Narragansett Trader High-Performance Shorts (For Men)

Closeouts. Weighing in at a scant 6 oz., these high-performance shorts from Narragansett Trader are built for the adventure traveler, with plenty of pockets to stash your daily, on-the-go essentials.

Average Rating based on 48 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 48 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AFairportFan from Southeastern Massachusetts on Saturday, September 6, 2014
    They fit well, they're a good length, the light weight makes them wonderful for travel, AND my husband likes them! Could not beat the price of $5.95/pair.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Active outdoorsman from SD on Friday, September 5, 2014
    Very light yet sturdy material. I have worn them hiking, kayaking and mountain biking. Quick to dry. I call them my "barely there" shorts. Beware the caveats about sizing. I am a 36" waist and got the large size which is meant to fit a 36"-38" waist. There is no elastic in the waistband so do the math on how big they are to fit a 38" waist. That being said, I have big thighs and love the fact that they do no ride up on me when mountain biking.
  • Reviewed by mcs from San Diego on Saturday, August 30, 2014
    I bought these on Barn Burner sale - so cheap, how could I not. I ordinarily wear a 34 waist and the smallest size they had was "L" 36-38. The reviews were mixed on if these were true to size or not, so I took a chance. Looking at them now, I'd say they are true to size - it's a bit big on me, but I'll probably keep them and wear them with a belt (or stitch in some elastic), because they weigh nothing, look great, and were practically free. :-)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by andyinme from Maine on Friday, August 29, 2014
    These run a little big on me, or maybe I've lost more weight... They appear to be sturdy, and really do weigh nothing, The side pocket, which would be perfect for a smart phone, is divided into a pen size and a flip phone size pocket. I have several other slacks and shorts with the same 'feature'. Overall, I'm very happy, particularly given the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ken from Burien, WA on Sunday, August 24, 2014
    These shorts are very lightweight, but I've had mine for two months now and they are holding up just fine. They are quite comfortable.
  • Reviewed by Ryan from North Carolina on Friday, August 1, 2014
    The 100% polyester fabric is airy, breathable, but also of relatively low quality: After about ~5 casual days of use over 2 months (wearing them out and about around town and tooling around the house), my shorts have several snags and pulled threads. The interior of the shorts are completely pilled in places. The stitching is pulling loose with random threads sticking out all over the shorts. The bar tacks that attach the belt loops to the waistband and that reinforce the pockets look like they were stitched by hand (not a compliment). Other reviewers have noted issues with stitching, and I concur. I bought them for casual shorts and not specifically for outdoor recreation; I cannot imagine any scenario in which they would qualify as "high performance."

    The fit is poor. My waist is exactly 32", so I bought a size M based on the generic STP sizing chart (in the absence of a brand-specific sizing chart). The actual waist size for a size M in this product is 35". In most brands, 32" falls within the range of a M waist size. Tis is possibly the largest size M that I have ever encountered. The inseam is just over 7" on the M. Other reviewers have commented that they run small. I had the opposite problem, so I guess you should be prepared for either scenario?

    I bought one pair of these as a trial replacement for some Royal Robbins synthetic shorts that I've worn hard for the past 4 years. The Narragansett Traders are far inferior in original quality and workmanship, and in 2 months they have worn as much or more as my Royal Robbins have in 3 or 4 years. I thought the $36 MSRP (which is in the ballpark of Royal Robbins) was an indicator of the quality of these shorts, but I appear to have been mistaken.

    In summary, these shorts are notable for their poor quality, poor workmanship, and lack of conformance to US sizing conventions. I would not buy them unless they were discounted to $10 or $12 with the knowledge that the fit could be off quite a bit and I may need to scrap them after one season of use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LizetteB from Saint Paul, MN on Monday, July 28, 2014
    Bought these for my husband and like them so much we ordered another pair. Well made, nice color and man, the price is right!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Agate Blue from Nor Cal on Sunday, June 15, 2014
    We'd return them because they seemed to run a little small. They are very lightweight and would be great for packing and drying quickly.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bob from Mo on Sunday, June 15, 2014
    Nice shorts for any type of water sport or just hanging out. Two side pockets and one rear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dennis from Memphis on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    light but run large
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 48 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.