New Balance 940 Running Shoes (For Women)

Closeouts. Designed for moderate to severe overpronators and high-mileage runners, New Balance 940 running shoes have the Stabilcore® medial support system and ABZORB® midfoot cushioning for maximum shock absorption.

Average Rating based on 19 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 19 reviews
  • Reviewed by Patchygirl from Bay Area, Ca on Monday, March 24, 2014
    These indeed are excellent running shoes for the overpronator. Very stable. I have not yet put a lot of mileage in with them but so far so good. They ran true to size for me and have really good quality construction. My only complaint is that they needed a little more padding under the ball of the foot which is unusual finding for me in a running shoe. BUT problem easily solved by snagging a little silicone pad out of a pair of high heels that have fallen out of rotation. Since then, issue free running for an amazing price! And as others have pointed out, these are American made and I love that about them.
  • Reviewed by Monica from Arizona on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    Shoes look and fit great, very comfortable! Not too tight, just perfect fit. I got a size 9 because they did not have the 8 1/2 I needed, and the extra 1/2 size was not an issue.
  • Reviewed by Twriter from SoCa on Monday, October 21, 2013
    I purchased these to replace a pair of WR1080s that have a lot of miles on them. I like to have a back-up pair of shoes that I break in gradually but these were quite comfortable right out of the box. I have thin, low volume feet and need more cushioning and these shoes provide that. One thing I noticed was that in my old pair I ordered a 7 and in these I needed to go up half a size. Sierra is always great with exchanges, and I got the new shoes quickly. Great shoes, great price!
  • Reviewed by Woodsyliberal from Madison, WI on Sunday, October 13, 2013
    The toe box is off on this shoe, causing me to lose a big toe nail. Usually New Balance doesn't have these types of quality control issues.
  • Reviewed by Ann from Kerrville, TX on Sunday, October 13, 2013
    Great shoes. Light, plenty of room for my toes, and hugs my heel. I bought these because they were made in the USA and promised a better fit in the toe box. Delivered.
  • Reviewed by southcamp from Connecticut on Wednesday, September 25, 2013
    Very comfortable, accurate size. Prompt shipping as usual. Most important to me, they are Made in the USA! Would definitely buy again.
  • Reviewed by Osteoarthritis/Pain in Feet from Washington on Saturday, September 21, 2013
    I was over due for a new pair of New Balance shoes. I went to the NB store and they brought out $160.00 shoes that best fit my foot issues. I have fibromyalgia and osteoarthritis so finding comfortable shoes is difficult. I was advised that I was an 11W. After getting the style # on the shoe I tried on, I did some research online and didn't find good feedback for that shoe, but people were suggesting the NB 940. It was a good choice.

    Despite having large feet, the large is very comfortable - enough room for your own insole, and even a heavier sock for cooler weather. They also don't look my feet look big, which has been the issue in other styles. Also finding shoes that seel Wide sizes is difficult. I love them and am thinking of buying a second pair, or one with similar features as the price is great.

    I no longer walk through the door after a day of errands thinking all I want to do is take off my shoes, get ice bags out of the freezer and put my feet up on ice.
  • Reviewed by American Feet from TN on Monday, September 16, 2013
    Been wearing the 993 Heritage Collection and these are truly comparable. And much less pricier. Can't beat the fit of a New Balance that's made in the USA!!!!!!!!!!!! Finally a shoe that fits like they did before all this outsourcing happened. Made in the USA means made on AMERICAN shoe lasts--- the kind that's shaped like the American's foot is; the comfort and feel and fit we grew up wearing! Our feet are not shaped like Asian's and Asian made shoes are made on Asian lasts and the past 30-40 yrs. Americans have been trying to make their feet comfortable in shoes not made for them. I'll get off my soapbox now and simply say these are awesome!
  • Reviewed by kaytea from Central NJ on Monday, September 16, 2013
    I've worn NB shoes for 16 years. These shoes are true to size, comfortable, roomy enough in the toebox. No complaints.
  • Reviewed by Daydreamer from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, September 04, 2013
    I liked the looks and the feel of these shoes. However, they were to small and had to be returned. The half size larger was not available , therefore I am unable to give an evaluation. I have very small feet and have to look for a size 5 that runs small. This is the first time I have run across a size 5 that was to small. Possibly it is because this is my first time buying New Balance and there is sizing difference.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 19 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.