Nikwax Waterproofing Down Proof - 10 fl.oz.

Closeouts. Treat your down gear to a spin through the washer with Nikwax waterproofing down wash; just one cycle through revives insulation, adds water repellency and re-activates breathability.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-12 of 12 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dimako from Upstate, NY on Sunday, May 18, 2014
    not exactly what was expected. it is more commercial oriented product that is just distributed in smaller packages
  • Reviewed by AT Trail Magic from Maine on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
    I use following a wash with NIKWAX DOWN. Be sure you have a front loading washer machine for down products. The only cleaner I trust on our expensive down coats and sleeping bags.
  • Reviewed by subsen from florida on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    Washed a down jacket that was dirty Nikwax Down Wash - cleaned nicely; then I washed again in (Nikwax Waterproffing Down Proof and it fluffed up nicely int he drier. Passed the water splash test - I haven't worn it in the rain yet.
  • Reviewed by subsen from florida on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    Washed a down jacket that was dirty Nikwax Down Wash - cleaned nicely; then I washed again in this product (Nikwax Waterproffing Down Proof) and it fluffed up nicely inthe drier. Pssed the water splash test - I haven't worn it in the rain yet.
  • Reviewed by NCOutdoors from North Carolina on Saturday, February 01, 2014
    This product works great but I did not follow their directions. I did not want to use their down wash and I thought the recommended amount was excessive. I washed our 4 down jackets in Dreft on the gentle cycle in my HE front loader washing machine. I then added about a third of a bottle of down proof and ran them again on gentle, spinning them a second time on high. I then dried them with 3 tennis balls until they were bone dry. A few nights later, we sat down to eat at a restaurant and my son picked up his glass of water and accidentally dumped it all over himself. Thank goodness he hadn't taken off his treated down jacket yet. It just beaded and ran right off. The jacket was as dry as when he walked in! Good stuff, but don't waste it by following their directions. If you have a top loader, you may need that much but not with an HE front loader.
  • Reviewed by Sue from MI on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    For the product to be effective you first need to wash with Nikwax Waterproofing soap therefore I can" t use the product.
    Will return as the soap was not available.
  • Reviewed by HikerMiker from Phoenix,AZ. on Wednesday, April 17, 2013
    But work it does!Use the gentle cycle on all down clothing and cold water.All clothing should be turned inside out before laundering and tumble dry on low heat with a few tennis balls thrown in to fluff the down.
  • Reviewed by Hikeoholic from Lawrenceville, NJ on Tuesday, April 02, 2013
    I've read reviews about this product leaving a residue. I used it exactly as prescribed in the instructions (amount per item, front end washer, etc.) and didn't have any issues. I cannot say how much water repelancy it adds. It would be nice to see a test of regular down treated with Down Proof against something like Down Tek to see how they compare. Also, if you plan on using this on a down sleeping bag, you will need more than one 10 oz bottle so plan accordingly.

    I have used many different Nikwax products and like all the ones I've used. Their products work well.
  • Reviewed by Josh from Oregon Coast on Friday, March 15, 2013
    What can I say? Like all Nikwax products, the Down Proof is great! A definite must-have for any down gear or bags...just make sure to use a front-load washer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dude from Baltimore, MD on Wednesday, August 01, 2012
    You spent the money on DOWN products, now TAKE CARE OF THEM!
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Destiny from Coloradr on Friday, April 27, 2012
    Washed down jackets. Excellent product.
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PixPWD from Arlington MA on Wednesday, January 20, 2010
    I haven't been out enough to get wet, but it was easy to use. I used the down wash first (very good) and then this. I didn't it in the kitchen sink.
    • Best Uses: Cleaning
    • Pros: Easy to Use, Simple Instructions
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-12 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.