 10, 2014
    warm and light
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by alambert from Alaska on Friday, October 17, 2014
    This jacket is very warm and comfortable. It is extremely light weight. I wore it when it was 33 degrees and raining out and it kept me warm and dry. I am looking forward to testing it out as the temps drop further but so far it is my favorite jacket I've ever owned.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fulltime RV Deb from Utah on Friday, October 3, 2014
    I purchased this jacket for travel and hiking because it is small and light. The jacket meets both of those criteria. The weather has been warm ever since so I have not yet had a chance to really wear it. The fit is good. I wear a size 6 to 8 (5'6" 130 lbs) and purchased a medium so that I could layer under it. Fit is perfect. You can cinch in the bottom for a more form fitting look. A previous reviewer thought the logo was too obvious - I think it blends in OK (I hate being a walking advertisement).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Carolinagirl from Chapel Hill, NC on Tuesday, September 23, 2014
    I like how thin this jacket is. It is probably quite warm considering it's lightness. It also has more of a feminine cut - not boxy like some other brands. However, I didn't like the hibiscus color. It's quite bright and a little too orangey for me. Also, it is shiny which I could tell in the photos but I thought I wouldn't care once I put it on. Well, I did. Overall a little too flashy for me. But perfect for someone else who likes a little flamboyance with her outdoor gear :)
  • Reviewed by Reinerrider from Arizona on Tuesday, September 16, 2014
    I tried the Nilas, and the Ghost Whisperer, and yikes I kept them both. This jacket certainly won't have the warmth support as the Nilas due to the fill power and baffling construction. The Ghost Whisperer is a favorite among climbers. It is warm and comfortable, but not for extreme cold. To keep it light, the fabric is a bit delicate as are many jackets in this category. That's why many companies sell matching patching tape. It is well made. It is fitted, but as a down jacket they are puffy...nature of down. I tried both a M and L. The M fit, but was a bit snug around the rear and busty (34DD), so I went with a large. When you click on the SML, they translate into numbered sized, and those numbers are true to size. This jacket layers beautifully under my rain jacket, so it wins as a solo or a down layer. On sale, you can't beat it. Both the Nilas and the Ghost Whisper pack down to stuff sacks. With the weight and space being a issue since I have to deal with luggage space/weight, they both win to help me meet the requirements and stay warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by M from california on Wednesday, July 30, 2014
    I was really looking forward to this jacket. The price was right, but I had to return it because it was not very warm, and the fit was boxy. When I pulled the cinch cord to bring in the hem to keep me warm, the whole cord came out of the hem, rendering it useless.
    I'm 5'4. Ordered the S and it fit OK, but it was too big around the middle and waist, so I think that's why it was not a warm jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by New to mountaineering from Los Angeles on Wednesday, July 23, 2014
    My boyfriend has this jacket and swears by it. He does his annual mountain man trip to the eastern sierras and says its one of the best clothing gear he has. I didn't want to be left behind so I caved in and got my own. I haven't put it to use yet but can tell just by trying it on that this is going to be one of my best pieces yet. The almost weightless weight and feel and pack ability will sure to make my next mountain hike even better!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gg from asheville on Wednesday, July 23, 2014
    Extremely lightweight, great layering piece yet good on its' own. Wish the logos weren't so visible-detracts from the classiness of the jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Getting better at skiing from NorCal on Wednesday, June 4, 2014
    I love how light Mountain Hardwear Ghost Whisperer down jacket is, and that it fits nicely under a shell, but I wish it were more fitted around the torso or larger in the chest. Size XS fitted me perfectly in the torso but was tight under the arms / in the chest, so I had to size up to size S, which is loose around the waist.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alaska Bound from Tucson on Wednesday, May 21, 2014
    I have not yet had the opportunity to wear this jacket. I am planning to take it on a trip to Alaska this summer. However, I will comment on the fit and feel of the jacket. The size small fits me beautifully, I am 5'4" and 110#'s. There is enough room for lightweight layering and movement. The cut of the jacket is flattering, with the princess seaming providing a more fitted, sleeker-looking line without being tight. The sleeve length is ample and I have long arms. The construction is very good. The fabric is high quality. There is no evidence of feathers poking through. I will be wearing this for warmth when needed, and it feels as if it will provide that with no bulk. Great for packing and I also plan to wear it out for dressier events in Anchorage because it looks that good!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2