Customer Reviews Of:
Nikwax Wash-In Basewash - 10 fl.oz.

Closeouts. Spiff up your synthetic base layers and socks with Nikwax' wash-in Basewash — just add the easy-to-use cleaner to the washing machine to lift out dirt and revitalize your clothes' moisture-wicking properties.

Average Rating based on 19 reviews 4.210526 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by runsalot from co on Thursday, May 5, 2016
    This is a good product that effectively gets synthetic layers clean,the most important aspect being removing odor and it seems to do that well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by topnut1 from Missouri on Wednesday, May 21, 2014
    Used this basewash on my Patagonia R1 pullovers. Nice fresh smell and the material feels lighter and cleaner than when using wool lite.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Al from Kansas on Thursday, April 17, 2014
    Synthetics are great for wicking away sweat during your workouts. I sweat. A lot. And sometimes the workout gear doesn't get dried out quickly and it ends up with a less than pleasant odor. This product does what it says it does, it helps to restore the wicking action and it truly takes the odor out of your clothes. If you can't hang your gear outdoors to break up the proteins that cause odor this is the next best thing. It works.,
  • Reviewed by Dirn63 from arlington, TX on Sunday, March 2, 2014
    I wash all my Lycra underwear, sports gear, and running and cycling socks, as well as my wool socks in this product. It is very gentle on my clothing. Has extended the wear of my gear for years. Will not use anything else.
  • Reviewed by PLW from NC on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    We like this product. It works as advertised & STP offers it at a terrific price.
  • Reviewed by bjb93 from Illinois on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    Basewash makes base layer and fleece soft, clean feeling and even old garments refreshed. I was amazed how my old fleece felt new again.
  • Reviewed by River Rat from Salt Lake City on Sunday, December 1, 2013
    Gets synthetic base layers clean and free of odor
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by capt John from NC on Tuesday, November 20, 2012
    I have tried every product out there and I am a true NIK WAX believer.. I hike for weeks at a time and I'm an avid hunter and out doors man. I don't believe in bad weather just bad gear.. it easy to use.. all my friends are believers now
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by quicksdraw from vancouver, wa on Tuesday, October 23, 2012
    I swear by Nikwax to get my base layer clothing smelling fresh. It has been the only product that I can honestly say works!
    • Best Uses: Removing Smells
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Great Smell
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KellerGirl from Texas on Tuesday, July 17, 2012
    I have rated this product before and I'm happy to rate it again as I continue to buy it from STP. The price here can't be beat. I use this to launder all of our technical clothing and Smart Wool socks. I am an advocate because I believe it protects the wicking properties of our expensive clothes and it definitely removes odors. For son's soccer jersey I add white vinegar for a soak first, and I use BIZ for stains. Hope this helps. Hope STP continues to carry this product, it is expensive relative to typical laudry soap.
    • Best Uses: All tech clothing
    • Cons: Costly
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Removes Odors
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fish from Wilmington, NC on Sunday, June 3, 2012
    Nikwax wash is a very good product. Follow the directions for best cleaning performance of gortex and other H20 resistent and breathable materials like rain jackets and pants.
    • Best Uses: Cleans nicely, Rejuvenate gortex
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Compact, Easy to Use
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rose from VA on Sunday, May 6, 2012
    works well
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy to Use
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Diva from Hiltin Head Island on Tuesday, April 17, 2012
    Bought this thinking it would extend life of expensive sport wear. Perhaps it does, but who is to say? Without scientific testing, how to know? Do not think it preforms better than a good name laundry detergent. Very expensive for 10 oz.
    • Best Uses: Clean sportwear
    • Cons: Expensive, If better other soaps
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dirn63 from Arlington, TX on Wednesday, November 9, 2011
    Great cleaning product for sports gear. Works great for running gear, very gentle with wool socks and other more delicate materials. Also works great on hockey gear, no lingering odor and inhibits and funky odors.
    • Best Uses: Cleaning
    • Describe Yourself: Professional
    • Pros: Easy to Use, Efficient, Powerful, Simple Instructions
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ALexandra from Duluth, MN on Monday, February 28, 2011
    Great product I use every time I was my base layers!!
    • Best Uses: Washing Base Layers
    • Describe Yourself: Snowboarder
    • Pros: Easy to Use, Efficient, Powerful, Simple Instructions
  • Reviewed by The Blessed Mess from Newberg, Oregon on Thursday, November 18, 2010
    I've used this product for years. Yes, it has an odor (not strong), but it is specifically designed for our waterproof hunting clothes. I like knowing that I am not compromising any of our hunting gear since we paid a fortune for them in the first place.
    • Best Uses: Hunting Coats, Keep In Laundry Room, Waterproof gear
    • Cons: Expensive
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Hunter, Homeowner, Parent, Professional
    • Pros: Easy to Use, Its meant for our gear, Simple Instructions
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Old Guy from Maryland on Thursday, October 7, 2010
    Will not continue to use. The product left a strong odor in my clothes. The smell was similar to a dry cleaning solvent and that was not what I wanted next to my skin.
    • Best Uses: Keep In Laundry Room
    • Describe Yourself: Homeowner
    • Pros: Easy to Use
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dirn63 from Arlington, TX on Thursday, October 7, 2010
    This product is great for athletic gear. Doesn't leave heavy scent or disrupt moisture transport of sportswear. Only requires minimal amount per wash load and really keeps sports clothing working well and smelling great.
    • Best Uses: Cleaning, Keep In Laundry Room
    • Describe Yourself: Homeowner
    • Pros: Easy to Use, Efficient, Powerful, Simple Instructions
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dirn63 from Arlington, TX on Wednesday, April 28, 2010
    Wash works great for all my sports gear. Leaves it smelling fresh no heavy perfume odor like regular detergent. Keeps sweat wicking capability of fabric intact. Only need a little per wash load. I think it extends the life of clothing.
    • Best Uses: Cleaning
    • Describe Yourself: Avid recrational athlete
    • Pros: Easy to Use, Efficient, Powerful, Simple Instructions
  • Sort by: