New Balance 890v2 Running Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. If lightweight isn't light enough, then it's time to meet New Balance's W890 running shoes. Seriously lightweight, this neutral trainer was designed with competition in mind, including its full ground contact NDurance® outsole that maximizes grip and gait transition.

Average Rating based on 25 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 25 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Theshoeguy from Orange County, CA on Monday, June 16, 2014
    Right out if the box I did 60 minutes on the elliptical trainer then a 5 mile mountain hike with my dog and they were like a broken in pair if shoes from the first step. Very light, good cushioning.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Marky Mark from North Carolina on Thursday, April 10, 2014
    For many years I ran in New Balance, but for some reason recently wandered over to some other brands. These shoes made me realize why I always wore New Balance in the past. They are light, well-cushioned, and have just enough support. I wore a 9 in past shoes and the 9 fits in this model as well. If you have liked the previous models in the 800 series you will love these.
  • Reviewed by jauhcter from Reading PA on Saturday, November 23, 2013
    I love these sneakers, they are perfect.
  • Reviewed by Randy from San Antonio, TX on Thursday, October 31, 2013
    Lightweight but with excellent stability and cushioning. Would also be good for full or half marathon instead of racing flats.
  • Reviewed by Rocky from Colorado on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    I am typically a Asics guy, but for the sale price that STP had on these I thought I would try them out. I was not disappointed and I'd gladly order these again. In fact, I'd take these over any pair of Asics I have had to date.
  • Reviewed by Frank from Kansas City on Friday, September 20, 2013
    I am on my third pair of these things, and am still impressed by how light, and how remarkably comfortable they are.
    These pretty snug through the heal and forefoot, but leave room for the toes to spread out a bit. They are a pretty soft ride out of the box, I think the cushioning feels very slightly balloony under the forefoot at first, but that goes away, or you get used to it, after maybe 10 or 20 miles. They ride low enough to work well on uneven terrain. The soles grip well, and hold for quite awhile, comparable to shoes that weigh quite a bit more.
    On my first pair, a little bit of the sole came unglued at the very back of the heal, and I thought, Ok, here it is, The Flaw. It never spread though, I still have those shoes and ware them around. They look better with age and use, but as with all running shoes, the cushion gives out after, I don't know 3 - 400 miles.
  • Reviewed by PT from North of Boston on Thursday, September 19, 2013
    I haven't used for running yet, but I would imagine they would be very well-suited. Overall, very comfortable and I like the look. These shoes are light, but not extremely so - makes for mice all-day shoe. And I am diggin' the old-school laces - don't expect problems with them loosening up or an issue replacing if need be!
  • Reviewed by Greg from Tennessee on Tuesday, August 20, 2013
    I highly recommend the New Balance 890v2. The shoes are very light weight and the quality is great. The support system aid in running and makes them very comfortable.
  • Reviewed by David from Vancouver, BC on Tuesday, August 13, 2013
    Great shoe. Usually wear 8.5 but 9 fit very well. They are super lightweight and cling to your foot nicely. Breathability is superb. I walked outside a mall on a colder spring day and the cool breeze just went into the shoe... it was an amazing feeling! I bought 2 pairs.

    The orange camo version is slightly different from the rest. It's upper (non-mesh part) is made of a plastic/rubbery material whereas the other ones have more of a velvety feel. The laces were also thicker on the camo and were more of the traditional woven style as opposed to a thinner synthetic fiber.

    2 cons I can think of are 1. pebbles get trapped between the traction on the bottom very easily, even walking along the sidewalk. 2. The traction has worn down pretty low on certain parts of the shoe and the rubber part at the tip of the shoe is coming off on 1 of 4 shoes that I have of this model.
  • Reviewed by Radio63 from Chickasaw Nation on Saturday, July 20, 2013
    Over the last 10 years, I've owned 12-15 pairs of New Balance running shoes, every single one sized 9.5. These shoes, in the same size, are way too long. Seemed light, but returned because of fit. The "cherry" is more pink to my eye.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 25 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.