New Balance WW978 Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof, Leather (For Women)

Closeouts. New Balance's MW978 hiking boots feature the waterproof breathable power of Gore-Tex® with a stabilizing, rugged design that you'll love for everything from an impromptu country jaunt to an all-out backcountry trek.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews 4.666666 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by She buys them from California on Sunday, September 21, 2014
    This is my second pair of these boots. They are packed away in the box until my older pair begins to wear. I have had major difficulties with my feet and have gone to podiatrists for many years. None of them did for me what these boots did. My husband has three pair of the 978s. He feels the same way and urged me to buy a pair. The fit is perfect. I wore them with an over-the-counter orthotic from a foot mapping machine and was able to walk pain free on a trip to Europe. I am not hiker, just a person whose hurt feet has limited my mobility for 20 years. We think these are wonderful boots/shoes.
  • Reviewed by Maggie from boston on Monday, February 10, 2014
    Good looking and good price. A little on the narrow side for an extra wide. Not warm. Good depth for orthotic.
  • Reviewed by Jgreenflash from Connecticut on Tuesday, December 31, 2013
    The time came to replace my 12 year old beloved hiking boots. I went to Sierra Traders sale page and made my selection of the New Balance boot. I got a terrific buy on them.
    They were comfortable at the first wearing! They are exceptionally good looking. I love the convenience of the lacing on hooks. (I don't know what they are called, but they are like the hooks on ice skate lacing.) I have literally worn them everywhere since they arrived. I ordered a half size up so I could wear them with heavy socks and I am glad that i did. I require a large toe box, and these did not disappoint.
  • Reviewed by Nina from Rhode Island on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    Best boots ever. No break in time at all. Wear them all day. They will be my go to boots all winter. Sorry they are all sold out I would buy another pair for back up. Thank you Sierra Trading Post for top quality at best price!!
  • Reviewed by GS hiker from New England on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    I have a wide foot but could never get a wide New Balance shoe to fit. I decided to give the 2E width a chance. They fit the minute I put them on. For the colder weather, they are great for doing outside chores, walking dogs, wearing with thicker socks, etc. My husband put a leather sealer on them for added weather protection. I haven't tried them on a trail yet, but I would only wear them on the level sections of the AT. They are not high enough to give me the ankle support that I need going up or down a mountain. That being said, I liked the shoe so much that I bought another pair to have when these wear out.
  • Reviewed by ktcalifornia from california on Saturday, October 19, 2013
    These were half a size too small on me and felt very clunky. I would perhaps consider them or something similar if I were going to do some really serious hiking. Otherwise, I think they are too heavy. Also the arch support was lacking. They are going back.
  • Reviewed by Over eighty and still hiking from Mountains of Colorado on Monday, September 30, 2013
    Love them
  • Reviewed by BassyMom from Taylorsville, NC on Friday, September 20, 2013
    I am so pleased with my purchase of these New Balance Hiking Boot! They appear to be constructed of quality materials, are amazingly comfortable, and really good looking. My family likes to spend weekends searching for gemstones and minerals in our beautiful NC mountains and I know these boots will make our outings much more comfortable for me! They provide a great deal of stability, arch support, and traction - feeling like a NB athletic shoe while providing the additional protection provided by their Goretex. From hiking to panning for gold in a stream, I'm sure these boots will fit the bill. I order 1/2 size larger than usual to allow for bulky socks and liners and they fit perfectly! I can't say enough about these boots and getting them from STP for a rock bottom price was a pleasant surprise!
  • Reviewed by TravelCat from California on Friday, September 6, 2013
    These boots are light weight and comfortable on the first walk. I ordered a half size larger than normal street shoes to allow for heavier socks. I tried the Vasque first (on sale) and liked them, but they were a little too narrow in the toe box for my feet. I really like these for travel and day hikes. Very satisfied.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews