New Balance MT00 Minimus Trail Running Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. Designed to be worn without socks, New Balance's MT00 Minimus trail running shoes feature a lightweight, minimal design with the protective grip of a Vibram® outsole for rough, uneven terrain.

Average Rating based on 15 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
  • Reviewed by swampsister from Great Green Swamp, Florida on Thursday, February 27, 2014
    Got these for my son, had to send the first pair back due to sizing issues was 1/2 to 1 full size larger than expected. He usually wears a 14 in NB but a 13 was perfect. Thanks to STP the exchange was quick and absolutely painless. He finds the shoes comfortable, doesn't think he will run in them much since they are so light and he has to run in the military in boots - doesn't want to get too used to lack of weight. Nice to have a pair of shoes made for no socks - decreases time guys have to get socks out of the mound of laundry. And as always can't beat STP prices, add to that a barn burner and they are practically giving these things away.
  • Reviewed by RJ from Texas on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    these are comfortable and sturdy and can be worn with or without socks. The best part is how lightweight they are. The only negative thing I would say is that you shouldn't run over any sharp rocks or sticks as the sole has spaces between the rubber that could easily be pierced.
  • Reviewed by vivian from west virginia on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    Found these to be very comfortable, use primarily for gym workouts and for cycling. Heel and ankle fit more like a climbing shoe, roomy in the toes.
  • Reviewed by CZ in HP from High Point, NC on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    I ordered this along with 3 other pairs of similar shoes and opted to keep this pair. These actually ran a bit large and my guess is that I'll be wearing sox (which I prefer, btw). These felt the most stable and true to the contours of my feet. There is enough substance to the soles to protect and provide a stable platform, but not to much so that you lose contact with the ground. Width was outstanding. I've only had these for a week and I've logged about 12 mile on the treadmill only (snowing again). If I have one concern, its about durability. They are so light and flexible, that I'm not sure how they will last. I won a pair of Vivobarefoot trail shoes that are much more substantial and I still plan on wearing those for serious off-roading, but I think these MT100s will become my preferred light trail shoes.
  • Reviewed by Big and fast from Aspen colorado on Monday, September 09, 2013
    I am over two hundred pounds and run really well in thee shoes.
  • Reviewed by The Gnomon from Indiana on Monday, September 09, 2013
    I purchased these shoes as a lightweight alternative to using heaver Chaco Sandals (for end of day foot rest) on a backpacking trip. The boots I wore have been a nightmare to break in and completed stripped the skin off my feet. I retired the boots and put the MT00 Minimus shoes as an emergency "finish the hike" procedure. I was able to finish the hike relatively quickly with a 60 lbs pack on my back. They are indeed lightweight and comfortable. I was amazed at their performance.
  • Reviewed by The Gnomon from Indiana on Monday, September 09, 2013
    I purchased these shoes as a lightweight alternative to using heaver Chaco Sandals (for end of day foot rest) on a backpacking trip. The boots I wore have been a nightmare to break in and completed stripped the skin off my feet. I retired the boots and put the MT00 Minimus shoes as an emergency "finish the hike" procedure. I was able to finish the hike relatively quickly with a 60 lbs pack on my back. They are indeed lightweight and comfortable. I was amazed at their performance.
  • Reviewed by NorCal hiker from California on Monday, August 26, 2013
    They are extremely light, traction is excellent, and the uppers are very breathable. What's not to like? The toe box is a bit too narrow - I prefer any of the Merrell offerings (such as Trail Glove) for their wider toe boxes. I prefer the fit and the slightly more substantial feel of the New Balance MT10 and MT20. Still, these are worth a try for the sale/closeout price. They are the lightest shoes I've ever worn.
  • Reviewed by XCCoach6 from Michigan on Monday, July 15, 2013
    Lightweight well made minimalist shoe. Flywire type of nylon fabric.
  • Reviewed by JJ from New England on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    This is my second pair and I haven't really started wearing them. The price was too good to resist. The first pair i've been using for about 3 months now and I left a review earlier with some of my issues...heel rub, gravel getting inside, etc. I have found when I actually wear them without socks, as they intend, they are brilliant. no rubbing, no chafing. a little dirt does still get in, but it's not too bad.

    the only problem is wearing them without socks, especially running in the rain, leaves them soggy and stinking due to foot bacteria. So I dry them in the sun and put some baking soda in every so often. Trying to figure out if they'll go in the washing machine like my regular sneakers -- I might ask NB about that.
    Unfortunately they're made in China. I'm making an allowance for it since NB does have several lines made in USA so at least i'm still supporting a company that's making SOME of its product here. As far as I can tell they're the only running shoe company that does, but I might be wrong.

    The light weight is amazing. I don't find running to be very enjoyable, but it is SO much closer to nice when my feet don't feel like they have lead weights on them!!! I actually ran a full 2.5 miles without stopping the first time I tried them out running, which is amazing. Hadn't run in at least 6 months...
    I run on pavement and trails, and some gravely road shoulder. far less trip & falls since I can feel the ground under my feet. I don't roll my ankles either! and i don't get blisters on the bottom of my feet like I did running barefoot!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.