New Balance MW978 Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof, Nubuck (For Men)

Closeouts. New Balance's MW978 hiking boots feature the waterproof breathable power of Gore-Tex® with a stabilizing, rugged design that you'll love for everything from an impromptu country jaunt to an all-out backcountry trek.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Reviewed by BMW from Columbus Ohio on Sunday, March 09, 2014
    At 60+ I'm very active but no looking to go on any extreme off trail mountain hikes. Nor do I need hard core hiking boots nor am I willing to pay more than $75 on sale for booths. I'm looking for quality and value boots/shoes in the ($75 to $45 range on sale at STP) that enable me to walk/hike 5 to 10 miles. My walks/hikes are always on trail which often include long patches of paved bike paths. I've bought three pairs of boots from STP. One insulated pair of high top leather Hi-Tec boots for winter snow/slush hiking/walking. One pair of comfortable non-insulated high-top leather boots. And one pair to replace my New Balance Cross-Trainer shoes I've worn out using for these 5 to 10 mile on trail walks. Since I've only tried these New Balance hiking boots on around the house I can't speak to their durability, breathability or waterproofness. But I can say they feel true to size (my size 9.5 Male M). The leather looks like quality comfortable soft hiking boot leather to me. While I don't know what waterproof processing was used I can say these leather low-cut boots should have a longer-more-durable life expectancy from the New Balance nylon/synthetic non-waterproof material tops of my New Balance cross-trainers they'll be replacing. Having made over 50 purchases from STP in less than 12 months I can also testify to the wonderful STP customer service phone center people, flexible return policy and IT customer dashboard to keep all your purchase records.....STP is 6 Star Outstanding!!!!
  • Reviewed by Joe from Missouri on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    This hiking boot runs small in length. While I read the previous reviews warning that it runs small, I assumed that ordering a half size larger would suffice. It did not so I must return the boot and hope that a full size larger will not be too big.
  • Reviewed by Wheeler Ted from Ventura CA on Monday, January 27, 2014
    Nice quality and good looking shoe. It seems to be in between a cross training shoe and light hiking boot. You could easily wear it around town since it is such a nice looking shoe. Great for day hikes and short backpacks. Doesn't have a hard toe, so it would be a little little for long tough terrain hiking. Seems to fit true to size.
  • Reviewed by home alone from Washington on Saturday, January 04, 2014
    Ordered a half size larger than I normally would with NB... 9.5 4XW fit perfectly with hiking socks on my wide foot. A nice light weight boot for forest dog walks in the rain and mud at a good price point. Will save my heavy duty boots for backpacking trips that yearn for more support. I ordered a second pair to use in the future do to good fit and comfort.
  • Reviewed by Scoutdog's Mom from Thousand Islands, New York on Tuesday, December 31, 2013
    I read the reviews and I didn't listen. Yes these boots run short , they would have been perfect...order up at least a half size.
  • Reviewed by Christy from Texas on Sunday, December 29, 2013
    Perfect fit right out of the box.
  • Reviewed by Bill from Wisconsin on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    Comfortable, good support and fit, well made.
  • Reviewed by Balanced Boy from Colorado on Monday, December 16, 2013
    Unlike other reviewers, I found the sizing of these shoes perfect (men's 9), just the right amount of toe room and width. New Balance have always been the best fit for me in athletic shoes (running, walking, court), but it took me a long time to realize they also make hiking boots and shoes. These fit very much like those other shoes. Very comfortable. After a brief break-in period, I went for a hike in the mountains (but on a mostly level trail) with several areas of snow and some mud-- the traction was very secure. Just enough ankle support for me. I love the simple design and the dark and darker brown color. On closeout sale, I don't see how you can lose.
  • Reviewed by Joe Consumer from colorado on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    The shoe is water proof by application of the Gore-Tex(TM) membrane. Then the makers got cheap. The outer shoe is only protected with a cheap oil. If they had used a WOR (water and oil repellent) product that was heat set or bonded to the outer surface the shoe would have been great. The outer surface of my version wets easily, turns color, and gains weight. The easily wetting outer surface just collects more dirt and mud than I would like. Gators are a help with these shoes making the setup light and pretty effective for hiking. But you still get the wet outer surface when you step in a puddle. I curious to see how long the shoes last when the outer surface wets so easily. Yes, I can add a coating to the outer surface now, but it will not bonded as you can do in factory. The cost of adding this feature at the factory level is no more than $1.
  • Reviewed by Lazy H from Nebraska on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    This is the second pair of these boots I have owned, I have a 4E foot with a narrow heel which makes it hard to find shoes to fit, these have both. They are true to size so I took a chance and bought these a half size larger for winter wear so I could wear wool socks and I am not disappointed. I would recommend to anyone.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.