New Balance 817 Running Shoes (For Women)

Closeouts. Designed to compensate for overpronating runners, New Balance's 817 running shoes deliver a cushy, supportive ride thanks to their light, supportive foam midsole and specialized rubber outsole that provides non-slip traction and increased durability.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nurse in Newfoundland from Newfoundland and Labrador on Monday, March 12, 2012
    I work as a nurse and find these shoes one of the most comfortable shoes I have evr worn to work.
    Will definitely buy again for work and for everyday use.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Walking
    • Describe Yourself: Rarely Work Out
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Durable, Good Arch Support, Good Traction, Great with Jeans, Lightweight, Pronation Control
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Elmwood from Buffalo, NY on Wednesday, March 07, 2012
    I found recent New Balance models to have too low an arch and insufficient cushioning for me. These have a decent, but not too high arch, and a great amount of cushioning.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Walking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Cushions Impact, Good Arch Support
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CONNIE from EUGENE, OR on Wednesday, January 11, 2012
    IT WOULD BE NICE IF IT CAME IN A DIFFERENT COLOR
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Pavement
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Durable, Good Traction, Great with Jeans, PAVEMENT, Pronation Control, WALKING, WITH ORTHOTICS
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Roz from wilmington, DE on Monday, October 03, 2011
    Use this product in the gym
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Gym
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Pronation Control
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dahlia from Southern California on Tuesday, September 13, 2011
    This shoe is great for my narrow foot, and especially narrow heel. The SL-2 last from New Balance fits me the best. I use these to walk on hard pavement, and to run on the beach. Since there are so few shoes that I can wear, I stockpile these shoes when I see a good price. Sierra Trading Post had the best price that I've ever seen on these shoes, so I bought another couple pair. Now that I see that they carry New Balance shoes in 2A, I'll check the site more in the future.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Trail Running
    • Cons: none
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Durable, Good Traction
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Challenged One in Maine from Portland, Maine on Wednesday, September 07, 2011
    Use these for school and general walking. They look stylish enough that my students don't know about my hidden dorkiness. Quite comfortable so far. Made in USA.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Walking
    • Cons: Don't know yet
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great with Jeans, Lightweight, Pronation Control
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dragonlady from G'ville, NV on Saturday, August 27, 2011
    Liked that these were made in USA but wonder whose foot they designed this for! I have a short/wide foot with a high arch. Ordered these in a 6.5 W and a 7 W. The 6.5 was too short, 7 okay but both were way too wide! I didn't re-order in a medium width because the arch support was so poor I figured it wasn't worth it. So hard to find athletic shoes with good arch support.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: With Orthotics/Inserts
    • Cons: Poor Arch Support, Poor Cushioning, Too wide
    • Describe Yourself: Gym Rat
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Reviewed by R.F. from Columbus on Wednesday, August 17, 2011
    First things first: this is an ugly shoe. It screams "orthopedic," complete with the chunky sole. The best thing about these shoes is that appearance is my only complaint. These shoes are great. I have ridiculously flat feet which means a lot of overpronation. The insoles are removable, but with all the foot correction technology in these, I do not need to use my orthotics. Even though there's a lot to these shoes, they're really lightweight; much lighter than my old NB 661s. I use these in the gym, and for regular all-purpose sneakers. It uses an SL-2 last, meaning it's wider in the forefront and narrow in the heel. Like all NB, order a half size larger. Made in America!
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Gym
    • Cons: Not pretty
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Lightweight, Made in America, Pronation Control
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kathy Jane from Vancouver, WA on Tuesday, August 09, 2011
    I found these to be so comfortable I've ordered another pair.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Pavement
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.