Nikwax Wool Wash - 10 fl.oz.

Closeouts. An excellent choice for merino wool, wool socks and wool base layers, Nikwax’ Wool Wash safely cleans, softens, freshens and enhances moisture-wicking abilities of woolen apparel and accessories.

Average Rating based on 26 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-26 of 26 reviews
  • Reviewed by Ron from Balimore, MD USA on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    This product works great washing sweaters, socks, base layers , hats - all of my wool. I have used Wool Wash for years; Sierra Trading Post has the best prices.
  • Reviewed by Kenny A from Brooklyn, NY on Sunday, March 09, 2014
    Careful cleaning results on my merino base layers. Like all Nik-Wax products, follow the instructions and you will be happy. Good stuff.
  • Reviewed by Shua from Oceanside,ca on Friday, March 07, 2014
    So I bought a merino wool sweater on ebay, from the description it sounded like the guy owned it but when I received it the smell was most assuredly thrift store. So I grabbed my wool wash and washed it. When it came out it had the most awful smell, worse than wet dog. I was so bummed. I tried hand washing it with shampoo and running through a rinse cycle, that didn't work. So I had something with the smell of wool wash, wet hair from your sink drain, and pert plus. Finally I decided to do what I do with my towels, 1 cup vinegar in the first wash, 1 cup of baking soda in the second rinse cycle. Came out with the smell of water, yes water like if you smell a glass of tape water. Save your money and don't use this. I will not anymore.
  • Reviewed by AnnaLaurie from AZ on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    No way to fully evaluate, yet. But I like that the smell is light but fresh, and I hope that softens the 'wool' smell of some of my woolier wool.
  • Reviewed by The Merino Marauder from Brooklyn on Monday, February 24, 2014
    If you own any merino, get some Nikwax.
  • Reviewed by greydog from Spokane, WA on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    The bottle came inside a large (tied) plastic bag. Obviously the bag was used as the product seal had broken: 1/3 of the product had leaked out. Thanks to STP for the sealed bag as this is a stinky product.
    It does a good job in the wash and does not leave residual odor.
  • Reviewed by rags mom from Arkansas on Thursday, February 20, 2014
    Used on a wood shirt jac and all of my wool socks. Shirt jac was stiff until washed now is soft and comfortable to wear. All of my socks were softer. Ordered another bottle to wash all of my wool items before storing for summer.
  • Reviewed by Barn Diva from Washington on Monday, February 17, 2014
    I don't like to pay for dry cleaning nor do I like the chemicals involved. I work with horses in the Pacific NW where it is wet, muddy, and cold. My sweaters get filthy. I tried this on my alpaca socks and threw in an old sweater to see how well it would work. The sweater came out beautifully clean and super soft. When I first took it out of the washer, I noticed a faint smell somewhat like mothballs, but it went away completely when the sweater was dry. I then got brave and tried it on cashmere - same great result. My beloved alpaca socks are so soft and fluffy - just like when they were new. I am wondering if this is appropriate for sheepskin. If anyone has tried it, please let me know.
  • Reviewed by Marcia from Colorado on Thursday, December 05, 2013
    Old wool sweaters are soft and fresh and wool socks which have a lot of wear are like new
  • Reviewed by Teresa from TN on Wednesday, December 04, 2013
    I love Nikwax products. I have been using them for a while and I love the way they make my wool clothes look and feel. I was so happy to find on STP. it has been about half what I have paid on other sites.
  • Reviewed by Pam from Portland, Or on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    Didn't know my Ice Breaker wools hot their own Nikwax.
  • Reviewed by Jok5678 from ohio on Saturday, November 09, 2013
    easy to use. pleasant sent. leaves the wool soft.
  • Reviewed by RandyGa from Georgia on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    Used it to wash wool shirts and socks. Hand wash and machine. Works well. It removed all stains and smells. You only need to use a little bit so the small bottle lasts a while.
  • Reviewed by OCULUS from Rensselaer, NY on Thursday, July 04, 2013
    zipper Haven't tried this yet, but figure it will be perfectly at home for use on my multiple, great, Dale of Norway marino wool sweatshirts (thx STP!). Have used NikWax for years on my XC skis and expect this to be just as effective.
  • Reviewed by Gingerman from RVA on Thursday, March 21, 2013
    Nikwax products are in general very good for your expensive 1st world gear. The wool wash is great on newer merino stuff and older traditional wool. I have a couple of old Scottish sweaters that were really abrasive and Wool Wash smoothed it out and softened after a few washes. It's the only way you should wash anything wool. I have a few Icebreakers that I have worn hiking, exercising and after work almost every day for 5+ years and this stuff has helped keep them feeling like new. One gripe is that the smell of the Wool Wash sticks around. i usually run my stuff through an express wash with no cleaner after to get rid of it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mew5280 from Colorado on Wednesday, December 26, 2012
    I used this to wash a fine wool scarf and a wool blanket. It does the trick and smells very fresh. Makes the wool feel very soft.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by soldiergirl from michigan on Wednesday, November 14, 2012
    I used this to wash a sweater knitted in the 1940s. The wool was very soft after washing, much nicer than any other time it had been washed or dry cleaned. The colors didn't run, and the size stayed the same. I was very pleased and pleasantly surprised.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Smee from Wisconsin on Sunday, October 14, 2012
    Have used the Nikwx wool wash previously so bought more. Like the way it helps to maintain the condition and quality of my garments.
    • Best Uses: Keep In Laundry Room
    • Describe Yourself: Homeowner
    • Pros: Easy to Use
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ron from Baltimore, MD USA on Thursday, May 17, 2012
    I've been a long-time user of this product. Wool Wash does the job well on wool sweaters, socks, underwear and t-shirts, scarves and beanies. I particularly like how my merino items turn out.

    I use slightly less than the directions suggest and my things turn out great.
    • Best Uses: Home, Keep In Laundry Room
    • Describe Yourself: Renter
    • Pros: Easy to Use, Efficient, Simple Instructions
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ron from Baltimore, MD USA on Friday, October 14, 2011
    Nikwax wool wash does it's job extremely well. I use it for ALL my wool and wool blends- base layers, socks, sweaters and outerwear.
    • Best Uses: Cleaning, Keep In Laundry Room
    • Describe Yourself: Professional
    • Pros: Easy to Use, Efficient, Powerful, Simple Instructions
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tent camper from Bowling Green, OH on Monday, December 13, 2010
    It's my favorite detergent for wool. I use it exclusively to wash those items I spent a lot of money on and want to maintain for a long time--merino wool thermal underwear, sweaters, etc.
    • Best Uses: Cleaning, For all wool items, Travel, Works well in cold water
    • Describe Yourself: Professional
    • Pros: Efficient, Powerful
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Northern California on Friday, September 17, 2010
    The best stuff for washable wool. Softens and restores wools natural properties. Easy to use. STP has the best price!
    • Best Uses: Home
    • Describe Yourself: Professional
    • Pros: Easy to Use, Efficient, Powerful, Simple Instructions
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Loves gym, tennis and skiing! from Australia on Tuesday, August 03, 2010
    Great Nikwax product for cleaning wool clothing. Appears to remove day to day dirt, stains and odours. Nice fragrance and leaves woollens feeling soft. Appears to enhance wicking as claimed - I use this for all of our wool baselayers and midlayers. Worthwhile product to keep your good quality merino wool clothes like Icebreaker and SmartWool in good condition.
    • Describe Yourself: Homeowner, Parent, Professional
    • Pros: Easy to Use, Efficient
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by al from Steamboatspringd on Monday, May 03, 2010
    as a safe cleaning detergent
    • Best Uses: Cleaning
    • Describe Yourself: Homeowner
    • Pros: Easy to Use, Efficient, Powerful, Simple Instructions
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Backpacking Ron from Baltimore, MD USA on Tuesday, April 27, 2010
    I use a number of Nikwax products, and all have done their jobs well. I use this one for my merino wool scarves and hats, as well as my sweaters. I lucked into a Patagonia sweater on [...]a couple of years ago; this is all I've ever used with it. Gentle, yet effective.
    • Best Uses: Cleaning, Keep In Laundry Room
    • Describe Yourself: I wear natural fabrics
    • Pros: Easy to Use, Simple Instructions
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hal from Cambridge, MA on Thursday, November 12, 2009
    Works great on wool layers, softens them right up.
    • Best Uses: Cleaning, Keep In Laundry Room
    • Describe Yourself: Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy to Use, Efficient, Simple Instructions
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-26 of 26 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.